We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sufficient but not amazing”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

If you want grand, or if you want quaint, or even if you desire eclectic, this isn't your place. It's a Holiday Inn. No more, no less. Not fancy, acceptable. Not pricey, affordable. If you're here to be outdoors (why else come to Acadia?) then this place meets your needs for sleep and the other basic comforts.

The wifi is very poor, but the pool is fun for the kids. People generally are friendly and the trip into town is quick and simple either by car or shuttle.

All in all, good value for the money. Must don't make this your romantic destination...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Andrew F,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance
to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    381
    254
    147
    108
See reviews for
339
517
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Regency Part is nice - the Holiday Inn part is average. They are connected so be sure to clarify where you are staying and what you are paying for. Get there early or they might give away your room like they did to us. Front desk manager was rude and insulting. Rest of the staff seemed fine. Overbooking is a problem at this place - saw it happen to others. Not sure how to get around that but maybe have a Plan B. Nice location on the water. Rooms were nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtea34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear jtea34,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is nice to know that the rooms and location were to your liking. On the other hand, I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We would love for you to give us another try.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The bellhop was very helpful with hiking tips but the front desk was clueless on the area. We asked for dinner recommendations and what mountains were open to hike and she didn't have anything to say about either. The rooms were decent- kind of dated but spacious. If you want a responsible place to stay with a pool and a view this place isn't that bad. I wouldn't expect a 5 star service though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramirfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently returned from Bar Harbor Regency Resort and I am not impressed with the cost per night ($300+). The staff was not attentive to the needs of their clients and unhelpful. They sincerely should cater to your needs and provide for that "resort" experience. The fitness equipment were outdated and dirty. One of the treadmills was broke and the water dispenser was empty. I reported it to the front desk and asked for some water and that seemed impossible for the staff to resolve. Suffice it to say, the treadmill was never fixed during our stay. The Bar Harbor Regency Resort is situated in a beautiful secluded location, but the resort experience was disappointing. Consumers book resorts and hotels to get away from their normal lives and expect to be pampered. This is the primary reason consumers have disposable income. This resort does not equate to the disposable income invested in a vacation.

Sonny S.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonny4306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Sonny4306,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

As others have opined, the hotel is not the newest facility in town. It is the biggest and one of the most expensive too. But in reality, it's nothing more than any aging "full service" Holiday Inn with a "resort" title added for marketing purposes. When pressed at the desk about them not delivering USA Today to the room for Gold members, they said, "They're not really a Holiday Inn other than for the reservation system and they don't follow all the HI customs." HUH?

Pluses...the bus service. Other resort towns need to duplicate the bus service Bar Harbor has to the north loop of hotels, campground and through the park. Used them extensively and enjoyed seeing the sites without needing to watch for inattentive tourists walking along the road or the various crosswalks.

Close proximity to the park's main entrance and carriage road side entrance just up Rt 3 from the hotel. Great running trails on the carriage roads from this venue.

Seaside location. As with any large hotel, room quietness is part facility, part location, and part other guests. We lucked out and had a very quiet stay.

Grounds appeared to be kept well and managed. But you can tell where areas were stressed.

Minuses....

Way overpriced for the room value, amenities, and overall services. Law of supply and demand however and they were booked solid the week we were there. Our room seemed clean and recently updated, but I agree with other's reviews the humid-ness of the room being a bit high for the cool seacoast and related "fresh" breezes. We needed to open our door more than once to "air out" the room. It's also clear to me at least when the main floor corridor carpet was last deeply scrubbed...a while. Wear sandals if going to hotel's center.

The breakfast was really limited to a pricey buffet (we didn't eat there otherwise). If we wanted something off the menu, the server advised it might be a wait while the kitchen focused on the buffet first. HUH? Now, with two kids, the $30 tab (plus taxes) isn't so bad ($7.50/person in reality). But if it was a solo, couple, or had older kids, that's a pricey breakfast no matter what's served unless it was lobster, crab, or other locally caught fresh seafood. Which it wasn't. We filled up the first morning just to get started and then ate in town the rest of our stay. While still pricey, we enjoyed seafood for the same money.

Wifi in a word--sucked. Repeatedly tossed off and the service provider while able to get us reconnected could not keep our two laptops connected consistently. Writing web-portal anything was a perilous risk at wasting time and thought processes. Like this review....

Parking---not enough for a hotel this size. Many nights needed to "create" a parking space in order to park. NO street parking as there were none...and Rt.3 had no shoulder to speak of.

Bottom line, hit and miss....

Room Tip: Can't really say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RadioGuru001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear RadioGuru001,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. We also regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here on August 10; Room 323. The room smelled of mold and was very dated. The carpeting in the room, as well as the hallways, was dirty, worn and dated. In fact, the entire hotel was dated, in serious need of an update.

There are few amenities; not even complimentary coffee in the morning.

When we were leaving in the morning I told the front desk receptionist about the smell and dirty room, and he started to give me a monotone answer that sounded like a recording before I even finished my sentence..."Please accept my sincere apology, and we'll have maintenance address these issues." He then looked back down at whatever he was reading, apparently finished speaking with me. I left and will never return again.

The room was definitely not worth over $200 for a night.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard_D41605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Richard_D41605,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Bar Harbor.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location of this hotel is great, but we found the service overall rather poor. We first got a room with a strong smell of mould and we discovered that there was mould on the ceiling and around the windows. We asked for another room after some discussions as the person in charge at the reception had some doubts about our complaint (!). Our new room was next to extremely noisy vending machines. In general the service was poor and almost unfriendly. We were disappointed with the accomation, but Bar Harbor and the Acadia National Park are an amazing destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Róland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Róland A,

Thank you for your stay with us and reviewing our property

I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the level of service and truly sorry for the room condition fell below your standards. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.6 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Property: Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing