We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Quaint, Country Cottages. Pets welcomed!...Get your Lobsters ready!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Llangolan Inn & Cottages
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We stayed in cottage 3 for one night, the only one available, which is common availability, especially if you book only days ahead. The reason why we booked…dogs! They were very well welcomed and encouraged to be part of the ever-changing cottage community that is around. The cottages are situated in a half circle facing the main house which is the B&B (no pets) with a big grassy area in the middle. Behind the cottages and across the street (not the main highway) is a small apple orchard that your pets are able to do their business and sniff out wild creature smells in, VERY NICE!! I can for once let my dogs run around and sniff in a yard area instead of a strip of grass next to the road or parking lot! Also, up that same road is…the ocean!! It’s about ¼ mile very nice quaint and quiet bay.

So about the actual stay… as I said we stayed in cottage 3, room for 4 people. Four people would fit comfortably in there. One queen bed in the main room with kitchenette and table and a separate room with two twin beds with access to the bathroom from both rooms (it is a bit of a squeeze around the bed to get into the bathroom, but its fine.) The cottage is exactly as pictured with a cute front porch that is so nice to sit on and mingle with other visitors and soak up the cool night breeze or warm morning sun. It was clean and offered dish soap and sponge and amenities. The cabins themselves are antique, very nice to stay in, they compliment the surrounding area.

Peter checked us in…very nice and welcoming. It took about 10 minutes to check in just because we were talking about all of the stuff to do. He offered to warm the lobster pot up(at no extra charge) if we wanted to bring back our own live lobsters instead of going to one of those you see along the highway. That was very welcoming and unexpected, but very Maine-like! He also told us of the ocean nearby for the dogs and the apple orchard. In the morning, we found him mingling with our neighbors, who are regulars. I found this very reassuring.

Some things you should know…air conditioning is not common in Maine….you’re in Down East Maine, a lot of New Hampshire doesn’t even have air conditioning. If you want something fancy, go stay at a Holiday Inn. Open your door and window, it’s called a crosswind. It will wisk the hot air out of your cabin and let in the fresh mid-summers night breeze. I felt totally safe with only the screen door securing the cabin at night. Occasionally the cat will try to get in, but he/she is friendly. This place is a country type of place on the outskirts of town. Think of it as camping, without all the bugs and your very own nice little bungalow with a shower. If you stay in the cabins, you do not get breakfast (again, not Holiday Inn) because you have a kitchenette. People come up to Bar Harbor to do outdoor activities and relax, not to be hustled by the city life.

We will/are booking again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LitlRed31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed in a cottage for 2. We found the cottage immaculate and the kitchenette was well-stocked with a small refrigerator, microwave, plates, utensils and pots and pans. The bed was comfortable and the room was large enough for the 2 of us. Although our cabin was closest one to the road, traffic quieted down at night and we were not disturbed, even with the windows open. The owners were friendly and, as long-time residents of the area, gave good tips for restaurants. More importantly, they knew and shared a lot of the history of Bar Harbor. They kindly extended the check-out time by an hour for us. If you want to stay in the town of Bar Harbor itself, then the location of the Llangolan would be a downside because it is located several miles from the town. For us this was not a problem and actually an asset. The area tourist bus stopped very close to the Llangolan so you would not have to drive to town. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghostwriter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed in the B & B. Let me start with the positive that the bed was very comfortable. The rooms were decorated very quaint and charming. The sign in the room said only housekeeping that will be done is changing towels and emptying trash cans. This was not done. The breakfast was sufficient, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins, english muffins, etc. The rooms are not air conditioned. Each room had a ceiling fan but it was still warm at night and my husband was not comfortable sleeping. The owners were not accessible. I've stayed in other B & B's and the owners were always very friendly and sociable with their guests. We were the only guest the first night. The 2nd night another couple checked in. For the price it was fine but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHSLevittown_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. I booked the property directly with Peter over the phone after reading the reviews here and was able to secure the cottage of my choice. We stayed in the two room queen bed cottage, (which is one large room with the bathroom in the middle and a small hallway along the outside of the bathroom along the windows, technically making it "two rooms.") I love staying in cabins, and this one was charming. The place was spotless, the shower pressure and hot water quantity excellent, and the heater in the bedroom was very efficient and chased away the chilly air quickly. The kitchenette was fully stocked with supplies (toaster oven, hot plate, coffee pot -with filters!, microwave, dishes, silverware, pots and pans, wine opener, can opener, pitcher, large bowl, etc.) Towels can be changed daily and the trash was removed daily. The unit we were in also had a tv with basic cable and a DVD player, which was a lovely and unexpected bonus. The floors throughout are linoleum, which is a bit chilly in the fall, and the floor in our cabin did slope towards the front left corner, but these are hardly defects in my opinion. For the price, this place is a steal. Sure, you're about 4 miles outside Bar Harbor, but that makes it easier to get to Town Hill (location of the Atlantic Brewing Company and Town Hill Bistro & Wine & Cheese shop) and in the early fall things are much less crowded so parking for us (even on Friday and Saturday night) was not the challenge I imagine it to be in high season. When we arrived, we were slightly concerned about the location directly along Rte 3 (the main road into Bar Harbor) but traffic drops off drasically after 9:30 at night and it was easy to sleep. As a bonus, it's diagonally across the street from the Winery where they offer tastings, which was a fun activity on one of our rainy afternoons. This is a great deal for anyone who is budget conscious but likes a quality establishment, and I would definitely recommend it to friends and stay here again myself.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank koconnor20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed at this property for 3 nights. I tried to book a multiroom cottage for the group a month before we traveled, but was told no availability, so I decided to book 2 smaller cottages instead.

The cottages were clean, adequate in size for the number of people in our group, have plentiful supply of towels, the kitchen was nice so we made our breakfast every morning we were there. The lady (hotel owner, I think) was very nice, friendly, and helpful with local information.

The shuttle bus stoped right at the conner in front of our cottages, so we did not even bother to drive for the 2 full days we were there; the buses were comfortable and convenient for sightseeing at various locations in the National Park and downtown Bar Harbor, without having to worry about where to park, especially in downtown BH where parking spaces seem to be very limited.

The futon in one of the cottages we stayed (that supposed to hold 3 people) has no bed linens (sheets and comforter/blanket) on it. We thought it should have these provided since I booked it for 3 people. We did not ask for it becasue we brought our own in case of this. There are 2 additional pillows though in the cottage.

Our overall experience was good with this hotel. The thing we did not like is the noise from the highway. But we were tired from the daytime activities and slept ok the 2nd and 3rd night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 1st_Time_in_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

This property consists of the owner's home, which is also a B & B, and 7 cottages. When I called to inquire about availability, I wanted 4 nights. The owner, Peter, had availability in one cottage for 3 nights and then he could move us to another cottage for the 4th night. Since we were late making reservations for high tourist season, and I had already made other phone calls only to find out places were full, we decided to take it.

The cottage (#2) was clean and cosy. For 4 people it was quite small, but adequate. When we moved to cottage #3 on the 4th night, it was quite a bit larger. We wished we had been in cottage #3 the entire time, but still we were pleased overall.

Peter and his wife were very helpful with suggestions about getting around the island, where to dine, and what to do. He even moved our things from cottage #2 to #3 since we were already off on a hike for the day.

Although this property is not right in Bar Harbor where much more activity goes on, it is a short ride on the bus into town.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bargainhunter_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We decided very late to spend the 4th of July weekend in Bar Harbor,ME just 2 weeks before the weekend. After hundreds of searches, reviews and phone calls, we were fortunate to get the last available cottage at the Llangolan and that too for only one night, luckily the 4th.
The cottage was very spacious for 3 adults, very clean and we could not have asked for more amenities even in four star hotels - it had a kitchenette with microwave, fridge, oven, cutlery etc. All the supplies were plentiful, towels, sheets or pillows.
Add a very pleasant and knowledgeable host and a price tag of $100 a night on the 4th of July for the cottage, we know it was a steal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eurovisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
6.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
6 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bay Meadow Cottages
Bay Meadow Cottages
#7 of 22 in Bar Harbor
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
5.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llangolan Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangolan Inn & Cottages

Address: 865 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7233
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £36 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lawns and an apple orchard, the Llangolan Inn & Cottages offer a refreshing and relaxing atmosphere with lots of room for the children to play. Located on Route 3, four miles from the entrance to Acadia National Park, six miles from the ferry to Nova Scotia and seven miles from downtown Bar Harbor, we are close to all activities, yet away from the crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Llangolan Inn & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing