We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful resort”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a lovely stay here. The room and view were great. The food at the hotel restaraunt was super. The grounds beautiful, and location great. Overall, we found the staff friendly, helpful and accomodating. Stewmans was a bit of a letdown, however our waiter was fantastic. The one complaint we have, is that upon checking in, we were told, as other guests were, that our reservation of a king ocean view room was not available. After complaining for some time, one magically appeared which we were very happy with. I would certainly recommend a stay here

Room Tip: Definitely choose an ocean view, and on second or third level if possible. Very clean hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thanks for the positive comments. I certainly agree that the ocean view rooms are the way to go. I passed along your kudos to the staff. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    381
    254
    147
    108
See reviews for
339
516
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was mixed about staying here about other reviews. Decided to take a chance a book at $209 plus a night for standard room non ocean view. Upon arrival it's clear this was a different hotel from the. 80s that could use some updates, esp for the price! Front desk efficient, given our first room..2nd floor..odd room, on a bend on the building do room had odd angles..not a big deal..when we went on the balcony which we knew would over look the parking lot it was a surprise to see we were over the hotels recycling area..smelly trash cans trash, dumpsters! Gross for $200 a night..we weren't going to be in room much so had the offered us a good discount on this room we would have accepted. Also window sheers had something brown dripping on them.

Asked for new room, was given one,,,good news no trash cans but partial view of area where they put things they don't need...broken toilet, air mattresses. Guess we settled. No coffee or team in lobby on morning!!! What? $200 plus no coffee? Blast is not included in stay which we knew when we booked..not a deal breaker but again for cost coffee should be included as in most hotels. Room was clean, I will say that for good news.

I think if we stayed here off season for half price it would be a better deal and location. Pool area nice, nice tiki bar. Mikey our bartender was great! Friendly and attentive. He was the friendliest person we came across here.
Overall ok...would be able to give better review if price had been better or am coffee. I've paid less $$ fir far better hotels.

Tip..us free bus shuttle to go town town! Plenty of buses plenty of space! Best way to get around the island.

Room Tip: If u don't want to see recycling or extra toilets off your balcony purchase ocean view. Bring y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spotz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to write a review. I have passed along your comments to our F&B department. Habah Java is our coffee bar located in the lobby which offers a variety of coffee selections. The Island Explorer is a wonderful service for Bar harbor. I'm glad you left your car and found the Explorer helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnebago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Be sure to read prior posts before even considering this property. Our first room assigned was in an adjacent building that didn't even have an elevator. Property has long since seen its better days. Far and away the worst Sun Spree property we have ever visited. There are far better values in Frenchman's Bay to consider at this rate. On site management appeared to have numerous conflicts with unhappy guests during our visit, including one unbelievable exchange we observed between manager and a Crowne Plaza employee over a room rate. Move on fellow travelers, better properties want and appreciate your patronage in this region.

Room Tip: If you must, insist on a room in main property on third floor w oceanside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
The property is made up of several buildings which allow us to offer a variety of room types at different rates. Many of our guests enjoy this flexibility when choosing a room type. I apologize if your initial room assignment was not to your liking and hope our staff resolved the issue to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We are in the third floor in the main building. The room is very quiet and the beds are very comfortable. Because our room faces the road, there is not much views to talk about.

However during the stay, the manager on duty is always arguing with customers. It is kind of stranger with my holiday inn experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I'm glad your room was comfortable and clean. If you do return I always recommend the ocean view rooms. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbell968
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night at this hotel and wish we had more time to enjoy the amazing views and outdoor space including the pool area and pool bar. Both onsite restaurants are fantastic. Parking is easy and the staff is friendly. The lobby area is inviting and comfortable with a great coffee shop.

The hotel is close to downtown Bar Harbor and easy to get to by car or public transit, there is a bus that picks up in front of the hotel and drops off downtown. The hotel is not walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor but it is a good location with easy access to Acadia.

We stayed in the main building. I wasn't aware there were separate buildings when I booked the room but the other building was just across a small parking lot and looked newer. The main building has indoor corridors and each room has a balcony or patio with an exterior door. The corridors are worn and need updated.

The sleeping rooms seem to have been updated more recently, or at least the bedding, bathroom, tv and furniture. The room could use an overall refresh but it was clean and comfortable. Our shower did not work and there was no water pressure from the sink.

Overall, this hotel is a good option especially if you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy some down time by the pool.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bbell968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thanks for the positive review. As you noted we have been updating the resort, and we have more projects planned for the fall. Next time stay longer ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Couldn't get room with ocean view, reasonably good accommodation, clean, free standard internet, about 2 miles drive to Acadia National Park, about 6 mikes drive to Cadillac Mountain top for the amazing Sun rise view, plenty of parking, one may not consider it a great family hotel.

Room Tip: Book rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBManjeshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our resort. You can't go wrong with a Cadillac sunrise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I am a platinum elite member and I travel a great deal so I always stay in an ihg property. We have been in an 18 day east coast road trip so this was our last stop before flying home. I booked this room 2 months ahead of time for this trip. When we checked in a rude person checked us in and we did not get the room we requested. We had stayed here several years ago and so I knew to ask for an ocean view room. She told me they were completely sold out which was a lie. Because I checked my app on my phone and they were not. And they had rooms available all 3 nights we were here. I have never had any problems like this in all my travels. So I took the room she gave us just to keep from causing a scene in the lobby. When I got to the room I called the manager (Andrew). And he told me he would upgrade me to an ocean view room as soon as they had one cleaned that day. So we just went out to the pool area and enjoyed the peacefulness and the beautiful scenes. Andrew had the bell man move out stuff to the ocean view room and in about an hour our room was available. So thankful that Andrew saved the day. I will stay here again if we come back to this area. It is in a good location but it is not walkable to down town unless you want to walk 2 miles in one direction. But as far as the room it was always clean and the beds are comfortable. Housekeeping does a good job. I just hope you don't have the lady that first checked us in. I failed to get her name.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I'm sorry the beginning of your stay was not perfect, and I'm glad to hear Andrew sorted out your room issue. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the rest of your visit. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing