We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location, Exquisite Facility, Great Service”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular location, Exquisite Facility, Great Service”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've been staying at the Bar Harbor Inn almost yearly for at least 20 years. I stay there for a week, and then look forward to returning for 51 weeks. Acadia National Park, as I write this, was just voted America's favorite place to visit by Good Morning America. It is beautiful!!! The location of the Bar Harbor Inn is so good, it would rival anything in the park. It is situated on the corner of the Bar Harbor coastline, affording a 270 degree of the ocean, the coastline, Schoodic Peninsula, Porcupine Islands nearby, lobster boats, cruise ships, kayakers, etc. Spectacular.
The Oceanfront Inn portion is about 100 feet from the ocean. You go to sleep listening to the waves, and awaken to the sun rising over the ocean while lobster boats putter by. How could anything be better? Nothing competes. A buffet breakfast (included in room rate) is served in the same building 7 to 10 am: abundant fruit, fresh baked on the premises muffins, breads, etc., cereals, bagels (Maine bagels, not NY bagels), newspapers (the Bangor newspaper, reinforcing that you're in Maine. I love it. If you want the NY Times, you can get it at the hotel store. You don't need it, if you're on vacation. Get over it!).
The rooms are luxurious for Maine, and I couldn't tell you how to make them better. Maybe not the Four Seasons, but at least Three Seasons. You're in northern Maine!
You are 100 yards from downtown Bar Harbor with multiple shops. Best coffee/espresso: Matsumoto Joe on Firefly Lane!
The staff is excellent, helpful, friendly, and very nice.
There is an outdoor medium small heated (you're in Maine) pool, hot tub, decent exercise facility you don't need unless hiking Acadia got rained out , and, I'm told, a spa. Not for me.
The dining room is excellent, but antiquated. Competes with any other 1990 restaurant, but would fold in a week in any major city. If you want fine dining, go to Portland. Only 3 hours. Alternatively, go to Havana a quarter mile away. Obama went there. I love it. Having a wonderful restaurant where the season is 3 months long is tough. You didn't go to Acadia/Bar Harbor for fine dining, did you? Go to Cafe This Way. Great food. Eclectic.
Having stayed many places in Bar a Harbor many summers, the Bar Harbor Inn is the best. Nothing else is close.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your loyalty to the Bar Harbor Inn and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back each year. Your review was fantastic and we truly appreciate that you took the time to give us such a detailed review. Thank you for mentioning that our staff is excellent, helpful, friendly and very nice. I will pass your review on to all of the staff at the Bar Harbor Inn. We can’t wait to welcome you back next year.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,120
    408
    98
    49
    13
See reviews for
408
908
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The location is fantastic. It's so nice to be an easy stroll into downtown, be adjacent to the Shore Path, and have a view of the harbor. We stayed in the Oceanfront Lodge--in the end room in the very last building (maybe that's why the WiFi service was intermittent, our only issue) and found the room to be very clean, very comfortable and spacious. It was easy to settle in. The private deck area was well worth the extra expense. The continental breakfast that's included with the room rate was more than expected--a very nice spread that included an assortment of fruit, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, breads, and cereals. And, we enjoyed the wonderful food served at the Terrace Grill as well. Views, service, quality. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have as fine a view as the second floor in the Oceanfront Lodge because of the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa and for giving us a review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you found your room very clean, comfortable and spacious. I will pass on your very kind comments to our team regarding our Continental Breakfast and the Terrace Grille Restaurant. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Bar Harbor Inn is somewhat expensive but worth every penny. Excellent room with silent climate control. A comfortable balcony with the perfect view. Superior customer service. We had a package and enjoyed the lobster bake, as well as breakfasts and dinner in the Reading Room. Everything was delicious. Perfect trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marybee522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure having you as our guest during your recent stay at the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. Thank you for giving us a review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your experience at our restaurants. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our family of 5 (including three teenagers) from California enjoyed our first introduction to Maine with our 2-night stay at Bar Harbor Inn at the end of July 2014. We were in rooms 423 & 424 on the second floor with a harbor view. The rooms are spacious and clean and have functional balconies. The continental breakfast is fine and also looks out at the harbor. The hotel staff were friendly and competent. The location is excellent because you are able to enjoy the harbor view yet you are plenty close to main street and all of its charming stores and restaurants.

We recommend this property to other Bar Harbor visitors.

Room Tip: harbor view! We liked our 2nd floor rooms (423 & 424)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReillyPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa during your recent trip to Bar Harbor. We are pleased to read your room was spacious and clean and our staff were friendly. I agree that we have the premier location with views over looking both the ocean and the harbor. We are also only 1 block away from Main Street and the heart of Bar Harbor. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAfee, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This summer we returned to the Bar Harbor Inn for the third time...and we were so pleased. The staff is helpful, pleasant, and very good at what they do. The hotel is clean and decorated with a country charm. Our room was clean, and when room service came in with linens on our tray and a lovely late night snack, I was so happy. Living with Celiac Disease is not always easy, however, thanks to the excellent chef, Lou Kiefer, and his staff, I ate fantastic meals and never felt left out. If anyone has a dietary concern, this is the place to go to vacation. When I entered the dining room for breakfast one morning, the waitress remarked, "Oh, you need a gluten free meal, no problem." I had never met her before, however, the staff is informed about the special needs of the visitors. Looking out and seeing beautiful ships, going to the National Park on a horse and buggy ride, or relaxing and eating a fine meal...these experiences are yours here at the Bar Harbor Inn.

Room Tip: Staying in the main building is more expensive, but sitting on your private deck looking at the ship...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farnold47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest for the third time during your recent visit. I am very pleased to read that you think our staff is helpful, pleasant and very good at what they do. That is a fantastic compliment and I will pass this on to our Department Managers and their Staff. Thank you for mentioning Chef Lou Kiefer and his staff. They do a great job of providing our guests with outstanding food and plate presentations. I am very happy to hear that our staff worked closely with you on your dietary needs. We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay with us.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We took our first trip to the north east and stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn for two nights. The motel is superb. The staff were friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The room was extremely clean, spacious, and the bed (king) was very comfortable. The lobby had a couch and chairs situated around a fireplace. There were tables for siting and enjoying a good conversation along with the fireplace. The bar staff gave us wine glasses for us to enjoy some of the local vineyard products and we were able to enjoy the sunset and the fireplace. I highly recommend spending the extra money and having a first class stay. We didn't dine in the hotel. Don't miss this one.

Room Tip: We booked through one of the online hotel sites and saved a few dollars. From what we could tell th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Bar Harbour inn in the newport building July 20-23..Great Location..you can walk right into town and do many of the boating exursions Beautiful Hotel..Newport building was nice but next time may stay in the main hotel...We were hardly ever in the room so the view really didnt matter...The only complaint is the front desk staff was really clueless about any local recommentions and really did not go out of their way to accomadate maybe this is because this is a seasonal staff and they really didnt know about the area...otherwise a great choice

Room Tip: I would go for a waterfront view if you can definetly worth the extra $ if you plan on spending time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 759juliettesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing