We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service above and beyond what we expected”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We were scheduled to stay from the14th throught the 18th. Well that Sunday I ended up breaking a leg and spent a week in the hospital.We had a suite with an ocean view and the room was up to our expectations and the views were what we expected.Everything was clean which is one of our main concerns when traveling. After my accicdent the staff went out of thier way to accomodate my wife moving her luggage to different rooms 4 times so that she could stay at the hotel and not have to find another hotel and move herself. Each evening they had a small platter of fruit or cheeses for her. You can imagine the stress she was under with having to stay by herself for week and I was glad to here that at least she didn't have to worry about her accomodations. And if by chance you have spend any time at the Mt Desert hospital they too were more accomodating than another hospital that I have spent time in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,415 - 1,421 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn for 4 nights. We stayed 3 nights with one of the package deals and one night at the regular rate. The packages are a great deal! We got full breakfast in the dining room for 3 mornings plus dinner one night. The food is wonderful as is the service. The rooms are very comfortable and we both slept like babies. This is not our first time here and that is why we returned. The last stay was many years ago and we were not dissapointed in anything. The inn is right on the water and you have a great view of the cruise ships docking. Also, the shopping is within walking distance!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hymanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I don't undersand the five star ratings everyone gives this Inn. The only thing good about it was the view from our oceanfront balcony. The room dated back to the late 60's, early 70's . . . dark brown carpet, dark brown comforter, green curtains, lumpy pillows, lime green barrel chairs that were very uncomfortable. Let's just say the room was very, very tired. Our room was located immediately over the room that serves the continental breakfast. The noise started around 5:00A each morning and there was no sleep after it started. This was not the room that we were promised and I tried to get us moved one hour after we check in, but was told they were sold out. It was still only 3:00P and they had people waiting in the lobby for rooms to be cleaned. After three nights, I was exhausted. My husband and I love Maine and we will visit Bar Harbor again, but we will NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ge0rgiaGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHI, Innkeeper at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

I am very sorry to hear that this experience ruined this guest’s stay at the Inn to the point that they will not return. We have so much to offer in terms of types of rooms and variety of décor, I am sure that another accommodation would meet their needs and tastes.

We have 153 rooms and over 30 different room types, they represent styles from traditional inn style to more contemporary. We have three buildings on the property. The Ocean Front Lodge overlooking Frenchman Bay and the Porcupine Islands (some of these rooms are within 75 feet of the water). The Main Inn set on the harbor side, some rooms facing the harbor and some facing the grounds. The Newport Building located behind the Ocean Front Lodge and does not have a view.

The room this guest stayed in is in the center of the Ocean Front Lodge. There are 3 rooms that are in the center section of this building above the Continental Breakfast area. Over the years we have made many improvements to these 3 rooms to reduce any disturbance from the continental breakfast area. We have installed a thick glass wall that separates the hallway from the area below. We have installed sound proofing materials and special carpet pads to reduce sound to these rooms. We have had very few complaints since all these measures were taken. This is one of the first I recall in a couple of years. We will definitely take another look to see if additional measures can be taken.

It is interesting to note that some guests request these particular rooms. I think it may be because they are in the center structure of the building so they feel more special. Regardless, if a guest did not like the room they are in we will do our best to move them to another room of the same type if it is not occupied or to a different type if it is available. At the very least we can usually move someone the next day. We do not wish any guest to have any period of time they are unhappy with their room, especially not for 3 nights like this guest experienced.

I did check with the Front Desk Manger and the Assistant General Manager and there were no notes on this guest’s online reservation indicating a different room request or location selection with in the room type. In addition, neither recalled of a time that we had guests waiting in the lobby for rooms to be cleaned after our 2:30 check in time. I believe this must have been an isolated event that rarely happens and is not up to our desire to maintain good customer service. Often there are guests relaxing in the lobby and enjoying the fire on a cool day, or sitting and having a cup of complimentary coffee with the cookies we provide in the afternoon.

The room this guest stayed in is a King in the Ocean Front Lodge that was completely renovated in 2006. We replaced the furniture, carpet, drapes, bedding, and upgraded to flat screen TVs. We renovated the bath fixtures including new deep tubs and granite surrounds and counter. Since then we replaced the carpet because we were not satisfied with the quality of the carpet used during the upgrade. We also have noticed that the chairs this guest mentioned do need to be replaced again and it is on our list of upgrades for this winter.

Every winter we upgrade and renovate various sections of the hotel. Last winter we renovated the second floor queens in the Ocean Front Lodge. This winter we are redoing the first floor rooms as well as a list of other projects and room improvements that will keep a maintenance staff of 10 busy for the winter.

I hope this guest will give us another try. We would welcome a call if they are willing to return so we can make sure that we can accommodate them in a room that is more appealing to their tastes and preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

This was our second trip back to the Bar Harbor Inn in the past three years. It has a warm, cozy feel and the staff is very attentive. We like to stay in the main building with a balcony view of the harbor. We did not eat in the Reading Room for dinner but did enjoy having breakfast there several mornings. We had lunch at the Terrace Grill our last full day there. My husband and I shared a bowl of mussels that were outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We loved our stay at the Bar Harbor Inn. I am so glad I chose this hotel. It is right on the harbor. Great view of Frenchmen's Bay as you are right next to the bay. You can park your car and walk around town. It is just a short walk to the main street where all the shops and restaurants are located. The wharf is right there also for the whale watching/harbor cruises. Our room was very nice. We had room 301, one of the smallest oceanfront rooms, but is really wasn't that small. I've stayed in much smaller hotel rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have movies rentals if you desire for only $3.60. There is a free continental breakfast which was way better than most hotels free breakfasts. There was lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, cereals, boiled eggs, blueberry muffins, toast, bagels, english muffins, juices, etc. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained. The flowerbeds were very pretty. I highly recommend this hotel. Their smaller room is definitely worth the extra price that this room cost just because of the location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We have been staying at the BHI for many years. We are fairly discriminating when it comes to our accommodations. You will have a VERY hard time finding a facility that is as consistently top class as the Bar Harbor Inn. The rooms are always superbly clean, staff is top notch, views from the ocean and harbor side rooms are fantastic, Reading Room food is always wonderful and on and on. Our kids feel so comfortable there and with the close proximity of the town, it lets us as parents give them some freedom without worrying about many of the issues parents often do when they visit new locations. The BHI is also set just far enough from town that you don't get the hustle and bustle that you often do in a tourist location but yet it's a minute or so walk to lot’s of restaurants and stores.

Back to the staff... the management has done things very, very right in the selection and training of their personnel. If you need something, you can pretty much ask any of the staff and consider your request done.

One word of advise.. if you are planning a stay there, book early to get the rooms with the best views. The reservation staff is fantastic to work with so if they can help you, they will.

If you go in the fall like we do, you'll know you are in the right place when you walk in the lobby, see the beautiful fireplace going and smell the hot cider.

We have many more years of visits to look forward to at this wonderful place.

Believe us, you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Arriving without previous reservation, we (a family with two small kids) were lucky to find accomodation here and had the privilege (or not) to change rooms twice. Which puts me in a position that allows me to write a comprehensive review.

First, the location of the hotel is fantastic - right in front of the ocean and without any traffic nearby. The gardens and surroundings as well as the houses itself are beautiful and charming.

We stayed in three rooms out of which only one was really state of the art (duplex in the main building), wheras the others could do with a little brush-up. All were however clean and functional.

Our first room was located in the Oceanfront Lodge. Standard size double queen room with a very beautiful balcony giving to the ocean. The bathroom was clean but could do with some re-painting and up-grading (at least for European standards). Breakfast was included but is not recommended. The breakfast room in the Oceanfront Lodge reminded me of a supermarket restaurant with juice from a machine, paper cups and the like - certainly the culinary low-point of our holidays.

Next was a (very pricy!) duplex room in the main building. That room was extremely charming and didn't lack any comfort. It was perfectly maintained and came with a lovely view on the ocean as well.

Third we stayed in a "suite" in the main building which was quite simply a two-bedroom arrangement with one (fairly old) bathroom. This room was again clean but one could see that the house has a long tradition - not necesarily in changing wallpapers and carpets though.

While staying in the main building we also had breakfast there - not included but altogether a complete different and nice experience. From the beautifully appointed breakfast room (the main restaurant) one overlooks the ocean with the cruise ships entering the harbor early morning. Breakfast items were of excellent quality and service quite ok.

We also had dinner twice at the Reading Room Restaurant and it were some of the better meals we enjoyed during that trip. Very nice setting, an excellent and discrete piano player and charming views. Service was a bit slow on one occasion (week-end when the restaurant was fully booked) and doesn't compete with European or Asian standards (althoug one of the waiters was the exception to the rule).

In summary we enjoyed our pricy stay and it was also an excellent place to stay with children. They were welcome and loved the little outdoor playground. Being such a tourist destination it's probably normal that prices are high and that hotels are not putting in the last effort to remain state of the art. It would be nice though in this case as it is really a nice place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 42 in Bar Harbor
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 42 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#10 of 42 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £99 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing