We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Bluenose!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent a terrific night at the Bluenose! The staff were terrific and the rooms were beautifully appointed. The view from our veranda, dinner at the Looking Glass, drinks with friends in Bar Harbor and a restful night made this a wonderful trip. Thank you!

Room Tip: The upper floors have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

You sound like you had the experience that we wish for every guest. Thank you for sharing your great experience with us and Tripadvisor. We pride ourselves and customer service and providing our guests with the perfect venue for a great vacation.

I certainly hope that you will come back to Bar Harbor and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

From the outside, the property looks beautiful. It sits on top of a hill and has a beautiful view, but it stops there.

If you like pink and flower décor, than you will like this property. This was a last minute decision to stay here, so I blame myself for not doing research as we do not prefer this kind of décor.

With the décor aside, here are my issues. (pictures attached)

Lamps were stained and falling apart

Stains on the mauve/pink carpet

Nasty stains on the pink bed skirt

The pink, silk type couch was old and dirty

More stains on the pink striped chair

Mattresses were thin and uncomfortable

Wall air conditioner was rusted and filthy

Toilet seat was just nasty

Grout in the dated bathrooms needed a thorough cleaning

Furniture was scratched up

HEARD PEOPLE WALKING AROUND CONSENTLY IN THE ROOM ABOVE US

With all that being said, I'm very confused at the high ratings given from other travelers and the high rating from AAA. I would NOT recommend this property, nor would I ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Just stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sitarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

I appreciate that you took the time to review our property but need to assure you that your experience and rating are very uncharacteristic for us. I have looked in to the concerns you have documented and agree that there were some things in this particular room that needed attention and we have now taken care of them. I do appreciate that you brought them to my attention.

I can tell you that most of our guests appreciate the old New England style charm of the decor in our rooms, which it doesn't sound like you would have liked even without these problems. I am sorry that we were not a good match and wish you well in your future travels.

Jim Ash
General Manager/ Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our stay at the Bluenose Inn was a wonderful experience. I can't wait to go back there. I have already recommended this hotel to my friends. The staff was so helpful in every way. The rooms were clean and well kept. The great room in the lobby was absolutely beautiful. I loved the location. The food at their restaurant was all delicious. The spa was first class. I don't have one complaint at all about this Inn.

Room Tip: I loved staying in the main building. It was so convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolores D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

So glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience on our property. It sounds like you did it all while you were here and that is great to hear. There is more than enough to do in our beautiful town of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, but we love to give our guests everything they need right here as well. We look forward to having you back.

Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I stay at the Blue Nose Inn every Mother's Day weekend for a family gathering. We look forward to it every year. Not only do we get the opportunity to see our family and listen to live piano music in the beautiful lounge, but we also get to to reminisce about our wedding day. We got married at the Blue Nose on October 13th 2007, and it was the most magical and joyous of days. I will never forget it, and being able to come back every year is a special treat for us. Now we bring our 4 year old and he also looks forward to it. His favorite part of the weekend is swimming in the huge pool, and climbing Cadillac Mountain. We also love Mother's Day brunch at The Looking Glass. The view is just as amazing as the food. You have to try the crab benedict! I definitely recommend this hotel for a family vacation or a romantic weekend getaway. My husband and I are going to try and visit this summer and we can't wait!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifu,l but the rooms on the top floor have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Thank you. This is a very special review because the Bluenose Inn is obviously of great importance to your family. Thank you for choosing us for your wedding and all that has followed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jim Ash
General Manager/Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This August will be our eleventh year we have been going to this hotel and never tire of just relaxing and seeing beautiful Maine. There is always something different to do and this hotel is a great central location for driving out for a day (taking a picnic lunch prepared by the Looking Glass restaurant on sight) or just relaxing by the pool. We have experienced both buildings, we prefer the front overlooking Frenchman's Bay. Have never been disappointed with the service and friendliness of all the staff. EXCELLENT service. The general manager/owner (Jim Ash) always has a smile on his face and is a joy to talk too. Traveling a great deal to many places, I'll have to say this hotel is the #1 in our book, hence forth, an annual get away. The packages offered regardless of the time of year, is great. Never disappoints. Looking forward to August once again and the first night you will find us in the Great Room listening to the piano.

Room Tip: Mizzentop (front bldg.) The rooms are large, comfortable with a large bath, and the fireplace is alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJR0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We can't wait to have you back and thank you very much for this wonderful review of our property and service!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I took his parents to Bar Harbor for our annual Mother's Day weekend getaway. This is a trip we look forward to each year. We absolutely love spending the evening in the Great Room enjoying drinks and listening to their fabulous piano player, who can play absolutely anything at all! Our room was large and very comfortable, and we enjoyed sitting by the gas fireplace and looking out at the great view. We slept so well that we even approached the Manager/co-owner to see if he would sell us the bed! The staff is warm and friendly, and greeted us like long lost friends. If you enjoy an elegant, up-scale hotel that gives you warm and friendly service you will definitely enjoy the Bluenose

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finallyfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Well first of all, you ARE long lost friends! We are very grateful to have so many long term ,returning guests. We even have some who are bringing in their young children to continue the tradition with their families. It is very special to know you look forward to being here with your husband's parents every year.

We love Bill Trowell, our pianist. Bill has many devoted fans from all over the country who join us annually and it is like one big family.

Sorry we couldn't sell you that bed but we look forward to having you back to use it again soon! Have a wonderful summer and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others who are looking for a great place to vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent three nights here a few days ago and could not fault the place.
The first thing that hits you on arrival, is the warm welcome at reception. All staff during our stay went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Even the co-owner always took time to stop and ask how we were doing and seemed genuinely interested in his guests.
Our room was beautifully furnished and lacked nothing to make our stay comfortable but what made it exceptional, was the stunning view from the window. We have stayed in some beautiful hotels around the world but none has had a better view than this one.
To enjoy that same view each breakfast time too, from the Looking Glass Restaurant,was so special. In fact, we chose to dine each night in the hotel restaurant too because we didn't want to lose any opportunity to drink in that amazing view.
Food for both breakfast and dinner,was delicious. Little touches like a basket of warm bread,with rosemary-infused olive oil and blueberry butter, with our evening meals, just added to our enjoyment of dining there.
Sadly, the weather was not kind to us during our stay but that did give us the chance to swim in the lovely indoor pool and pretend we were lobsters in the hot tub!
What else can I say? Only that I defy anyone not to enjoy their stay at this hotel and not to totally fall in love with that stunning view.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2xscorpios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

How wonderful to hear what a great time you had with us on your trip. It is so good to know that despite the weather you had a relaxing and successful vacation with us. We agree that there is no comparison to the view from our hotel and the Looking Glass Restaurant. We don't take it for granted and enjoy it right along with our guests.

I sincerely hope that you will return and let us take care of you again. Your wonderful review is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £114 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing