We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New England Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

We have stayed in other great hotels in Bar Harbor in the past, but the last several stays have been at the Bar Harbor Inn, & that will always be our hotel of choice.  My favorite location is the Oceanfront Lodge -2nd floor (though the main portion of the inn is lovely).  Accomodations are comfortable, spacious and clean and the staff has always been friendly.  What's makes the Inn so special is the view from the balcony.  We  catch the most beautiful sunrises from our balcony and breath in the fresh sea air as we watch the lobster fisherman head out to haul their traps.  In the morning, I grab my complimentary coffee & walk down the shore path.  Complimentary breakfast is a perfect expanded continental breakfast: cereals, granola, yogart, fresh melons & berries, hard boiled eggs, fresh baked muffins, bagels, toast, etc.  We ate at the tables on the lawn with that great view.  The pool & hot tub were nice, though we did not hang out there much - the cooler with drinks & poolside phone for restaurant delivery were nice touches.  Other than the view, the other big advantage of the Inn is its in-town location.  After being out for the day, we were able to park the car in the lot & walk up the long driveway to town.  Years ago, we used to have to drive into town & then be frustrated looking for parking.  Staying at the Bar Harbor Inn gives us convenience, unparallelled views & delightful accomodations.

  • Liked — location, comfortable accomodations, the balcony views
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workinggirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    389
    94
    48
    12
See reviews for
382
856
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

The best things about this hotel were the ocean view room, and the location. Most of the attractions such as the Whale Watch co., nature cruises, sailboat trips, sea kayaking, lobster pounds, and other restaurants and shops are all within easy walking distance. Acadia National Park is also within a 10 min drive. The room was up to par and perfect for winding down from the day's activities. We stayed in a suite room with one King bed, and a separate small room that had a sleeper sofa. Both rooms had their own small flat screen LCD tv. The staff was ok, don't expect to be waited on like it's your honeymoon, but if you need help the front desk is easily accessible. Room service was very speedy...We received soup, an entree, and dessert in less than 15 mins, and on a second occassion 2 desserts within 10 mins. The continental breakfast was average at best...but for a free meal, I wasn't expecting much anyway. The older folks seemed thrilled. Overal, I would recommend this hotel for a nice relaxing stay. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Liked — location, ocean view
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bru20bru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

Lovely spot - terrific view in room with fireplace jetted bath and terrace, affordable - best feature is spa. Needed spa weekend - Cynthia Parady recommended one treatment a day, facial, hot stone massage, wrap, mani/pedi - most fabulous hot stone ever, 80 min worth the extra - good fitness center and nature path along harbor - left feeling renewed.

  • Liked — bath
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ticiablackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
217 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

Bar Harbor Inn is located on what is probably the best spot in Bar Harbor. It is right off the main strip but a world apart. The grounds are beautifully done and the Terrace is a lovely place for dinner. The rooms unfortunatly are mid range 3 star. A simple upgrading to newer bedding and a little redecorating and this could be a five star property. The front desk clerk was snooty but the rest of the staff we encountered were very pleasant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room not worth the price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clherrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We recently paid $200+ a night to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn. We knew these were the "low-end" rooms and didn't expect to the room to be fancy, be in the main part of the hotel or to have an ocean view. However, it was a little disappointing upon our arrival to see that we were essentially staying in a motel in the back of the parking lot. And we were truly underwhelmed when we entered our room. It was about as basic as a Motel 6, with cheap, unattractive furniture and bedding that looked as if they'd last been updated in the 1980s. The hotel didn't even provide the little bottles of shampoo and conditioner or bars of soap that are standard in all but the lowest end motels. Instead, liquid shampoo and soap were available from a cheap plastic dispenser on the wall.

The continental breakfast that was included with the room reminded us of a college dining hall experience. It was served in a room with gray linoleum floors that felt like it was in a basement and featured a buffet with industrial sized bowls of canned fruit cocktail and small, dried-out pieces of coffee cake.

On the plus side, the room was clean, the hotel is in an undeniably great location and the spa was wonderful. Even so, next time we're going to drop a couple hundred per night on a hotel in the area, it certainly won't be this one.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI, Innkeeper at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2008
Sometimes I see a review that really puzzles me. It makes me wonder if they even stayed at our hotel or if they confused us with some other property. We do have a building that is more moderately priced and we note on our web site its location and we provide photos of the furnishings. The furniture was all refinished this past winter, as well as all the walls and trim freshly painted. Most guests are very happy with these accommodations. In addition, for a reasonable price, you are staying in a seven acre resort property with 1000 feet of ocean frontage. Plus we are only a short walk into the heart of town.

Even more puzzling is the description of our complementary continental breakfast. The room in which it is served is not only carpeted, but it is in the center of our Ocean Front Lodge which sits 75 feet from the water. The view from this room is nothing short of phenomenal. If you prefer, we have tables on the lawn steps away from the ocean where you can enjoy your breakfast. We serve freshly sliced cantaloupe and watermelon, apples, oranges, bagels, freshly baked muffins, coffee cake and banana bread as well as cereals, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. Of course if you prefer a more hardy breakfast you are welcome to join us in the main dining room for omelets, cinnamon apple crepes, raspberry or banana French toast, pancakes or eggs any style. This full breakfast option, which is included if you are on one of our packages, also has a fantastic view in addition to the table service of the Reading Room Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheckyesq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

bar harbor inn is the perfect stay when visiting acadia national park and mt desert island/bar harbor. it is essential that you have the waterfront rooms though. it provides beauty , tranquility and a certain zenlike experience. the inn has a deluxe continental breakfast which you can enjoy while sitting on the lawn overlooking the picturesque frenchmens bay. the accomodations are clean..friendly ..and the perfect end and beginning to everyday at the greatest place in tthe world...mount desert island. the waterfront room provides a view of the sunrise that is unparalleled and the first place the sunrise can be viewed in america . town is just a stones throw away providing fun shopping and great restaurants after a day of hiking..sailing ..fishing ..biking or whatever you chose to do that day . i have been to bar harbor a number of times and stayed in various locations.. bar harbor is the perfect summer vacation destination and the bar harbor inn is the perfect place to stay .

  • Liked — the view from the waterfront room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sheckyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

Our stay at Bar Harbor this year was at the Bar Harbor Inn. While expensive it is certainly worth the money for a seaview room. I can't comment on the non-view rooms.

The room itself was two levels. The bathroom was on the first level along with a fridge. The upstairs had the bedroom and the view (with a balcony). The bed was comfortable and for once the pillows in a hotel were not made of brick! There was plenty of room which is at a premium in Bar Harbor. The maid service was efficient.

The breakfast and evening dining were excellent experiences. Wonderful service, wonderful food & a great view. There is a decent little store with some books and trinkets.

I can't tell you how relaxing it was to sit on the balcony or just inside the room and watch the sunset and sunrise.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Parking was a breeze. The location is clearly ideal - walking distance to everything. All in all top marks.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everyones-a-critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing