We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant. Our guide was great and very patient.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia Mountain Guides Climbing School

Acadia Mountain Guides Climbing School
Ranked #1 of 42 Tours in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tradition of excellence. Featured in Outside Magazine, the Boston Globe, Downeast Magazine, National Geographic Adventure and on Bill Green's Maine, CBS, Maine PBS among many others. Experience a half-day or full day climb with Maine’s original and most respected climbing school. Acadia Mountain Guides is one of the most sought out leaders of climbing instruction and guide education in the US. We specialize in designing unique, personalized climbing experiences for all ages and abilities on the scenic shores of Acadia and throughout Maine! Join us for a healthy and fun activity that is guaranteed to be a highlight of your vacation.All equipment is provided. Unlike other local seasonal climbing services, guiding is our profession! We guide year round on rock, snow, and ice. 100% of our staff are independently trained and certified above national guiding and medical standards set by the American Mountain Guides Association and the Professional Climbing Instructors Association. AMGCS has the distinction of being the only school in Maine to be dually accredited by both the AMGA and the PCIA. AMG has been under the same consistent ownership since opening in 1993. The owner, Jon Tierney, began guiding in 1983 in Acadia and is one of a handful of Americans to earn the International Federation of Mountain Guides Association (IFMGA) guide license. The IFMGA license is the PhD of guiding and requires full AMGA certification as a rock, alpine and ski mountaineering guide. We look forward to meeting you on the rocks!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant. Our guide was great and very patient.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very good guide. Two kids reasonably experienced climbers, one a relative novice. Mike was patient and attentive with all so they were all engaged throughout.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    7
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
“Climbing in the rain.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My son and I spent the day with Mark, climbing rock faces above the water, of various degrees of difficulty. It was raining lightly, which turned out to be a plus. We didn't get brutalized by the sun!

Mark was very safety and process oriented, which is very important in climbing with novices like my son and me. He was very knowledgeable about the equipment, and we felt very comfortable working with him.

I highly recommend using Acadia Mountain Guides Climbing School.

Jeff and Trey

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding climbing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Took the family (kids - 6, 9 & 11) for a half day climb near Thunder Hole. All of us were novice climbers and our guide Dick was great - helpful, patient and really educated us on climbing and the area. We all had a complete blast and highly recommend Acadia Mountain Guides.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CVL1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
“Highlight of our vacation ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a terrific family climb with Dick Chasse and AMG! We easily rescheduled the climb during our stay, due to weather, and ended up climbing the last day of our vacation. We scored big having Dick as our guide. From the outset, he was an excellent teacher - attentive, informative and focused on safety. We climbed on the cliffs in close proximity to Thunder Hole on a gorgeous morning in the park. Dick had everyone climbing and belaying - the kids "crushed it" with his guidance, and my husband and I also enjoyed the challenge and the thrill. Will do it again, for sure.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank EADxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith, New Hampshire
1 review
“wonderful guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The guides are very knowledgeable, and were great with encouraging our children. We went for half a day, but would recommend a full day.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank groknull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acadia Mountain Guides Climbing School also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Acadia Mountain Guides Climbing School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing