We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The room was fine. Lovely view. Way too much money. Really dissapointed to pay $299 for this quality of room. With all the amenities on the property and the price I was expecting a very nice hotel. It was clean and well appointed but average is size layout and decor.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rkited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review for Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you were dissappointed in any way, however, I do want for you to know that we are very familiar with our local competition both in terms of facilities and pricing.

I hope that should you consider staying with us again in the future, which I certainly hope that you will, you will call our on site reservations desk to make sure that you are booking the perfect room for you, at the best price we can offer. There are quite a few different styles and price points for rooms on our property and we will do our very best to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Located on the top of a hill. Hotel property is pretty, very clean. Room is neat, older but kept well. Our room did have a tiny smell of dew but not bad. Staff is friendly! Piano bar area is nice with musician playing from 7pm-11pm at night while we stay there. No bad experience, weather was nice. Parking was plenty, would return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Run_ar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your good experience with us with other travelers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in the Great Room with Bill Trowell and that you were with us for some of this summers good weather.

I hope you also had the opportunity to enjoy dining at the Looking Glass and to experience some of our other amenities on the property such as the pools and spa.

We are thrilled to hear that you would return and certainly hope that you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were very lucky to get a room on a friday night. The room was very inviting. The pools and spa were extraordinary.I will be back. The staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you to a very kind lady I think her name was Jana for being so helpful to us.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angcpel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We look forward to seeing you again and are very happy to hear about how much you enjoyed your room, the pools and spa.

Jana is our Assistant General Manager and one of great assets. We appreciate you taking the time to share your good experience on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for one night while visiting the Bar Harbor area and Acadia National Park. The hotel is not in the main downtown area. The property is quite large. Rooms are much older but very clean. Service was friendly.

At night there is a pianist in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaDonnainDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor. It helps so much when our customers can let others know of their good experiences. We take great pride in the care of our guests and our facility. It is always nice to know when that is appreciated. It is also great to let folks know about our unique location. We have plenty of room to spread out in whether it be our large rooms or our expansive grounds which are over 19 acres total just blocks from the town of Bar Harbor. We hope that you will return to Bar Harbor and spend your vacation with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I visited Bar Harbor last weekend and can not say enough about our stay. I was hesitant about staying because the pictures on their website made the place look dated (think flowers). Once we arrived, all concern for the decor was gone when we took one look at the view! It really could not have been a better view, the checkin was a breeze, room was clean, they even had the old fashioned piano man playing in a very comfortable lounge (total throwback and totally enjoyable). We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room on the third and fourth floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetodineinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your sincere and thoughtful review of your stay with us. We pride ourselves on customer service and the special touches that create lasting memories for our guests.

It is great to hear that you discovered our pianist Bill Trowell. Bill is with us for his 18th year and there are many people who come to see us annually because he is here.

We never tire of the view and recognize how much it adds to the experience at the Bluenose.
Please come back to see us again soon. We look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Travel Down East we needed a place to land for a few days. After a long day driving around and deciding what to do we found the Blue Nose. The staff who helped us check in were great and got is a good room with a view. In fact we check in for just the night and decided the next day to extend our stay two more days! The sunrise was good (all though I don't have personal knowledge of it!) and the view of the bay was beautiful. The Blue Nose is within walking distance to most of the stuff in Bar Harbor but far enough away to be quiet. The local bus also makes trips from town to the Inn.

There was a funky bar where the guy playing piano was covering all sorts of hits from the 70s (turns out he has been there forever). The crowd was older (you could tell by the tray of reading glasses for people to use!). But was fun. Nothing like a little "Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round the Old Oak Tree" by some dude playing the piano to get your blood flowing! We were starving after a long driving day and at at the bar. Finger food but did the trick. The bartender was attentive and we had a nice chat with the hotel manager.

In town we discovered 2 Cats for breakfast (wow!) and went for breakfast twice. We had pizza at Rosalie's and Mexican food at Gringo's. All delish.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank jimscantlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your good experience with others on Tripadvisor. You discovered many of the special qualities about our property that make us unique and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it. We are away from the crowd yet within walking distance to town, the best views by many accounts in town, a fabulous restaurant, shuttle service, and of course the nightly entertainment by pianist Bill Trowell.

I sincerely hope that you will return to Bar Harbor and choose us again. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I live in the deep south, but have family in Maine and look forward to a short trip to Bar Harbor every time I come up to visit. I've stayed at the Bluenose Inn three times now in two years, twice with my husband and once with my son. Each time, the experience has been very pleasant, the room always clean and comfortable, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We were even able to buy our Acadia pass at the front desk, which saved a step at the park! I always look forward to breakfast in the Looking Glass Restaurant overlooking Frenchmen's Bay. We have always stayed in the building across from the pool, but I think next time, I will have to stay in the Mizzentop Building! My husband enjoyed the piano player, and I enjoyed sitting outside, enjoying the beautiful July weather! I loved having the in-room Keurig with assorted K-cups and the mini-frig. Yes, I would/will stay at the Bluenose Inn again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhonda423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitality04609, General Manager at Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

It is always wonderful to hear from our guests who come back year after year. It is the long term relationships we build that make our jobs so rewarding. I think you would love the Mizzentop and encourage you to call us to learn more about the individual features available in those rooms when you are ready to plan your next trip. Many of those rooms feature gas fireplaces and some have a separate sitting room in addition to a private balcony.

I hope you will make sure that we meet in person on your next visit if we haven't already. We enjoy all of the familiar faces that return annually and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel

Address: 90 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1123
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £121 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluenose Inn is a AAA rated hotel, an elegant immaculate treasure featuring breathtaking views of Frenchman Bay. Set atop a magnificent granite-terraced hillside, the hotel is one of the most beautiful spots on the Atlantic. 97 Classically appointed rooms located in our two buildings. Dining in The Looking Glass with panoramic views, cocktails in the magnificent Great Room, heated indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,steam room, spa & complete fitness center and wi-fi throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel - Bluenose Bar Harbor
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing