We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel & Restaurant”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
2 reviews
“Perfect Hotel & Restaurant”
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Extremely clean, Great Staff, Lovely Rooms, Beautiful Location, Great Restaurant

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bonbidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    391
    94
    48
    13
See reviews for
385
869
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We stayed here for the third time in July 2008. My wife and I first "discovered" the place back in 1998 after having lobster rolls for lunch on the Terrace on a beuatiful summer day. The location is obviously the draw at the BHI, not necessarily the amenities, although I guess they are making an effort in that department. Just don't expect the Ritz (even though the price at high season may remind you of that). It's more like an average Marriott or Hilton in terms of room quality, but with a show-stealing view from the balcony.

On all three visits the rooms have been more or less clean and the staff reasonably helpful and polite. On at least one occasion we noticed a slightly musty smell in the room at first, but nothing you wouldn't expect in an oceanfront hotel, and nothing that we considered a problem.

We usually eat at the Terrace Grill for lunch or dinner. The food is above average, and the view and sea air justified the higher price than what you might pay for the same thing in town. We have never eaten in the dining room, but ordered room service on several occasions - the standard fare was prompt and generally well prepared. The continental breakfast in the Oceanview is just enough to get you going for a hike through Acadia. For casual meals we like nearby Geddy's, which looks like a tourist trap, but had a suprisingly large varied menu. Everything we had there was great.

We normally would not stay so close to such a tourist trap like Bar Harbor, but the way the BHI is situated you kind of feel removed from it all. It's still so central that everything is right there, though, if you want it. When we've taken the kids, they love the shoreside path and playing on the rocks in front of the hotel - that's good for a minimum of 2-3 hours right there. Our Bar Harbor visits mainly consist of hiking in Acadia, kayaking and other outdoor activities. But the rest of the time is spent on that balcony: morning coffee, afternoon happy hour, etc. The convenience and view is worth it for us, so we will probably be back a fourth time. On the other hand, next time we may try to venture out to some of the other communities up and down the Maine coast and find something with a similar view, but without the tourist throngs.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmsreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We had originally made a reservation for only 1 night at Bar Harbor Inn. Then we were going to drive to Acadia national park and then on to York, Maine.
Before heading out of Bar harbor's downtown area, we stopped the car on Main Street so I could peek into a couple of shops. When I returned to the car, we couldn't start the car again. We called AAA and when the tow truck arrived, my husband went with the vehicle while I took the kids over to the library in town.
It turned out that we would need to remain in Bar Harbor at least an additional day while we had to wait for a new alternator to be shipped overnight from Pennsylvania. Fortunately, it was early enough in the season (and mid-week) that Bar Harbor Inn was able to accommodate us ofr an additional night and we were even able to obtain our same room again.
We really enjoyed our additional day in Bar Harbor. I was able to schedule an appointment at the spa for a wonderful massage. The kids enjoyed playing on the playground equipment available at the Inn and dipping their feet into the ocean water in back of the Inn. We loved how easily accessible the library, restaurants, and shops were without a vehicle in Bar Harbor. I also appreciated the ambience provided by the staff at Bar Harbor Inn--the relaxing piano music CDs in the lobby and the real wood fire in the fireplace. We also loved the views of the bay in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Last August my husband and I planned to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn for 5 nights. We had to leave after three because I was so ill with Lyme Disease ( I didn' know it a the time!) I managed one night of visiting the town which is in easy walking distance and one day on a bus tour of Acadia National Park. We reserved a package which included several meals that I could not eat. My husband ate alone and when he explained that I was ill in my room the staff prepared soup and toast for me and delivered the meal to my room for two nights. Housekeeping brought me extra blankets and pillows so I would be more comfortable. They could not have been more accomodating. We stayed in those little cottages in the back and they were quiet and comfortable and VERY CLEAN. I just wish I was feeling better so I could have enjoyed it more. My husband spent much time walking around and enjoying the scenery without being too far away.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlsa61055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Had a wonderful weekend stay overlooking the water from our room. We had a great early season package rate, including a dinner.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dane_the_dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

This was our fourth year at the Bar Harbor Inn, and unfortunately, our last. The first two years were excellent- a lovely setting overlooking the ocean, simply furnished but nice, clean rooms, and a beautiful dining room with memorable meals. However, the last two years were disappointing, to say the very least. Last year, and this past October, we spent the week in the Oceanfront Lodge, which has a stunning view, directly on the ocean. The room, although it had been "renovated", was not clean- from the stained carpet, to the weird, overpowering, nasty smell emitting from the bathroom, which nothing alleviated, hairs on the floor and in the tub (not ours) when we checked in, dust, greasy smudges, torn, worn, towels and washcloths, a cleaning rag left in the room, and furniture, albeit new, already showing heavy wear, with a rip in the uncomfortable "bucket chairs" in the sitting area. Also, the bed, pillows, and linens had a strangely "unfresh" smell. To "top it off", a malfunctioning fire alarm went off at all hours of the day and night. An attempt by staff to fix it was unsucessful. The grounds were beautiful, but the room, sadly, was depressing to return to. The identical experience happened this past October, so we realized this was not simply an aberration, as we had hoped. It was also 54 degrees in the room, clammy, and stale when we checked in. And unfortunately, our breakfasts in the lovely Reading Room were marred this year, almost every morning, by a pair of noisy staff who called to each other (loudly) across the room throughout our breakfast and snapped at the staff in the kitchen, and who stationed themselves at diner’s tables, telling them their life story. Meanwhile, my husband was served bluberry pancakes without syrup, the syrup finally arriving 15 minutes later, when the pancakes were ice cold. While there were some truly wonderful servers also working there, some of whom who also served us, the bad ones ruined the peace of meals we had been looking forward to. In short, there is no longer consistent quality of lodgings or service at this once-top notch hotel. There appears to be more attention to "window dressing" than true service. I am sad to say that, while it is possible that one could go to the Bar Harbor Inn and have a lovely time, it appears the odds are pretty long. It depends on the highly variable staff, some very competent, some assuredly horrible; the latter of which can ruin a trip. And it depends on the condition of your room, which for us, for two years, was very poor. And unless you are willing to gamble the loss of your precious vacation time and the substantial amount of money it costs to stay at this hotel, I would not advise it.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AcadianNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI, Innkeeper at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2009
It is truly discouraging to see comments like these… We have many guests that return year after year because they love the Bar Harbor Inn. By the description of the room it seems like this guest stayed in our Ocean Front Lodge King. These 15 rooms recently under went $150,000 of upgrades including new furniture, flat screen TVs, window treatments, carpeting, artwork, upscale linens with triple sheeting, granite counter and tub surround in the bath. We have had concerns about the carpet, even though carpets should last several years we found the sculptured carpet we used in these rooms looks matted and stained after a couple of seasons. We are currently in the process of replacing the carpet in all of the Kings this winter.

Every winter, while we are closed, our staff of 6 on the maintenance crew go through every room and touch up all our furniture, touch up walls, trim and generally fix everything that needs attention. We also review the property for any upgrades that may be needed, for example we are replacing most of the mattresses in our Ocean Front Lodge with Velvet Touch Plush pillow top mattresses.

The housekeeping comments are particularly puzzling. Our executive housekeeper has been with us for over 30 years. Many of the staff that clean these rooms have also been with us for many years. We typically receive very high ratings on our comment cards for the cleanliness of our rooms. Since we were not made aware of this problem at the time, it is difficult to determine would the problem could have been.

We did have a problem for a brief period with our fire alarm this fall caused by a faulty detector. This detector was quickly replaced. Fortunately this type of situation is rare.

We pride ourselves on our location with 1,000 feet of ocean frontage in the heart of Bar Harbor, our personal service, fine dining, full service spa and fine accommodations. In fact we are one of only three hotels in Maine to be listed among the top 500 hotels on the planet by Travel + Leisure.

We hate to hear that one of our valued guest’s experience lead them to say they will not return. I only hope that they will give us another opportunity to serve them during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester Mass
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

What a wonderful experience, from the moment we arrived, till the moment we departed, it was spectacular. The check-in was so welcoming and friendly, and the rooms our group (4 women) anticipated were above and beyond. Fireplaced room, with ocean front views, lovely furnishings, imaculate and warm. The lobby is like a large living room, with coffee, tea and snacks always available, complimentary, and a giant fire roaring in a fireplace, surrounded with comfortable chairs and couches. Very nice touch! The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The room we dined in each night, The Reading Room, was a step back in time. Elegant fine dining and five stars on every point. Service, food, wine and ambience, were all enjoyed
at a leisurely pace, at this wonderful spot. Our waiter for both nights, I believe his name is Tom , was a gem, he obviously enjoyed what he was doing, and was so informative, of both the menu and the history of the area,...delightful. The dining room manager, Cathy, visited our table each evening, with a warm and
lilting charm, she was a pleasure to talk to, and works miracles in that large dining room, The food gets 5 stars from all of us, delicious, imaginative and the Lobster offerings were fabulous.

The area is absolutely beautiful, unfortunately, we so wanted to view the stars from Bar Harbor, but it was cloudy until the day we left. However, we loved touring Arcadia Park and shopping in the stores that were still open, for great Christmas bargains. Every part of this weekend was wonderful, a great package price for the weekend, with dinner included added to the value. I would love to go back at the beginning of the season, in warmer weather, before the summer. This resort is a vacation you will always recall with a smile..."Thanks for the memories"...

  • Liked — They delivered what they advertised...and much more!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing, the weekend was perfect. Only the clouds were un-co-operative.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing