We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location, but service was poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice location, but service was poor”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is beautifully located on the water, with splendid gardens. The view from our room was gorgeous -- it was not an upgrade, we booked the ocean view room. The room is a typical Holiday Inn room, but fairly large -- no complaints there. The only complaint I have is the service at the front desk. It was staffed by very young people who might have been training. Overall, they had no answers to our questions. We were there at the time of the marathon and a lot of roads on the island were closed. We asked the front desk to give us information regarding road closures, but the girl at the front desk didn't even have a idea that there was a marathon on the island. It took her a long time to search on the web and when she gave us a printed sheet of information, it turned out to be parking information in Bar Harbor! Anyways, we found the information ourselves by going to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    393
    267
    154
    113
See reviews for
359
545
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Nicest Holiday Day Inn out there, very upscale. However their on site restaurant was way under staffed and the food was ok nothing great and a over priced. We waited almost 30 min before we had a waiter/waitress come to ask for our drinks and food order. Their coffee shop closed at mid morning for the day so if you wanted to stop and grab a drink, not happening. Other than that it was perfect for us to visit Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel was very nice, restaurant too. The garden and the view - was fantastic. Unfortunaely all the national parks were closed due to goverment crises - so we stayed only one night. Bar harbor is very touristed area - but the Maine cost and it bays with lobsters all around - is great

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with sea view - only - pay the extra - it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgenG2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great experience! We were upgraded to ocean front/balcony room without any request. Front desk personnel was very helpful and accommodating. This hotel is excellently located very much near all the hub but not smack right in front of it. Mount Desert Island/Acadia National Park is beautiful and it is a wonderful trip to do at this time of year. We had a bad weather day and our boat trip was cancelled but we still did the driving to top of Cadillac Mountain and took good pictures, even though visibility was not that great. Would definitely consider going again!!!
Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cip5814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a wonderful experience, but that can be attributed to being upgraded to the "Du Pont Suite". Totally over the top - two huge rooms, large balcony, beautiful ocean view. We were sure that they made a mistake. It was a lovely surprise and almost made up for the fact that Acadia National Park was closed because of the government shutdown. But we didn't really take advantage of the suite - the area is too beautiful to want to stay in the hotel. The hotel is a convenient base - easy to get to, right on the ocean, plenty of parking. Would stay there again, even without the upgrade, but I can't comment on the regular rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zvi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Called and made reservations only to find out on arrival they had overbooked the room we ordered. No discount on a cheaper room we were given which was in the next building. Very disappointed the first night. My husband and I discussed changing hotels but decided to give them a second chance after they promised we would have the room we ordered for the remainder of our stay. The second and third nights were the room we had originally booked and it was much better. The staff wasn't very friendly and hardly made eye contact. Appeared they run into overbooking all of the time. May or may not stay here again, definitely will not stay if we get overbooked a second time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lordylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Lordylan

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our service and facilities are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced surrounding your reservation and we regret we fell short in rendering great service during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
I have taken note of your valuable comments and shared these with the team for review.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here for just one night and wish it could have been more. Beautiful, beautiful view from our balcony - even what they call a "partial ocean view" room (perhaps 30% not ocean view... was wonderful. A lovely, well maintained property. Convenient shuttle into main part of town, which isn't far from the property. Great value for the money - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcgcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing