We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Nice View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Clean, Nice View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a 3rd floor room in the building across from check in-very nice, clean, water view. It is technically a walk to town-there is a sidewalk on Route 3, but not if you have small children, are wearing heels, or are beat from hiking Acadia all day. The Wifi service was not great and no newspaper available until after we were off for the day, but overall a good place and we would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmmrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. We apologize for the weak WIFI signal but have since upgraded the entire system. You are correct if you have small children and/or heels that the walk downtown while not far can be cumbersome. We do have on site a stop for the complimentary Island Explorer bus.
Overall you said you liked the property and would return. We appreciate the endorsement and hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    236
    78
    31
    10
See reviews for
202
478
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very Nice overnight stay recently, friendly staff, amazing views, had a great AAA rate, only complaints lots of noisey kids running and walking by room window. Could use some updating, Bed seem to sink where our heads were lower than our feet ! Huh? Yeah I know, thats what I said too. Shower was good, complimentary coffee in lobby as well as building where stayed in and an in-room Keurig with K-Cups provided. A little dated but on site restaurant was good, view of Frenchman bay and ocean was really nice. I would come back, just won't rush back.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a quiet room and one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I am very proud that you found our staff friendly, the views amazing and enjoyed your stay. We are in the midst of upgrading the rooms to include the bedding. Glad to hear you enjoyed our amenities such as the Kuerig coffee machines. We are also happy that you dined at our restaurant that as you pointed out has great views of Frenchman Bay.
We hope that when your travel plans bring you back to Maine, you will once again consider the Bluenose. We look forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

From the first phone call to check last min. availability to the check out call - greeted by friendly, and professional employees. Beautiful setting, views and accommodation's. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent last minute getaway to the Bluenose Inn. I am honored that you found each member of our staff that you made contact with to be friendly and professional. I will certainly pass this along. I am glad to hear that you also found the setting to your liking as well as the views and accommodations as we feel we have one of the premier locations in Bar Harbor.
Above all, I am thrilled that you are looking forward to returning. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good location but unfortunately the omissions on the description sum it up for us.
The staff were friendly and helpful and extremely courteous.
The rooms have a wonderful view if you are booked into the mezzanine main part of the hotel but unfortunately, unknowingly, we were originally booked into one of the rooms in the block to the rear, most still have a good view but of only part of Frenchman's Bay and that is across the parking lot.
We were offered an upgrade at a very reasonable price but were disappointed we had to pay for something we thought we had originally booked for. The room was spacious and well maintained with an outstanding view over the bay albeit with the main road to Bar Harbor only 150 ft below.
We thought the inside pool and jacuzzi was excellent, but was unlit (twice) when we went in and there was no changing room as such, only the washrooms or a small room near the Sauna that had gym equipment left in the corner. This lead to some of the guests changing in their rooms and walking across the car park in their dressing gowns. Fine in the good weather but a non starter if it is raining or windy.
The outside pool is also only accessed via the car park, it is also well maintained, clean and inviting but, unfortunately, suffers with the main road on one side and the access drive to the hotel on the other so again quite noisy.
The restaurant, once again, is not part of the main hotel and is a 5 minute walk away, fine if the weather is good but not so inviting if it's raining. The food was exceptional and worth battling the elements if need be.
The pianist entertaining in the evening was superb and well worth the money unfortunately only a limited bar available is available.
All in all we felt the individual parts did not equate to the experience we had hoped for and we were left a little deflated.
We would probably not, therefore return again.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StingreyCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We do apologize for the confusion with the room types; this obviously should have been conveyed differently to you. but I am glad that you enjoyed the upgrade.
Regarding the amenities, the lights should have been on when you were in the building and for this we apologize. Likewise we do have a changing room but evidently this was not brought to your attention. I am happy that you enjoyed the indoor pool and whirlpool.
Glad to hear that you also enjoyed our pianist who has been with us 18 years playing every evening from 7-11 in season. I am also thrilled that you enjoyed the food in our Looking Glass restaurant and as evidenced by your comments worth the short walk. We also offer golf cart rides to and rom the restaurant.
In spite of some issues, I believe that for the most part you enjoyed the property and hope that should your travel plans include Maine in the future that you will give us another chance. Please contact me directly.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a very pleasant/quaint hotel with helpful and friendly staff. The room was huge with fantastic amenities. The decor is a bit old fashioned but its not run down it seems to be the look they have gone for. The hotel was very clean and tidy and in a great location, with Bar Harbor a short drive away. we stayed here in May it was a pretty quiet but i can imagine it is very busy in the summer months.
In short we were very happy with the hotel and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamien130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I am very pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and the property very clean. The décor obviously is a classic New England look and is subject to many opinions and I certainly respect yours.
Overall, I am extremely honored and proud that you would definitely stay with us again . We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Bluenose and could not be more pleased with a hotel, grounds, and staff than this place. The view is the best Bar Harbor has to offer, it is stunning! A really clean room, close to all the action, close to Acadia and restaurants. A lovely evening listening to the best piano music ever. Super nice staff!

Room Tip: If you want a view, this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose. I am thrilled that you found our staff to be super nice and that you stated Bill Trowell, our pianist of 18 years played the best piano music.
You commented on the grounds as well as the views that we concur are the best in Bar Harbor.
I hope that when you plan another trip from Florida that you will once again choose the Bluenose as part of your itinerary. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a great hotel! My husband & I spent a couple of nights here staying on the third floor of the Mizzentop section. We had an amazing view of Frenchman's Bay. Our room was huge with a gas fireplace which we didn't use because it was warm out.

The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with them.

In the evening there is gentleman by the name of Bill Tromwell who plays the grand piano. If you have any request Bill will play it for you. Bill has been coming to The Bluenose for 17 years and he plays every night from 7:00 PM -11:00 PM. What a great way to relax with a drink (they have a bar or there is free coffee or hot chocolate) before turning in for the evening. All of this is done in the magnificent great room.

We would stay there again the next time we visit Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor of the Mizzentop for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonandSheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your outstanding comments regarding your recent visit to the Bluenose Inn. I am most impressed with your comments about how friendly our staff is but also very happy that you enjoyed our oversized rooms in Mizzentop with private balconies and spectacular views..
I totally concur with your comments about our pianist of 18 years, Bill Trowell, who is a tremendous asset not only for the hotel but for the State of Maine. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Great Room so much listening to Bill.
You stated that the next time you visit Bar Harbor you will stay with us again. We truly appreciate the support and endorsement. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M./Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Property: Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing