We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Bad Experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First, let me say that the staff at the Holiday Inn whom we encountered were great - friendly and helpful; so this review is not a reflection of their service.

We stayed at the Holiday Inn to treat ourselves over the 4th of July weekend. Although the news had predicted Hurricane Arthur, we were confident that this big hotel would have a plan in place to deal with the weather. We were wrong. The hotel lost power during the first night we were there - and subsequently, no communication from the staff (no phone call, letters under our door, no one checking on us) to what was going on. Everything was out...hot water, electricity and fire alarms. You would think that a family hotel would have a generator or a plan (i.e., let's move everyone to one building and get a generator for that building...or at the very least, send someone out to buy lamps for the totally dark hallways and stairways). The hotel actually had the nerve to initially tell us that morning that if we checked out early, they would impose a $100.00 penalty! So basically, they were forcing the hand of people who had already spent $2-300.00 to stay in a non-functioning hotel without any fire/light or safety mechanisms in place.

Needless to say, we will NEVER stay at any Holiday Inn hotel for their lack of infrastructure support was ridiculously bad. There are so many cute, wonderful chalets, cabins and B&Bs in Bar Harbor - there is no reason why you need to spend your money here. Yes, there is a free shuttle that picks up people from the hotels that are not in Bar Harbor...but you will have to visit about 10 hotels before you reach Bar Harbor (making it more convenient to walk the 1.5 miles it would take you to walk from the Holiday Inn to the edge of town. The below reviews are also correct - the rooms are not what they appear on their website; they do not show the antiquated rooms, the shabby and water-stained walls or the stained carpets.

If you have children, I would especially stay away - the hotel should have had a plan to preserve the safety of its families - you will not find this here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WrldTrav520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear WrldTrav520,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    381
    254
    147
    108
See reviews for
339
517
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for our Anniversary Weekend. I found our room to be a bit dated. We used a discount with CAA which I still found was a bit pricey considering the distance from downtown.

We used taxis to travel back/forth for dinner as we wanted to have some drinks. I had wished I would have booked closer to town and paid a bit more.

The outdoor pool area is beautiful and I love the bar/snack area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nmn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for you input. You may have just missed the start of the free shuttle that networks throughout the island. It picks up at the hotel twice an hour all summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I am thinking that this was not always a Holiday Inn. And let me just say that I had never stayed at a Holiday Inn before staying here. We traveled to Bar Harbor with our dogs, which limits the places that we can stay. This was a stunning property that sat on the water. The pool and the outdoor areas were really breathtaking. Then you went into the hotel. The hotel is very tired and in much need of renovation. But beggars can't be choosers when you are traveling with 2 dogs. The inside of the hotel is very cheaply done. The room furniture, the mattress and the decor, in general, was sub par. We asked for a roll away for our daughter and they brought a blow up mattress. WHAT? I was shocked. Do not bother with the restaurant in the lobby area. It was terrible and understaffed. I would not stay here again. I would opt for a property in town and would leave my dogs at home.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We opt for air mattresses as they are the cleanest option vs. the foam pad of a roll away bed. I do apologize for the other shortcomings you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Started staying there in 2009 and from year to year it just got worse until we couldn't tolerate it any more . 2012 was our last visit but TA's calendar doesn't go back that far. We are priority club members and being able to use points was great for the budget, but not great enough to compensate for the abysmal service. Front desk staff act like they are doing you a favor, manager lied to us and after we spoke with the priority club and caught him in the lie, he lied some more, wanted a room with a desk and were told the hotel had none ( we had one the previous year), one year the minuscule balcony in our old tired ' balcony with ocean view' room was so filthy with bird poo that I was disgusted to even go near it, the lobster pound was overpriced and understaffed. We've never stayed anywhere where the customer is so obviously a bother to a staff who really couldn't care any less. I will say that the guys who carried our luggage in the elevator free building were friendly and helpful, but as we only saw them twice.... Oh and yes, the view is pretty but the other properties nearby also can offer that. Go elsewhere ! Anywhere else! This isn't a resort, it's the last resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beamazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Roccotaco2,

Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Club Members and writing us feedback. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Gedinne, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is outside of the town; if you have a car, it is not a problem.
When you serach the hotel, don't look for the Holiday Inn name in front of the building: HI is hidden.
Upon arrival, no welcome word (or gift of a bottle water) altough we are Gold members of the Priority Club.
No information was given about the internet access code.
The freezer compartment of the rooms’ fridge was completely frozen and we could not open it. As there was a congress in the hotel, the registration desks for the congress attendants were right in front of the access to the elevators! So we had to struggle with our suitcases between the congress attendants, and it was so each we used the elevators.
We asked at the reception desk to fix this: it was never done.
The service in the restaurant is very poor.
Next time, we look for another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for the feedback regarding your stay. We have reviewed your comments as a management group, and the team is sorry they let you down.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed one night on an organized tour. Nice hotel, perhaps a little better than your average Holiday Inn. It is not within walking distance of the town, which is a shame because we would have liked time to explore the town and its wonderful old homes, but time and distance did not permit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmccaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
The Island Explorer bus service (free) is now running twice an hour into town from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was the second time staying at the Regency. When our bill was slid under our door on our final night we realized our Tiki Bar bill charged to the room had a larger tip than we had signed for.

The service at the Tiki Bar was extremely poor and a signature drink was made with house instead of what was listed in the drink description. We purposely did not leave a 20% tip, but the bartenders increased the tip to 20% on their own. At checkout we were told the hotel would look into it. So far I have not been contacted.

The staff upon check in was very helpful. The room was very clean. Internet in the room was very poor. The elevator inspection certificate was expired.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bostontown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for the feedback- I will be looking into this and you will hear from the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing