We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and comfy rooms”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing views and comfy rooms”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It was out of season when we went and a little rainy and cold on our first day. We had an ocean view room in the lodges which was perfectly pleasant although i never managed to work out how to use the coffee machine. The food in the restaurant is on the more expensive side but very good quality and the staff were lovely. Its more of an adult old world charm hotel and i noted that the hotel provided biscuits and hot drinks in the lobby but not juice for the kids. If we went again we might well stay there.
The view from the restaurant is amazing. On the downside the outdoor pool was not open. The gym is small , needs serious upgrading and for some reason on the way down smelt really strongly unpleasant.

Room Tip: If you are in a lodge try and get an upstairs room. We had a downstairs room and had pink elephants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recent review of the Inn. Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the restaurant and our staff. I apologize that our outdoor pool was not open during your stay. We will be opening the pool for the season in mid May. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    391
    94
    48
    13
See reviews for
385
869
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
239 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in room 503 facing the ocean in some dreary April weather. Highlight was Melissa's assistance with some of my business matters as she juggled many tasks simultaneously.

Opted for a la carte breakfast in formal ding room. Breakfast staff friendly but annoying loud exchanging stories about their tips within earshot. Asked for two poached eggs and got three, odd that we were asked to specify in advance what "jelly" we preferred with toast rather than offering variety. Fitness gym ceiling leaking and smelled dank if not moldy... I did not realize Eliptical foot pedal was broken and was thrown off it. No harm but it might have been worse.

Thanks again to Melissa.

Fitness gym

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review you recently posted on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you found Melissa (our Front Office Manager) very helpful in assisting you with your business items. Thank you for your input on our Breakfast staff. I apologize that our Fitness gym had some maintenance issues during your stay. We addressed those issues as soon as you mentioned them to us. Thank you. I look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just stayed at the Inn in early April, only a few weeks after they opened. Quiet time of year to visit. The staff was very helpful, the room comfortable with a great view, and the continental breakfast was very complete. When we visit Acadia next, we'll be staying here.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great; second floor is worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure having you as our guest during your recent stay at the Bar Harbor Inn. I am very pleased that you found our staff very helpful, your room comfortable and our continental breakfast was complete. I will pass on your fantastic Tripadvisor review to our staff. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I spend our anniversary every year at the Bar Harbor Inn. I love the location, the staff, and the rooms. It's all the little things that make it great. Every year they welcome me back when I check in. The staff has very little turnover which I think speaks volumes about the quality of the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review for the Bar Harbor Inn. It was great to welcome you back as our guest to celebrate your special occasion. I appreciate your very kind comments regarding our staff and your approval of the rooms. We are very fortunate to have a fantastic returning team each year. Thank you and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was visiting family and stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn for 3 days. Even in the Spring, they welcome guests with a friendly smile and great service. They upgraded my stay to the ocean view side of the complex. They offer a great breakfast from 7 am - 11am. It is included in the Spring price. They had fresh baked cookies with coffee, tea, hot cocoa available during the day.

The room was lovely with a Patio that looked at the ocean. I was having coffee on the Patio and walked a boat drop the lobster pots into the bay before the hotel. It was facinating to watch. You can walk to town and many of the stores and eating places. In the Spring, limited stores and eating places are open in April, but enough. ( More places open in May to get ready for the Summer season. Room had a refrigerator too. The spring time until May is on the quietier side, busy during the summer and fall.
I always stay at the Bar Harbor Inn - when I am visiting family and they always remember me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful Tripadvisor review of the Bar Harbor Inn. We appreciate that you choose to be our guest each time you come back to Bar Harbor to visit your family. It is our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff having a friendly smile and great service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We will be visiting The Bar Harbor Inn for the third time this May. We have been to Bar Harbor four times and found the Bar Harbor Inn on our second visit and haven't stayed anywhere else since. We typically stay in May to celebrate our anniversary and we enjoy how much quieter Bar Harbor is this time of year and enjoy exploring Acadia before the peak season crowds come. We have had nothing but wonderful experiences at the Inn. The first time we we stayed in the Ocean Front Lodge and our room was perfect. We loved sitting on our private balcony overlooking beautiful Frenchman's Bay. The second year we were on more of a budget and stayed in the Newport Building. We feel like we got what we paid for and the room was more than adequate but we missed being oceanfront. We also felt the room was a bit dated but it was priced accordingly and was a wonderful way to have a great experience on a budget. This year we booked again in the Oceanfront Lodge.

The free breakfast is wonderful and fuels us for an entire day in the park. The waterfront terrace wasn't open last time we were there but it was the first year and we had a blast having afternoon cocktails on the water. We love walking the trail behind the property that follows the shore line. Most importantly for us is the location. We can walk to all the restaurants and shops in town Bar Harbor.

We have recommended to all our friends going to Bar Harbor that this is where they should stay. We look forward to being back in May to celebrate our 7th anniversary.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front Lodge second floor has beautiful balconies with views you can't beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marasullivan4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your very nice review of the Bar Harbor Inn. Thank you for returning each year to celebrate your anniversary and we are honored to be part of your special occasion. Acadia National Park is getting all set to open here shortly and we can’t wait. Thank you for recommending the Bar Harbor Inn to all your friends. We look forward to your return in May.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed at Bar Harbor Inn for our 40th wedding anniversary getaway weekend. Beautiful inn, beautiful room with an ocean view. Staff was excellent, so helpful with restaurant referral, sites to take in, etc., surprised us with complimentary champagne in our room and beautiful anniversary card. We've decided we may have to make this a yearly anniversary getaway!! Absolutely a most wonderful experience all around. I would highly recommend Bar Harbor Inn if you want a very memorable experience. Close to shops, restaurants

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating your very special occasion at the Bar Harbor Inn. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. I am very pleased to hear that our staff was excellent and helpful during your stay. We are very excited that you have decided to stay with us again to celebrate your yearly anniversary getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
Bar Harbor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing