We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunrise”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited the Bar Harbor Inn and Spa for our 33rd wedding anniversary in September 2013. The hotel came highly recommended by my sister who had stayed there ten years ago. I opted for a waterfront room with a king bed, nice balcony and fabulous views of the water. The staff could not have been nicer and they came in to prepare the room in such a way that we were never inconvenienced. The purpose of our trip was a vacation to Acadia National Park for hiking and the spectacular sunset and sunrise from Cadillac Mountain. Staying at Bar Harbor Inn and Spa made everything within walking distance. The on site restaurant was phenomenal and we both agreed that we had never had such a great meal. Local fare was an easy walk and we walked everyday to keep in shape and enjoy the daily lobster cravings, something we do not get in Northern Va.
Nearby excursions were easy to book and since we were there after Labor Day but before the Oct. holiday, it was not over crowded. Even when the cruise ships came into port, it was not overcrowded. There is so much to do that a week was not long enough. I must give kudos to the staff as it is a first class hotel. The morning breakfast was so much more than a simple continental fare and the morning view gave us time to plan our days events. It was a wonderful vacation and one that I will never forget.

Room Tip: It is better to be up higher and on the water side if views are important to you. Rooms are made up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bar Harbor Inn and sharing your 33rd wedding anniversary with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for such a special occasion. We appreciate the very kind comments you mentioned about our staff, morning breakfast and the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

What an amazing hotel!! We stayed in a oceanview room and it was so beautiful. The most peaceful place I've ever stayed. The hotel is pricey and the rooms are dated but they more than make up for it with their quaint charm of days gone by. The complimentary breakfast buffet is very good with ocean views. I can't wait to go back to Bar Harbor and stay at the Bar Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a fantastic review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate that you mentioned that your oceanview room was beautiful and you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast buffet. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Bar Harbor Inn.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a last minute trip to BH mid April. We had never been to BH so we used trip advisor to help (per usual!) The BH inn is in the perfect location! We had an oceanfront room that was comfortable and clean and the view was gorgeous! We hiked Acadia one day, walked out on the sandbar, walked around town and although not everything is open, what was open was great! We went to Galyn's, The Thirsty Whale, Geddy's and our favorite, Side Street Cafe. Staying at the BH Inn was beautiful and convenient and because it was off season, we got a great deal with breakfast included. Everyone was met was super friendly and we Highly recommend the Inn!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Drosie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bar Harbor Inn during your recent stay in Bar Harbor. I am very pleased to hear your room was comfortable, clean and had a gorgeous view. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed Acadia, the sandbar and some other local spots. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It was out of season when we went and a little rainy and cold on our first day. We had an ocean view room in the lodges which was perfectly pleasant although i never managed to work out how to use the coffee machine. The food in the restaurant is on the more expensive side but very good quality and the staff were lovely. Its more of an adult old world charm hotel and i noted that the hotel provided biscuits and hot drinks in the lobby but not juice for the kids. If we went again we might well stay there.
The view from the restaurant is amazing. On the downside the outdoor pool was not open. The gym is small , needs serious upgrading and for some reason on the way down smelt really strongly unpleasant.

Room Tip: If you are in a lodge try and get an upstairs room. We had a downstairs room and had pink elephants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recent review of the Inn. Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the restaurant and our staff. I apologize that our outdoor pool was not open during your stay. We will be opening the pool for the season in mid May. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in room 503 facing the ocean in some dreary April weather. Highlight was Melissa's assistance with some of my business matters as she juggled many tasks simultaneously.

Opted for a la carte breakfast in formal ding room. Breakfast staff friendly but annoying loud exchanging stories about their tips within earshot. Asked for two poached eggs and got three, odd that we were asked to specify in advance what "jelly" we preferred with toast rather than offering variety. Fitness gym ceiling leaking and smelled dank if not moldy... I did not realize Eliptical foot pedal was broken and was thrown off it. No harm but it might have been worse.

Thanks again to Melissa.

Fitness gym

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review you recently posted on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you found Melissa (our Front Office Manager) very helpful in assisting you with your business items. Thank you for your input on our Breakfast staff. I apologize that our Fitness gym had some maintenance issues during your stay. We addressed those issues as soon as you mentioned them to us. Thank you. I look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just stayed at the Inn in early April, only a few weeks after they opened. Quiet time of year to visit. The staff was very helpful, the room comfortable with a great view, and the continental breakfast was very complete. When we visit Acadia next, we'll be staying here.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great; second floor is worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure having you as our guest during your recent stay at the Bar Harbor Inn. I am very pleased that you found our staff very helpful, your room comfortable and our continental breakfast was complete. I will pass on your fantastic Tripadvisor review to our staff. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I spend our anniversary every year at the Bar Harbor Inn. I love the location, the staff, and the rooms. It's all the little things that make it great. Every year they welcome me back when I check in. The staff has very little turnover which I think speaks volumes about the quality of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review for the Bar Harbor Inn. It was great to welcome you back as our guest to celebrate your special occasion. I appreciate your very kind comments regarding our staff and your approval of the rooms. We are very fortunate to have a fantastic returning team each year. Thank you and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £94 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing