We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Commerce, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel has a nice appearance and so do the rooms. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The fire alarms went off and we excite our room I unsure of what was going on. We made it downstairs and finally someone told us it was nothing to worry about but I don't think anyone bothered to tell the people who headed out the back door. We were on the second floor and when we opened the stairwell door it caught on the door back into the hall! Two a few minutes to get it loose so we could make it back into our hallway and our room. Got up the next morning to go watch the sunrise and could get anyone at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sistersonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Sistersonatrip,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. It is pleasing to know that you found the ambiance of our property to be nice. However, I truly regret that the service received was not up to par and if you found the condition of the bed to be uncomfortable. I have taken note of your feedback and this shall be used to consider for enhancements needed on premises.

We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    380
    254
    147
    108
See reviews for
339
514
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at this hotel. We had an ocean view room with king size bed. The room was spacious and well appointed. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and the sunrises were always beautiful. The hotel is situated outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown, but close enough that a taxi ride to restaurants in the evening didn't break the bank. Unfortunately, two of the three hotel restaurants were closed for the season, which we should have been told when we booked by phone. However, the outdoor heated pool and the hot tub were still open and we made good use of them after long walks during the day.
We ended up in a room that was adjoined with another one, which turned out to be a big problem on two different occasions. The door that separates the rooms still allows for light and sound to travel between the rooms and on two different nights people left the tv on the whole night as well as the lights. We would definitely ask for a non-adjoining room next time! Fortunately, the a/c units are very loud, so we turned it on to drown out the noise from the room beside us, even though we didn't really need it on. Another thing we found to be a bit of a problem was the schedule for housekeeping. We returned each day to the room between 3 and 4 o'clock, expecting to be able to sit and have a glass of wine and relax only to find that our rooms hadn't been cleaned yet. Since the staff were right there, I asked them to do our room right away and they cheerfully complied, which we really appreciated. We understand that they are busy, because there were many bus trips coming and going, but we certainly expect our room to be clean by that time in the day.
All in all, we would recommend the hotel, but ask for non-adjoining rooms if possible and check to see if all amenities are open during your planned stay.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room on an upper floor and avoid the mid-section of the hotel or you will be ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 689travelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Ask for a waterfront room with balcony and you will receive beautiful views and a relaxing evening at the end of busy days. This older hotel has the added advantage of being near the town but not in the crowds. Shuttle free downtown or drive to the rest of the island. The biggest pleasant surprise was a fantastic dinner delivered to our room. Because we were at the end of the season, many of the amenities of the hotel were not available. We were very impressed with all of the staff who were well-dressed young people from around the world. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The outlook is sensational but you pay extra to see it from your room. The grounds are also lovely and spacious with plenty of free parking at least when I was there in fall. The hotel itself is a bit run down but the rooms are adequate in size and everything in my room worked although the internet was very slow and hot water can run out at peak times. I stayed the Columbus Day weekend and this marks the end of the season so the main dining facility was closed and the free town shuttle which picks up at the hotel stops running at end of the weekend but the up side to this time of the year is the town is relatively easy to access and even downtown parking was easy. As others have mentioned you can walk to town in about 20 minutes and another 10 to the far side of town. For a Holiday Inn this is pretty good and does have a resort atmosphere and given you pay Holiday Inn prices it is not bad. There are few little things that annoy like the slow internet, elevators and nearby construction noise (but not too bad). One tip if you do pay extra for the water view avoid the rooms above what must be the kitchen where the large fans on the roof make a fair bit of noise. Other than that the atmosphere is great.

Room Tip: See my comment about exhaust fans below some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our first stay at the Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency. A comfortable and clean hotel with a lovely waterfront location. Possible to enjoy the hotel car-free if you do your research in advance on the very good local public transportation (also Bar Harbor is within walking distance from the hotel). Very disappointing fitness facilities compared to their description of a “Health Club” and “Modern Fitness Room” – the absence of any actual management photos of the fitness facilities on the website is telling. Clearly more can and should be done to improve the eco-performance of the hotel particularly since one of Bar Harbor’s principal attractions is the adjacent National Park and the local environment.

Public Transport:
- No information in the room or website (though there Front Desk did have information) about accessing the very good local public transportation network for all of Mt Desert Island . There is a stop at the hotel

Zero Waste:
+ Was not provided a paper copy of bill (as room had been pre-paid) but not sure if all guests can receive their bill via email
- No recycling bin in the room and no bins for compostable items
- In-room coffee was the most wasteful I have ever seen with individual disposable plastic trays for each packet of coffee and lots of disposable packaging (clearly something Holiday Inn has bought in bulk as I have seen the same system in other Holiday Inn hotels)
- Disposable plastic toiletries containers rather than the bulk dispensers you find in many eco-conscious Nordic hotels
- Disposable cups in room covered in unnecessary excess plastic wrapping

Energy:
+ Information in room about reusing towels, but it wasn’t clear if housekeeping paid attention as there were always new towels every day
- Shower, toilet and faucet do not appear to be low flow
- Windows do not appear to be well insulated given the hotel's location in Maine
- No room-key operated electricity controls like in most European hotels
- No sensors to turn-off or dim lights in common hallways when not needed
- No apparent on-site generation through solar or thermal hot water

Recycled and Local Products:
+ What looked like recycled paper products in the room

Environmental Information:
- No information in room or hotel specific information on website regarding environmental, initiatives, performance / CO2 emissions and targets
- Not listed in Tripadvisor's Green Leaders (though Holiday Inn website indicates that the hotel participates in the GreenEngage program of Holiday Inn's parent IHG, but there is nothing listed on the Bar Harbor Regency website which also lists the Bar Harbor Regency’s sister hotels)

CO2 Offset
- No option to offset CO2 emissions from stay

Room Tip: The rooms that face Eden Street can suffer from road noise (especially trucks shifting gears) as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoTravelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Bar Harbor for two nights in mid-September. Large hotel with numerous rooms overlooking the water...also numerous rooms overlooking the parking lot, so decide which you prefer for your morning wake-up.

As it was slightly beyond peak-season, the availability of dining options and hours were more limited than during peak season. This was not a great distraction since it is a very short drive or perhaps 20 minute walk to downtown Bar Harbor. The hotel was clean, but in some areas aging.

The local shuttle that is operated by the city and runs downtown stops out front and is convenient if you prefer to leave your car and not fight parking downtown. Probably a good thing to do.

The value was fair...you are paying for the location, which is magnificent...but as a "Resort" it seems just ok.

Had no problems with using internet in our room during the stay. The lobby coffee shop was a nice touch, although it was only open until mid-morning, again, possibly due to the off-peak time of year.

Overall we would consider staying there again, although packages, prices, etc. would come in to play as we consider other options in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCU61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear TCU61,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

First, we made the mistake of reserving the room through Expedia (the telephone number on the web site seemed to be the one for the motel itself, but it’s misleading). Instead of a 5 minute phone call our reservations required a 15+ minute ordeal of pleading with a non-English speaker, in who knows what country, to repeat what she was saying over and over and still not understanding much of what she said. We were actually surprised when we arrived at the motel and found that we actually did have reservations since the Expedia representative kept babbling incoherently until we just had to hang up. We’ll never reserve anything through Expedia again.

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Regency during the first week of October 2013 during the shutdown of the national parks, so Acadia was officially closed. Surprisingly, Bar Harbor itself was still quite busy, the shops and restaurants were all open, and folks were obviously enjoying Mount Desert Island in spite of the hostage taking in DC.

Check in at the Regency was fast. The room was clean and fairly up to date though it did not have a radio/alarm. The king size bed was comfortable enough but had those awful half size pillows that are too soft; a terrible way for motels to save money. We would have reserved a bayside room with a view if we could have communicated that desire to the Expedia representative, but it just wasn’t worth the extra frustration. The non-view room on the third floor was quiet during our stay.

The free wifi Internet had a good signal, but sometimes had a ridiculously slow connection. On one night it was OK but on the next I just gave up trying to use the Internet because of the unresponsiveness of the connection.

On our third night we heard a loud noise, later noticed the recessed ceiling light near the door was dangling from the ceiling by its wires. I hate to think about how this happened.

The Regency’s location is far enough away from downtown Bar Harbor to make walking into town inconvenient, and driving left out of the motel parking lot onto Route 3 toward town can take forever; this might be a reason some visitors would want to book a room in one of the motels and inns closer to downtown Bar Harbor. Also, even though we had no trouble finding parking in town, we know from past experience it can be difficult at times to find a space, so being able to stroll into town would be a plus—especially in such a delightful town to walk in.

La Bella Vita is the in house restaurant, featuring views (though not spectacular) of Frenchman’s Bay. On our first night we had dinner at 8 PM and there was a huge group halfway through their dinner, but since most of their serving had already been accomplished our service was satisfactory—a matter of lucky timing. The fare was delicious but expensive—soup & salad = near cost of an entrée (getting toward $25-30), wine costs $9 per less-than-half-filled glass (for a wine that costs $12 a bottle retail). We ate at La Bella Vita again two nights later and sure enough there was another large crowd for dinner, even noisier than the one on the first night. Service was again satisfactory. On balance, this is food of a much higher quality than you’ll get from most motel restaurants, but you definitely pay for the quality and, of course, the convenience. Remember that when everything is open, Bar Harbor is blessed with plenty of restaurants with great food at not unreasonable prices; better deals can be found in town. Breakfast at La Bella Vita was a big disappointment. It’s an expensive buffet that offered, the only morning we ate there, inedible dried out French toast & stale Danish, dry overcooked eggs, and soggy undercooked bacon. Bar Harbor has many great breakfast places that are really inexpensive. La Bella Vita should be ashamed of the awful, overpriced breakfast they offer.

The Bar Harbor Regency is a bit on the pricey side, but, depending on when you go, Bar Harbor is a pricey destination. I’d stay there again but I think I’d try for a lower rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HillYankee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing