We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful flawless week at Bar Harbor Inn!”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just got home from celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary at Bar Harbor Inn. We had the Summer Delight Package which included 5 nights, full breakfast each day, including two dinners at the Reading Room Restaurant plus the Lobster Fest on the patio. This package included a trip on the Margaret Todd the 4 masted schooner. The meals were some of the best we ever had and the service was impeccable. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful whether it was the desk, cleaning people or even the gardener. They helped us with recommendations and made reservations for us at various attractions. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and well maintained. They went out of their way to make us to feel welcome and even left a bottle on ice in our room for us to celebrate our anniversary. We have been to several places on vacations but this trip to Bar Harbor was at the top of our list.

Room Tip: This Inn is centrally located to all the shopping and dining in town. We walked to most everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maplerun62-Steel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

A special note: thank you to all the nearby property owners that gave the public access across their land so we could walk along the shore. Without you we/I would never see some of the beauty of Bar Harbor.

First time in this area/off peak time. The staff was nice, friendly and very responsive...all that we encountered. Our room in the older building was adequate, clean and in working order.

Continental breakfast: Opens at 7am. The coffee was even and balanced, not bitter or bold or weak. There was a nice assortment of pastries, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereal and drinks, all you really need for a very active day. There is no meat as the name "continental" implies. Some clown was loudly muttering, asking where the bacon was. They have a restaurant on site and there are places in town for that.

Damn, that place is beautiful. I will never get tired of looking out at the lobster boats, water and small islands. Especially at sunrise and sunset.

Someday, I'll visit again.

Nitpicking:

The balcony could have a few more chairs, there were only 2 but 4 would have been perfect. We didn't spend enough time at the room to make this a real issue. I'm sure they would have quickly brought up more chairs if we called down. But since there were 4 of us, there was the few odd times where more than two of us wanted to look out over the water.

Coffee station for early risers?! It would have been nice to be able to get some coffee early in the AM (5-6). No stores in town are open that early and the continental breakfast isn't setup yet. I like to get up early when there is hardly no one around to get some nice pictures Or sit at a bench with a nice coffee enjoying the different scenery. I'll never use the bathroom coffee machine because, well, it is in the bathroom and its not sealed. I know, I'm weird.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank level300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed on the Ocean side. Unbelievable view and no shortage of tranquility. Rooms were clean and comfortable and gave that bed and breakfast feel. Spent many hours relaxing on the balcony watching the lobster boats come and go. The staff was extremely helpful and eager to assist in any way. There is a restaurant in the main building that could easily compete to any Zagat choice. We will be returning and will highly recommend it to our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Can't beat the view of the Ocean side, external entry door(motel-like, two floors but no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We absolutely loved staying here as it had everything. The service was amazing - with staff members saying hello, always asking if we needed anything - even the housekeeping staff would stop and ask us what we did the day before. The hotel rooms are a good size (we had a double queen) are clean and well appointed. Also included in the rate was a fairly large continental breakfast that was served until 11AM each morning - which was nice so you could sleep in and have lazy mornings. They had an indoor eating area as well as plenty of outdoor oceanside tables.

The best part of this hotel is location. Two sides of the property are right on the ocean as well as the Shore Path runs right behind the hotel. We did not have an ocean view room but you can walk 2 minutes from your room and there are plenty of benches and tables to enjoy the view. The other great location aspect is that the inn is located a minute's walk away from all the shops and restaurants. No need to get in the car and hunt for parking.

Room Tip: To get all the amenities and the great location - but at a lower price - don't book an ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a group of 12 with 6 motorcycles a pick up truck and a trailer and this was not a problem. We stayed on the grounds side and were very comfortable. This hotel was not far from Bar Harbor. We ended up staying two nights. The staff was very nice and helpful and the Continental Breakfast was good. If was not in season yet and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galingillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Excellent Restaurant and hotel to stay at.
Enjoyed the room on the water side.

Everyone was excellent to work with - from the time I showed up ( without a reservation) to departure.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Room with a water view in the Main Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflyingnonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed four nights in the main hotel with a bay view king room. They were recently remodeled so this was a nice perk! It was wonderful to wake up and go to bed with this view. I would stay here again! Great staff and location. Did not do the breakfast because there were so many other great restaurants around to try. Loved this place!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mtimes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 42 in Bar Harbor
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 42 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#10 of 42 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £99 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing