We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, CT
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We booked at the Bar Harbor Inn on recommendation of a friend and we hit a home run. We booked a package deal including room (absolutely fantastic), dinner (anything we wanted - GOURMET - and the wait staff incredibly attentive and helpful ) and breakfast ( the lobster omelet was the best!!!). The setting is very romantic, the staff superb, the grounds absolutely beautiful, and the location perfect (walk to almost everything). On a scale of 1 to 10 - a definite 11.

D. & L. Kelly
Darien, CT

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouncymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    409
    99
    49
    13
See reviews for
409
911
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2009

While the accommodations are both charming and elegant, I feel it is the superb staff that set this Inn apart. They truly make your stay at the Bar Harbor Inn a time when you do not have to worry about anything~all the anticipated amenities are provided without you ever having to ask for a thing and if there are things you need above and beyond that, they all flash a "no problem" smile and truly make it happen. You are free to enjoy your stay without worry.

The lobby is the warmest gathering area I have ever enjoyed while traveling. A warm, crackling fire beckons you to sit for "just a moment" amongst the comfy upholstered furniture ( no hard waiting room chairs here!). An ever-present sidebar offers hot coffee, tea, cocoa, hot cider and in the afternoon caramel apples or warm cookies would magically appear. Before you know it, no matter how shy or reserved you may be, you've made at least two new friends as you've sat in the lobby, sipping cider, watching the fire and chatting easily with the other guests about what brought them there.

The ocean views at the Inn are both calming and breath-taking and the groomed path where the Inn meets the shore gives you no excuse to miss that morning walk or evening stroll.

Like a favorite relative's house at the holidays, I cannot wait to go back the the Bar harbor Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

This was our first trip to Bar Harbor, ME. We decided to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn based on its fantastic reviews on tripadvisor.com and the wonderful views from the rooms.

Our first impression was how welcoming and nice the staff were. We were also impressed by how beautiful the grounds were even in the face of cold weather. We were wowed by the view from our room - directly towards Frenchman Bay. Simply beautiful. The room itself was beautiful appointed and very comfortable. Sometimes it was too cold to sit on the balcony so we sat by the windows in front of the fireplace and were still able to enjoy the different moods of the Bay.

The expanded continental breakfast was included in the cost of the room and was a great start to our mornings. It's served on the ground floor of the Oceanfront Lodge in a window-filled room which overlooks the water. The breakfast staff stayed very busy and did a wonderful job of keeping the buffet stocked.

We also enjoyed how close the hotel is to Main Street. Except on the rare rainy days, we walked into town a couple of times a day. Everything we needed or wanted was close at hand and convenient. Acadia National Park is a few minutes drive away as is a driving loop to Seal Cove, Northeast Harbor, Southwest Harbor, Bass Harbor, etc. Both of these driving tours are highly recommended. Seemingly every turn in the road reveals another photo opportunity.

We had room service on the first night of our arrival. It was delicious. We especially enjoyed the Artisanal Cheese Selection with handmade crackers. We ordered this a couple more times during our stay. We went to the lounge one evening. The lounge is off the side of the restaurant which you have to walk through to get to the lounge. I felt very underdressed in jeans and sneakers after a day of sightseeing. However, the waitstaff were very gracious and the snacks/drinks were delicious. More people came in after us dressed the same or even more casually and there wasn't a snobbish attitude displayed towards any of us.

I cannot express enough how much we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location cannot be beat. Thanks to the excellent staff for making our trip so special.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCroadtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Through my years of travels, I've forgotten things at the hotel and have tried to have them found and sent. I've rarely been successful and so didn't have much hope when I forgot my favorite hat and medical item at the Bar Harbor Inn. To my surprise and delight, they found them and sent them via express mail within a week of our stay. That's attentive and responsive service that is all too rare now days.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOuye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My husband and I took a "leaf peeping" trip up the coast of Maine, and we so happy we chose the Bar Harbor Inn!

The Inn itself was absolutely beautiful. The location is so convenient to the shore, and the piers for Whale Watching or boating excursions. Right next to Main St. with all it's quaint little shops, it was definitely the place to stay.

Was it pricey? Yes, but well worth the money. We stayed in a harbor view room in the Main Inn. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. The sunrises in the morning were just magical. The rooms were incredibly clean and in very good condition. ( And believe me...I have issues with cleanliness!) We had a jetted tub, and I even took a bath which was so relaxing. The staff was very helpful with directions, and any other requests we had or assistance we needed.

The continental breakfast was what you can expect - fruit, bagels, cereals, tea, coffee...just fine for a free breakfast. We did not eat at the Inn, as we were adventurous and tried several of the lobster pounds on the island. However, our room had a view into the Reading Room and it was quite lovely, and the view was spectacular.

Acadia Park is just a short drive from the BHI, and it is NOT TO BE MISSED!!!

We are looking forward to going back next summer, and will be returning to the Bar Harbor Inn again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffiesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Fifth time staying here.

Was very pleased to find a sturdy towel bar/grab rail had been installed which enhanced the pleasure of the lovely big bathtub.

Wifi seemed better than last time, much more reliable.

The selection of free cookies in the main lobby seems less extensive than past years, but a nice bonus anyway.

Still miss the couch and coffee table of yore. Those bucket chairs may look snazzy but they really aren't very comfortable. How about a couple of nice recliners next time of revamping - or the couch back again?

Otherwise clean, comfortable, wonderful view, etc. Pricey!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We have stayed at the Inn before and it never disappoints. We live in Maine and would only consider the Inn when we visit Bar Harbor. The highlight of this trip was being served by "Jessica" in the Reading Room for lunch yesterday. Due to the cool blustery weather - The Terrace Grill was closed for the day and we were delighted to find the operation had moved into the Reading Room. From the moment we arrived at the Inn--we were treated warmly. ....first by the Doorman/Bellman/Valet Attendant and then by the Hostess in the reading Room (also Jessica's Mom). Jessica was the icing on the delicious cake. She made excellent recommendations. The food and wine were superb. The crab cakes were fabulous. The Waterfront in Camden has always been famous for their delicious crab cakes and they have been usurped by the Inn. Our compliments to the Chef. This was an anniversary celebration we will never forget. Kudos to the owners & manager of the fabled Inn. My husband is a kindly curmudgeon and I am delighted to report he enjoyed the food, ambiance, and Jessica's genuinely warm customer service and menu knowledge.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SMRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing