We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bar Harbor Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Villager Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay(Hulls Cove)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Manor(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
US$245
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,780)
Filter reviews
1,780 results
Traveller rating
1,174
429
111
53
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
429
111
53
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoceanfront lodgereading roomnewport buildingocean frontcontinental breakfastterrace grilllobster bakein townmain buildingmargaret toddoff seasonacadia national parkwalking pathfrenchman's baylobster boatsblueberry piecruise ship
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
868 - 873 of 1,780 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We planned a 2 night stay in the lodge for rest and relaxation. We paid $189 a night for a (K) 3rd floor oceanview lodge room. The location is wonderful...walking distance to shops/restaurants. We also walked the shore path right in front of the lodge...a delightful experience.
Sleep Quality - The mattress is VERY firm...we prefer a less firm (more comfy) mattress.
Room - The room is large with balcony and beautiful views of the ocean. It was clean and the decor was pleasant but, lighting was not adequate for reading. Wifi was complimentary and problem-free.
Service - All staff were pleasant and eager to please/assist.
Continental Breakfast was included in room price and the presentation was pleasing. The coffee needs some serious attention.otherwise, the breakfast was adequate.
Chose to have breakfast in the Reading Room of Main Inn second day......very good choice.
The atmosphere and views as well as the food made this an excellent choice....though pricey, it was well worth the price.
The extremely firm mattress would be a reason that we may not choose this Inn another time, otherwise we feel the value was good.

Room Tip: The lodge only has three 3rd floor oceanview rooms and they offer the most privacy and absolutely amazing views!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewelvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate that you shared your experience of walking the shore path, located next to your room, over looking the ocean. Thank you for mentioning that all of our staff were pleasant and eager to please/assist, our Continental Breakfast, the Reading Room Restaurant and your room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We enjoyed a quiet, relaxing weekend. Beautiful view of the Bay from our room. The dining in the Reading Room was excellent and the continental breakfast was a great way to start the day. Friendly and comfortable. Bar Harbor is always a great treat and staying at the Inn is the way to go.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed a quiet, relaxing weekend with us. We appreciate your comments regarding your dining experience in the Reading Room and that our continental breakfast was a great way to start your day. We hope that you decide to return as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was our 4th stay at the Bar Harbor Inn on a 3 night Island Escape package in the spring. Our first surprise was an upgrade from the Newport Building (our usual favorite) to the Ocean Front Lodge. Even though I hadn't booked our two couples as traveling together, Brittiany managed to put us next to each other after a few minutes effort. We like to share a single balcony at night, so we always choose the second floor. Breakfast in the Reading Room the first morning after our arrival was special as we were greeted by our favorite waitress from the previous year, Jessica. One of the things we like so much about this place is the staff. They are to a person, friendly and engaging. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the food in the Reading Room is amazing. One of our party at dinner raved about the Cabernet sauce that came with the Filet so much that the chef sent out an extra ramekin of warmed sauce. None went to waste. The three nights went by much too fast, and we're already looking ahead to booking again next spring.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor just for the balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you back as our guest during your recent stay at the Bar Harbor Inn. I am happy to hear that our front desk staff was able to assist you with getting a room in the Ocean Front Lodge building. Thank you for mentioning our Reading Room Restaurant, your comfortable and clean room and your very kind comments about our staff. We can’t wait to welcome you back next spring.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived at this holte by chance as we were driving around Maine. As soon as we walekd in, we understood that the place was very nice. We were offered a bay view room which was very nice and welcoming, although a little bit cold. Still, the fireplace was a nice touch. Dinner was served in the hotel and the food was good, so as the service. During dinner we dediced to extend the stay for an extra day and staff was very welcome and accomodated us rapidly. A very nice touch!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to be our guest at the Bar Harbor Inn. We appreciate your great review on Tripadvisor. I will be sure to pass on your review to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel the weekend of April 25-27, 2014 for our anniversary. Went through Booking.com, but I didn't realize that we were staying in the Ocean view part of the hotel instead of the main hotel. The Ocean View was good but we asked if we could be moved in to the main part of the hotel for the second night. The staff were so accommodating, they arranged for us to have an ocean view room on the second floor, with a king sized bed and balcony, it even had a fireplace in the room, which was comfy, as it was a rainy night and a glass of wine in front of the fireplace was just perfect! Thanks again to the staff and housekeepers for being so prompt in cleaning the room so we could stay in it! We will be back in September....cannot wait!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main inn, facing the bay.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank senseiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Happy Anniversary! It was fantastic having you as our guest to celebrate such a special occasion. I am very pleased that we were able to move you to the Main Inn during your stay. Thank you for mentioning that our staff was accommodating and our housekeepers were prompt in cleaning your room. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Bar Harbor Inn in September.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews