We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Hotel in Bar Harbor”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Beautiful hotel with incredible history, beauty and exceptional service. I stayed in a room on the second floor with a view of the harbor and pool as the rest of the rooms were already booked in the main inn. Next time I will book earlier so I can be on the waterfront.

The rooms are perfect and the housekeeping is excellent.

It is the best location and has the finest restaurant named the Reading Room as well as a casual place outside to watch all of the boats and schooners.

The never took advantage of the coupons as I do not like continental breakfast so I dined in the Reading Room for most of my meals.

I did suggest they put out a canister of hot water along with the coffee they serve as many guests prefer tea. Otherwise you are struggling with trying to get the hot water out of a drinking fountain type unit.

They hire the best, most professional and happy people I have ever met. They welcome you with open arms and are happy to help you with anything you need.

I stayed there for 4 nights so I could visit Acadia National Park. The weather was perfect and even if it rained a bit it was still so beautiful.

Room Tip: I would stay in the main inn on the second floor it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magictravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for only one night having missed our cruise ship in NYC. Oceania kindly made arrangements for 37 of us to get to Bar Harbor where the ship was coming in to port on the third day. We were on our own for hotels however. I searched for some place to stay and selected the Bar Harbor Inn. What a delightful surprise. When the taxi pulled up to the front, we were delighted. The staff was incredibly helpful. Our room, in the older part of the building was charming and spotlessly clean. We had a great time exploring the grounds and the little town of Bar Harbor. Good Things do come out of bad ones.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savannahsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Topnotch resort. We stayed in the oceanfront lodge....as advertised....our room overlooked the ocean and nearby islands. Watched harbor activity of lobster boats, cruise ships and marine birds and stars at night from our private generous sized balcony. We chose an upper unit but could have stayed in first floor unit also as there were unobstructed views from both levels. Our room had a very large easy chair, table and 2 chairs. There was a walking path from harbor onward which meandered in front of the lodge lawn. "Continental breakfast" served in the lodge building really does not describe the luxurious spread.....bowls of fresh yogurt, blueberry among them, abundance of a variety of fruit, granola, several short breads and muffins, plus bagels, breads, etc. and the best coffee we have ever had, bar none. Dining area also looked out on the harbor islands. Staff was gracious and helpful. We felt pampered!
The Inn itself was in a great location as it was within short walking distance to the downtown harbor, multitude of quality gift shops, restaurants and local tours/boat trip departure points, yet spacious enough land area that we were able to escape to quiet privacy at the lodge. We were able to park and walk most of the stay. BTW we experienced a few showers and complimentary umbrellas were provided, of course! Staying at this hotel definitely enhanced our Bar Harbor experience. We would surely book here on another visit to the area.

Room Tip: Oceanfront lodge with private balcony was perfect. Rooms in other buildings did not seem to have as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently stayed here for a quick three night getaway. The location is perfect, within walking distance to the town and the view from the inn is beautiful. We had one of the rooms that just overlooked the property not an ocean view, those rooms looked amazing. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was some sort of noisy motor went on and off all night, it wasn't in our room seemed to be coming from next door. It only lasted one night but was a bit annoying. The grounds are very pretty and there is a nice ocean walk path right out front. We tried the free continental breakfast, it wasn't anything special, juice, coffee, beagles, cereals, yogurt, enough to keep you satisfied but since my husband and I both like a nice hot breakfast we decided to try some of the local restaurants the other two days..the hard boiled eggs were a bit funky tasting, can't recommend those. Overall we enjoyed our stay and we even used our coupons for dinner in the beautiful Reading Room Restaurant and had a wonderful meal at a reduced price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emileesgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to be our guest during your recent stay in Bar Harbor. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, view and that your room was clean and comfortable. I apologize about the noise you experienced during your stay. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful meal at our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Bar Harbor Inn suited us perfectly for our 4 night stay. We chose the package with the Continental Breakfast, which kept us satisfied well into the day. We were in the ocean view section and it was so nice to see a big cruise ship which (quietly) anchored sometime in the early a.m. There is an excellent walking trail right outside these rooms, which meanders along the water. The walk into the shopping area is maybe two minutes away. The hotel provided umbrellas for rainy days and the staff was friendly. We did not eat at the hotel, as there were many great restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa on Tripadvisor. It is fantastic to read that you chose our 4 night package for your stay with us. Our packages are a fantastic option for our guests interested in meals and activities. Thank you for mentioning that our staff was friendly. I will pass on your review to all of our departments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Love this inn. Oceanfront is the way to go. We love the third floor (less noise). No elevator! Leave your balcony door open to hear Frenchman's Bay at it's best. Continental breakfast served in this building.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best. Third floor if available. Great breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It was great to have you back at the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. Thank you for your loyalty and I am very happy to read you enjoyed another stay with us. I agree, the third floor rooms in the Oceanfront are fantastic. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived late at night...in the rain so it kind of felt like a Hitchcock movie during check in...very mysterious and dark. At first blush, it felt like it was dated, old, and lacked charm. But this place really grows on you! The rooms are well kept and more spacious than you realize! We had a second floor room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. It was spectacular and very, very peaceful. You would not have know there was anything else around. Continental breakfast was great and in a common room with yet another view of the ocean with tables outside and a porch you could sit on to drink coffee and relax. By the end of the trip we absolutely loved the place! I would easily stay here again when (not if) I come back. Very charming and perfect for where you are at!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to be our guest at the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. We appreciate your very kind comments regarding your room and the continental breakfast. It is very pleasing to read that you ended up loving our property and that you plan to return in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £104 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing