We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We will be visiting The Bar Harbor Inn for the third time this May. We have been to Bar Harbor four times and found the Bar Harbor Inn on our second visit and haven't stayed anywhere else since. We typically stay in May to celebrate our anniversary and we enjoy how much quieter Bar Harbor is this time of year and enjoy exploring Acadia before the peak season crowds come. We have had nothing but wonderful experiences at the Inn. The first time we we stayed in the Ocean Front Lodge and our room was perfect. We loved sitting on our private balcony overlooking beautiful Frenchman's Bay. The second year we were on more of a budget and stayed in the Newport Building. We feel like we got what we paid for and the room was more than adequate but we missed being oceanfront. We also felt the room was a bit dated but it was priced accordingly and was a wonderful way to have a great experience on a budget. This year we booked again in the Oceanfront Lodge.

The free breakfast is wonderful and fuels us for an entire day in the park. The waterfront terrace wasn't open last time we were there but it was the first year and we had a blast having afternoon cocktails on the water. We love walking the trail behind the property that follows the shore line. Most importantly for us is the location. We can walk to all the restaurants and shops in town Bar Harbor.

We have recommended to all our friends going to Bar Harbor that this is where they should stay. We look forward to being back in May to celebrate our 7th anniversary.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front Lodge second floor has beautiful balconies with views you can't beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marasullivan4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your very nice review of the Bar Harbor Inn. Thank you for returning each year to celebrate your anniversary and we are honored to be part of your special occasion. Acadia National Park is getting all set to open here shortly and we can’t wait. Thank you for recommending the Bar Harbor Inn to all your friends. We look forward to your return in May.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    399
    96
    49
    13
See reviews for
399
893
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed at Bar Harbor Inn for our 40th wedding anniversary getaway weekend. Beautiful inn, beautiful room with an ocean view. Staff was excellent, so helpful with restaurant referral, sites to take in, etc., surprised us with complimentary champagne in our room and beautiful anniversary card. We've decided we may have to make this a yearly anniversary getaway!! Absolutely a most wonderful experience all around. I would highly recommend Bar Harbor Inn if you want a very memorable experience. Close to shops, restaurants

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating your very special occasion at the Bar Harbor Inn. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. I am very pleased to hear that our staff was excellent and helpful during your stay. We are very excited that you have decided to stay with us again to celebrate your yearly anniversary getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
Bar Harbor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

In planning a trip to Acadia NP, I found the Bar Harbor Inn here on TripAdvisor. We stayed two nights in what turns out to be the off-season. We stayed in the main building and the rooms were comfortable and quite. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised to learn they offer a free continental breakfast. While there they were in the process spring-cleaning and remodeling ... thus the reason I mentioned it being the off-season. This would be a great place to bring the family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tklasinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure having you as our guest during your stay in Bar Harbor. We have just finished a major renovation of our 2nd floor Main Inn guest rooms and they look great. We hope that you decide to return with your family this summer.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Fl
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at the Bar Harbor Inn and we had a wonderful stay again. The staff were friendly and very, very helpful. Kelly made us feel so welcomed and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed for a memorable stay. The breakfast was yummy and ample as were the cookies in the lobby. Our room was comfortable and beautiful. We enjoyed watching Frenchman Bay from our window. Bar Harbor Inn is in a convenient location for walking around town and to the scenic walking path. We would definitely stay again at this lovely hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to stay with us at the Bar Harbor Inn. We appreciate your loyalty and your wonderful feedback regarding our staff in your Tripadvisor review. I have passed along your fantastic review to all of our departments at the Inn. I was very happy to hear you had a memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomaston, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn for an early March high school basketball tournament, not exactly the best time of year to visit Maine. Despite this being a weekend for local families attending a sports event, the staff at the Bar Harbor Inn treated us like royalty. They were friendly, attentive and helpful in every way. The rooms were stocked with welcome snacks and they had guest appropriate buffets and entertainment each night. The rooms were recently renovated and are very nice.

Room Tip: The bayview or oceanview rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkRanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We had an outstanding weekend for the Great Harbor Shootout Tournament. The Harbor House Community Service Center in Southwest Harbor did an outstanding job putting the tournament together for all of the basketball teams to enjoy. It was a great opportunity for us to welcome many of the families attending the tournament from throughout the state of Maine.

Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor and I will pass it on to our staff. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,063 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,193 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I spent couple of days here in this charming place. The fireplace in the lobby and the comfortable sofas and chairs around it make it appear as a large cozy living room. Our room had a balcony and access to the outside onto the lawn. The view was beautiful. One evening we had a nice dinner in the restaurant in the hotel.There are quite a few places to eat in this little town. We enjoyed browsing thru the art galleries, some were getting ready to close for the winter, so I was able to purchase an oil painting of the harbor at a very reasonable price. We took a ride to the Acadia National park and enjoyed the views and scenery there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our lobby area with our wood burning fireplace and your dinner at our Reading Room Restaurant. It is great to hear that you enjoyed Acadia National Park and some of the fantastic art galleries in town. We hope to see you soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband, who is a full time wheelchair user as the result of a combat injury during the Viet Nam war, and I spend a few days every summer at the lovely Bar Harbor Inn. Our wheelchair accessible room in the Maine Building has a lovely water view and is beautifully appointed, We enjoy several of our meals at their patio restaurant and are always made welcome by their gracious staff. We are looking forward to our July 2014 visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning as our guest to the Bar Harbor Inn. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back each year. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room. Thank you to your husband for his service to our country. I will pass along your Tripadvisor review to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back during your July 2014 visit.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing