We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We reserved an ocean view room through the Holiday Inn website and were not disappointed. I saw some complaints in past reviews about room type, and their website is very clear about what type of room you are reserving. The main building is the only building that had ocean view rooms and you definitely have to pay a higher price for them, so there's really no mistaking what you are booking unless you use a discount hotel booking site (which are usually very vague on what you will get when you get there). The room had a private balcony overlooking the grounds, pool, lobster shack, and water. The rooms were nice and very clean, beds were cushy and comfy as well as the large almost body size pillows. Ammenities are pretty standard for a Holiday Inn. Our room had a small fridge in the dresser/credenza so that was nice for keeping our wine and snacks cold to enjoy with the view on our balcony. The staff was very friendly. One thing we were disappointed in was that the coffee shop wasn't open and wouldn't be open until June 1st. We were looking for a quick breakfast the first morning and found a note on the coffee shop door. Not a huge deal though, we found that a lot of stuff was closed still and wouldn't be opening until June for the summer season. One suggestion for the hotel would be to add small tables to the balconies to have something to set your drinks on (instead of the ground).
The hotel is about 1.5 miles from the actual downtown area and the road to town has a small sidewalk, so it's definitely walkable, but traffic is crazy! so watch out. We walked into town one nice night when we wanted a few drinks and then used At Your Service taxi which was just $5 for the ride home, and very prompt when we called.

Room Tip: Reserve an ocean view room, otherwise this hotel would be just like any other Holiday Inn, somewhat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequentraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    405
    278
    159
    116
See reviews for
375
561
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency consists of two buildings, a main building with the reception desk and a separate building that has only guest rooms. We stayed in the separate building so I can't really speak for the rooms in the main building but I would recommend trying to get a room in the main building. It is more expensive but probably more convenient since you won't have to walk across a parking lot to get to the front desk and you're closer to the pool and other amenities of the hotel (the restaurant, etc).

The front desk was staffed by young receptionists who were friendly and helpful. There was a manager, Ryan if I'm not mistaken, who was NOT helpful NOR friendly. So depending on who you get at the front desk, service can be okay or rude and inept.

Our rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The mini-fridge was tiny and old, which was surprising since most Holiday Inns I've stayed in have relatively new appliances. Housekeeping is rather careless, as the mouthwash that's provided in the bathrooms had a broken seal (so it was never replaced when the room was cleaned, which leads me to wonder what else was overlooked or not changed in the room) and our room was left OPEN when we arrived.

Outside of the guest rooms, a lot of things appeared to be in need of an update. The pool and the grounds looking out onto the water were quite nice. But again, they were located by the main building, so you would have to walk over from the second detached building (the detached building looks out mainly onto the parking lot).

I rarely find a hotel that I don't like but overall, this hotel just left a bad taste in my mouth. There are plenty of hotels in Bar Harbor so I would not be returning nor would I recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear J L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency is in a great location. It may be "within walking distance" from downtown Bar Harbor, but it's not on a road you'd want to walk. That is to address the other reviews I see below.

The Hotel is just a minute down the road from the entrance to Acadia National Park which was our major reason for visiting. The park is just BEAUTIFUL and worth the visit.

The hotel perks, it is right on the water, there is a beautiful heated pool and hot-tub, and you can walk right down to the boat dock to enjoy the water. The restaurant was DELICIOUS, and provides great views of the scenery. The staff was all very friendly as well.

The downfalls: the staff were ALL summer workers who were young and clearly just learning the ropes for the summer. They were all very kind, but for example, I booked my room with my credit card, and then gave my debit for incidentals... to which they charged the room. My mistake on giving it to them, but I then had a $300 hold on my debit card for nearly a week before it was let go, even after correcting the charge before checking out and actually putting it on my credit card. I called accounting on the next open business day (Tuesday after the holiday) and never got a returned call, BUT, the money did get returned.

Also, the WiFi was terrible, and you're in an area that doesn't have very good cell reception (AT&T and Verizon phones were both hit or miss). So, while we were on vacation, we still needed to access work stuff in the evenings and had a hard time connecting. Again, not a big deal, but it was frustrating.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water if possible! Some rooms face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location is fantastic... The rooms were clean and spacious. The heated pool was an added bonus.
The staff was great and I would like to add that the manager on duty, Andrea was so pleasant and very courteous.
The breakfast was delicious with plenty of healthy choices so overall the long weekend at the holiday inn, bar harbor was totally relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I love the stay on memorial day weekend with my hubby. We had a wonderful time. Rooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly. Rooms were modern and the bed (OMG!) so comfortable we didn't want to get out of bed. The only complain I have, was the Fitness room, it looked neglected and not to the level of the rest of the resort but in over all everything was great, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stay on the 3rd floor room 302 . great location , nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 670stefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The reception staff are very friendly and check-in was quick. I booked the Eden room and they upgraded me to the main building as the Eden room building is still closed for the season. The hotel is already old and it seems like they just renovated it. The room is huge! It was about 1.5 the size of a standard room in other hotels. I was pleasantly surprised by the size and cleanliness of it. It has a small refrigerator too. The pool is nice and heated and there is also a hot jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. Too bad it was still a bit chilly and we didn't have time to enjoy the pool. There is also a restaurant with a view but we did not try it. Location is nice as it is just close to town. You can perhaps walk to downtown Bar Harbor as there is ample parking in town. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Bar Harbor! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiko9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and really have no complaints except there was poor internet service. Which, you are in the middle of so many beautiful parts of nature-get over it!! :) The front desk staff is incredibly helpful- ready to give recommendations for dinner or what to do for the day. They seemed sincere and genuinely concerned with how your stay was. The location is close to downtown, but not within walking distance. The hotel itself sits right on the water, so you have a beautiful view should you be lucky enough to get a waterfront room. Although there was some noise in the hallways during the evening hours, it really quieted down before bedtime and I was never woken up by other guests, traffic or the elevator. I would stay here again if I am in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust3483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing