We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bar Harbor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Isle Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$70
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$153
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay(Hulls Cove)(Great Value!)
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,786)
Filter reviews
1,786 results
Traveller rating
1,179
429
112
53
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,179
429
112
53
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoceanfront lodgereading roomnewport buildingocean frontcontinental breakfastterrace grilllobster bakein townmain buildingmargaret toddoff seasonacadia national parkwalking pathfrenchman's baylobster boatsblueberry piecruise ship
Filter
Updating list...
862 - 867 of 1,786 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We came to the inn with our college aged daughters to visit Acadia.
We try to find condos when traveling or suites if staying in a hotel or inn so we are together. The BH inn has suites with two levels that were ideal for us - a queen bed with bathroom, desk & nice sitting area on the main level and up the steps to the large lofted space, we had a king bed, 2nd bath & a small patio with amazing views of the harbor, perfect for enjoying appetizers before supper.
The suite also included a piece of furniture housing a mini fridge & microwave but tea & coffee were always available in the lobby along with chocolate chip cookies every afternoon.
A nice continental b'fast was included & the walking distance to downtown & driving convenience to Acadia made this the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmettost8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a review on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear that you approve of your room. The loft unit suite that you stayed in was 1 of 21 rooms on the 2nd floor of the Main Inn Building that we renovated over the winter. I will pass on your terrific comments to our team. We appreciate your very positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Right in the village, walking distance to shops and restaurants. Spectacular views from our room, very nice restaurant on the property, good continental breakfast.

The only downside was that the housekeeping was not really up to standard. The ice bucket still had water in it when we arrived, and the coffee maker did not get attention unless we left the thing apart as a hint. We needed to get our own clean glasses and coffee cups each day. Not real big problems, but annoyances. Also, there is a shelf in the bathroom that is so large that you can hit your head on it, which I did several times.

None of these things spoiled the three day visit, but could have easily been eliminated by a little better training or supervision of the housekeeping staff.

Overall, a good place to stay and one of the best locations on the Island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to be our guest during your recent stay in Bar Harbor. We appreciate your kind words regarding your view from your room, nice restaurant, good continental breakfast and our location. I really appreciate your input regarding the housekeeping items, in your room, that were not attended too upon your arrival. I have passed your review on to our Executive Housekeeper and she has met with her staff regarding the items. Your input really helps me (and our Department Managers) in managing our staff and the property. Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have just returned from a 3 day weekend at the Bar Harbor Inn to celebrate my daughters wedding. I can't say enough wonderful things about the accommodations, the staff, the food and most importantly Nicole Wallace the event planner.
I am a very detailed person and have a hard time letting go/ delegating, Nicole was one of the best organizers I have ever worked with and every request was met with a professional expertise that allowed both the bride and her mother to relax and enjoy all aspects of the weekend.
The other person I want to mention is Barbaralyn Walen the florist (Fleurishes) If you need someone to do flowers for an event you do not have look no any further that Fleurisher.. I was very happy with what she did for the wedding,.Barbaralyn brought a unique artistry to the arrangements and the bouquet.
I highly recommend the Bar Harbor Inn to anyone looking for a beautiful wedding venue, Nicole will deliver a flawless wedding event.
Thank you all for Meg's wonderful day!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Congratulations! Thank you for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to be part of your daughter’s wonderful wedding day. What a special event and we are honored that the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa was chosen to be the venue. I agree that Nicole and her team do a fantastic job of coordinating these very special events. We have a passionate and experienced team.

It is an incredibly gratifying feeling to hear that everything went well and everyone was happy. I can’t wait to share your review with all of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just spent three days at the Bar Harbor Inn and we enjoyed it as much as we always do. We stayed in the Oceanfront Lodge and had the water right outside our balcony. The Terrace restaurant had opened and it is the best spot to watch life on the water while having very good food.
We are looking forward to another stay there next month.

Room Tip: It's worth choosing a room with a water view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeansealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to return to the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa and for your loyalty with us. I appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you think the Terrace restaurant in the best spot on the water and that you enjoyed our food. We look forward to welcoming you back next month.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough great things about this hotel and staff! Rooms are nice size, ask for bay view - it's worth it! Close enough to docks, shopping and restaurants for easy access but far enough away that you don't have added noise. Do NOT confuse this with their sister hotel - Bar Harbor Grand Hotel - which is nice but about 1/2 mi from attractions and no water view!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Macsam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your outstanding review of the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. I am very pleased to read your very positive feedback regarding our staff and hotel. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews