We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay and will be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed our stay and will be back.”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Had 2 rooms (701 and 702) one had a beautiful view of the pool and harbor, one had a partial view of the harbor. Checked in very late, rooms were clean, nicely appointed and had ample space. Bed was very comfortable, internet connection was not a problem. We especially liked the proximity to town (about 1 mile) and the Hulls Cove Entrance to Acadia Park (about 1 mile). The grounds on the property are beautiful and the view is breathtaking, especially from the pool area. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only disappointment was they cancelled our whale watching excursion that we had booked, not really sure why. (We think there were maybe not enough people). Slightly musty in rooms, but not anything out of the ordinary for a harbor or beach location. Ate at the outside Tiki bar one day and the salads and burgers were delicious. Would definitely come back to this property.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    405
    278
    159
    116
See reviews for
375
561
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

good location, and god pool/dining rooms, horrible smelly rooms.

Room Tip: rooms are smelly, outdated and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diasdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Tucson, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel has a beautiful location on the shore, and is an agreeable distance away from the crowds in downtown Bar Harbor. The views on the shore are breathtaking and largely constitute the price for the room, as we were increasingly underwhelmed each day we stayed here.

Our experience was largely filled with several difficulties with the hotel staff, who often dodged our questions and relied on us to fix broken appliances in our room, and reiterate from memory the details of the reservation we booked weeks in advance. Some of the things we experienced were:

- NOISE. The air conditioner/heater was VERY loud at night and I had to use ear plugs to fall asleep. The light switch in the bathroom also turns on the vent which is so loud you can't hear anything else while you're in there, including the voice of whoever you may be staying with. We also were given a room that was directly above the trash dumpsters and employees would throw bottles and trash away late at night that woke us up so didn't make for a very restful stay.

- NO WIRELESS INTERNET. We checked in late and were told that our room had wireless internet. When we entered the room, I discovered I had to plug in a wireless router myself, and enter a password, which didn't work. I called the front desk and was told they couldn't do anything and then asked that I call a technical support line in Portsmouth! Why I was fixing their IT problems on the night of our vacation I couldn't explain, and when I reached someone at their technical support, they asked me to schedule an appointment to have a representative come out to fix the problem the next day. This was beyond my level of patience to deal with as it was not my responsibility to schedule or fix their wireless internet - this is the kind of thing I have to schedule when I'm NOT on vacation, so I gave up and just used the 3G on my phone.

- STAFF. The servers were WONDERFUL and treated us very nicely and were on the ball throughout our stay. The hotel staff behind the counter was not as helpful, and often shrugged their shoulders whenever we had a question or problem. When our whale watching cruise was cancelled, they gave us the run around and told us to contact the whale watching company even though we booked the cruise through the hotel!

- BEWARE their reservation agents as we were misled to book the whale watching tour when we arrive in Bar Harbor instead of ahead of time, which was a big mistake as the tours had largely booked up and the one we got was cancelled due to fog. They also promised a dinner was included when we booked, but when we arrived the hotel staff told us that that was not the package we booked. Overall just a lot of passing the buck and blaming others rather than doing what hotel management SHOULD do and that is take ownership for their clients' stay and experience. If you want that, I'd suggest spending a little more to stay in one of the B&B's nearby.

Room Tip: Check out their package specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

First let me say the grounds here are spectacular and maintained better than the building.
Upon checking in we asked for a room with a view of the water. They had plenty of rooms yet they still insisted on an extra $40 per day. We declined. Our room was 321 and had an odd shape to it. We had two balconies but you had to craw out the sliding window to get there which is where our balcony furniture was. My wife climbed out and handed the chairs in to me and I transferred them to the other balcony. One night my wife requested a blanket and we were given a table cloth. The service in the dining room for breakfast was so poor that we just got up and left in the middle of breakfast one day. We had scheduled a 3 night stay but left after 2 nights. On the little card that holds your key cards there is a sentence that states they will charge you $100 if you leave sooner than your reservation. They said nothing to us when we checked out. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnhinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Bar Harbor Regency is an okay place to stay, but not worth the money. To compound matters, we reserved our room online for a specific price and found that when we were checking out the price had increased and they would not honor our confirmed price. We spoke the manager and at first he tried to convince us that we had signed up for a breakfast package and when we showed him that we paid for our meals separately he pointed out although we had a confirmed rate online, I signed the guest log at a higher rate. After driving 12 hours to get there, I guess it is my fault to not paying attention to the small print. Lesson learned and we will not be back!

The rooms are average at best and the food is so like what you would get at a comfort inn. However, the view is outstanding and for that you can get at most other local hotels.
There is a nice shuttle service that all hotels enjoy and the Bar Harbor Regency is probably the furtherst from the community and the roads are only two lanes, so it makes riding a bike into Bar Harbor a bit risky.

Some key points:
Room service was fast and affordable.

The exercise facilities is one very small room (10x8) with 3 exercise machines and a small tv -very sad.

The onsite lobster pound is very nice and intimate. The food was great and service friendly.

Housekeeping was efficient and friendly. However, finding a towel around the pool seemed to be problematic because they are quickly picked up by other guests and there didn't appear to be anyone monitoring the inventory.

There really wasn't much of an inventory for hotel gifts -so if you really wanted a resort item, there wasn't much to choose from onsite.

Breakfast with a wonderful view of the bay, consisted of either off menu or buffet. The choices and the food was just okay.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms at the lower levels have obstructed views due to bushes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Although not in downtown (you will have to drive), we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff was all very friend, check-in and out were fast and efficient, and our room was comfortable and clean. We did not in the restaurant, but it appeared very busy in the morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We cancelled early, stayed only one night because we "feared" Irene! While we were there the staff was very friendly, and very attentive. The staff that we saw were the front desk, and the waiters in the hotel restuarant. All were great. The bed was comfortable with smallish pillows but there were five. The balcony was nice. A word of caution, if you want an ocean view. Avoid the rooms on the second floor toward the high numbers. We had 264 the last room and a tree blocks most of the view. Plus a bldg right next to the room hides quite a bit. Hit the top floors and in the middle, probably get a much better view. Plenty of parking, nice resturant on the ocean. Great views. Tennis court, nice small work out area, direct phone to ocean viewing cruises, close to town, nice landscape. Pool and hot tub. I liked it. I would recommend it for people willing to spend about $300.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing