We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite spot of ours”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
CAROLINA, RI
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A favorite spot of ours”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have spent many of our Thanksgivings here and look forward to it every year. The location on the water is breathtaking. Short walk to the main part of town, restaurants. Situated on the waterfront walking path. Staff is very attentive. A quintessential Maine experience.

Room Tip: We prefer the waterfront rooms in the main, original building. Room #120 is our favorite: large, qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    409
    99
    49
    13
See reviews for
409
911
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

After a long drive through a very rural area we arrived in Bar Harbor and the Bar Harbor Inn was a sight for sore eyes. Bar Harbor is just about the nicest little town we've been to, and everything on the hotel property was impeccable, and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was impressive - fresh fruit & baked goods as far as the eye can see....my only complaint - we were only there for one night!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I was in bar harbor and found the inn still open after the regular tourism season. What a delightful and beautiful location.
Attentive staff who were eager to make sure my stay when well.
Rooms were remodeled within the past few years and quiet as well as being quite pleasant.
I can not comment on their spa or on-site restaurants as they had closed for the season just before my stay.
I plan on staying here next year when in area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajbrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We visited Bar Harbor Inn in late August. It was charming and quite comfortable. The package we purchased included a lobster dinner which was served outside, a dinner in their diningroom, breakfast and a cruise.

We were not in the main building, but the room was nice with a lovely view of the harbor. The staff was helpful and polite. And the food was delcious.

It was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLUMAS LAKE
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I use to live in Bar Harbor, now I only get to return for work or to visit family. This work trip was in the off season and I was put up at the Bar Harbor Inn. This is one of the most beautiful places on the island and I never even saw it from the inside until now. The rooms were very comfortable and the view was beautiful. Staff was very friendly and professional at all times. The continental breakfast spread was by far the best I have ever seen. The lounge and restaurant was open the first few nights I was there and the food was amazing. I would return again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTSTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here in late October, so the rates were more to our liking! Check-in was smooth. To save money, our friends chose a first floor 2 Q room #612 in the Newport building. It costs more if you want the 2nd floor. Their room was very basic and tired-looking. Guess they haven’t renovated there yet. We decided to upgrade to a first floor room #325, which overlooks Bar Harbor for an additional $25/night, so it about $130/night (off-season.) We loved our room, very nicely appointed, very comfortable, very clean, comfortable beds, nice little balcony with beautiful view, TV, frig, but no microwave.

The first morning, we decided to use the coupon ($11 off per meal) we received upon check-in for their sit-down breakfast. I had French toast (perfect) and juice and my husband had delicious Eggs Benedict and coffee. Total bill still came to about $31.

Second morning we decided to go for the free breakfast. What a spread! Fresh melon, pineapple, bananas, strawberries, grapes, bagels, cream cheese, cinnamon Streusel cake, variety of muffins, English muffins, cinnamon raisin bread, regular bread, dry cereal & oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, juice, milk, tea, hot chocolate, and alas, weak coffee. That’s ok- you can walk into town (takes you 5 minutes) for some excellent coffee. So if you're watching your spending, the free breakfast is well worth it!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Inn was outstanding for an off season rate and accommodation. The rooms are outstanding for amenities and decor. Very clean and well supplied. Fantastic views and and convenience to the town's main street. Excellent breakfast bar and helpful staff. We want to go again for sure.

Room Tip: Additional cost is worth it for the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bison2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing