We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice.....every time (now 6 stays)”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We've been coming to Maine for 35 years and make a stop in BH every 5-7 years. I've seen the town during good times and bad times. Although there are newer properties to choose from, nothing can compare to the "Grand Dame" of Bar Harbor. She sits on a quiet bluff over looking Frenchman's Bay where you can choose a room in the Main Inn with spectacular bay views or pool/garden views or the ocean front lodge which is an annex built to accommodate increasing demand over the decades. The Newport lodge is for the cost conscience travel, sitting on the other side of the parking lot while allowing you all the amenities of this wonderful location and property, so why stay outside of town to save a few bucks? I've staying in all 3 buildings at different stages of my traveling life. I must also add I am a travel agent who books this property with great confidence.
For families looking for a great location and value, stay 4 to a room in the Newport and walk to everything in town. For families traveling to BH for a once in a lifetime time trip, pay more for the oceanfront lodge and seal those views in your brain. For couples splurge for the main lodge. I book my clients who will only go to BH once in the bay view rooms ($$$) and for me, I love the pool garden view rooms with easy access to the pool/spa. There are also rooms to accommodate larger families in the Main Lodge for those who have a larger budget. Cookies and lemonade are served in the lobby in the afternoon and an ample cold b'fast is included in your rate. The new properties which look spectacular online are noisy and without character. Stay at the BH Inn and don't expect a large pool like in the Caribbean....this is MAINE after all!
For those of you looking to dine for a special occasion, try the Reading Room which is the most elegant restaurant in BH. Unfortunately I have only enjoyed a great martini there with spectacular views. We prefer the more casual dining on the patio.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NCluvs2travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your outstanding review of the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. Thank you for describing our property so well and for sending your clients to stay with us. I truly feel fortunate to work at such a beautiful property with great staff that return each year and fantastic guests that always seem to come back to visit us. I welcome everyone to give us a try and be our guest when they visit Bar Harbor. We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Bar Harbor Inn and would recommend it to anyone. We stayed in a family suite that comes with 2 bedrooms and one bath which worked out well with our two children staying in the second bedroom.
The hotel has a beautiful view of the water and is perfectly situated and within walking distance of all of The shops and restaurants in Bar Harbor.

It is a 3-4 minute drive to the entrance of Acadia National Park from the hotel. Breakfast is good as a free continental breakfast. We never ate at the hotel as there are dozens of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank OrlandoCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am very happy to here our 2 bedroom suite worked well for you and your family. I hope you enjoyed Acadia National Park with all it has to offer. We are very lucky to have the park right next store to us. Have a great summer and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for the week of 4th of July. We wanted a spot from which we could explore the village, access Acadia National Park and easily meet up with family who were staying in a nearby town. The Bar Harbor Inn fit the bill perfectly! Our first floor room in the Ocean Front Lodge was spacious with a balcony that overlooked Frenchman's Bay and the shore path. Free guest parking was right outside of our room door. Our room was nice, clean and quiet - not sure why another reviewer said the Ocean Front Lodge rooms smelled like mildew and smoke, ours was perfectly fine. The staff was friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LoriV427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It is great to read that the Bar Harbor Inn fit the bill perfectly for your stay in Bar Harbor. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first floor Ocean Front Lodge room and that it was spacious with a balcony that overlooked Frenchman’s Bay and the shore path. Thank you for mentioning that our staff was friendly and accommodating throughout your stay. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

the room was on the first floor and smelled like mildew and tobacco. it opens on a nice balcony but also on a public path that is any any time packed with tourists. you have no privacy on the balcony or in the room. if you come to relax, this is definitely not the place.
the pool is small.
the restaurant surprisingly is elegant.
but the hotel rooms look like a cheap motel, but they are not cheap!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I appreciate that you took the time to give us a review. I am disheartened that you didn’t enjoy your room during your stay with us. I wish you would have mentioned you were unhappy with your room to our Front Desk, when you checked in, because we would have addressed this immediately. Our guests are very important to us and we will do everything in our power to make sure they are satisfied with their room. I hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Bar Harbor Inn has the best location ever! Park the car and explore the town! A beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting. We stayed here for 4th of July. We were supposed to be there 5 nights but unfortunately the hurricane that roared up the east coast changed our departure plans when the whole town lost power with the rain and high wind from the storm. With no power, hot water, etc, we decided it was best to leave and go south to better weather. The staff was very nice --helpful and friendly. Breakfast was decent...cereal, muffins, coffee cakes, fruit , yogurt, juice, boiled eggs. The breakfast area has tables outside if the weather is nice. We stayed in the oceanfront lodge on the 2nd floor and enjoyed our balcony with the beautiful views! Look forward to returning in the future! This was our 4th time to stay her over many years and we still love it!

Room Tip: choose a water view room---all rooms in oceanfront lodge have water views and nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wiggygailTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that our location is fantastic because all you have to do is park your car and explore. Everything is within walking distance. The beautiful Acadia National Park is only a 5 minute ride by car or you can take the Island Explorer into the park. I feel terrible that you had to leave early because of the storm. We have recovered and the weather has been excellent. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn for our wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased. The hotel staff is incredible friendly and accommodating. Our room was oceanfront with a great view and we were able to watch the sunrise. If you are looking to stay in Bar Harbor and enjoy the scenery at Acadia Nat'l Park, the Bar Harbor Inn is right in the center of town and close to all the tours...bus, boat etc.

Room Tip: Be sure to book an Oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GaryD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

“Happy Anniversary” Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us at the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. It is great to hear that you thought our staff was friendly and accommodating. I will pass this on to our team. We hope to see you next year.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just returned from a trip to Maine that included 4 nights at the Bar Harbor Inn over July 4th. We so enjoyed our stay, I wanted to share our great experience! It is a beautiful hotel, with an outstanding location, steps from Main St, Bar Harbor, but also secluded so you feel like you've stepped into another world when you enter the property!! We reserved an oceanfront room, which had an outstanding view and was definitely worth the extra $!! We had an issue early in our stay, and the Inn's General Manager, Fred Link personally dealt with us to resolve it, despite the fact that it was a busy holiday weekend. He also followed up with us a few days later to ensure we were enjoying our stay! From our front desk assistance from Sophia, to our housekeeping assistance from Beth, to Harry's assistance with our luggage, we felt the staff really cared about us and wanted us to have a great vacation! We will most definitely return to the Bar Harbor Inn and would highly recommend it!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ginny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £93 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing