We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay for business travel in area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boston Marriott Quincy
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay for business travel in area”
Reviewed 12 February 2008

I had a client appointment in Quincy Mass and decided to stay in the area the night before because Boston area traffic is very unpredictable on week day mornings.
The hotel itself is a bit difficult to find due to the layout of the roads but if you have something like VZ Navigator, you will get there without a problem. Watch out for New England potholes because there are plenty to avoid.
Once you reach the Marriott, it is very nice, very updated. The staff is very hospitable, approachable and helpful. One very funny moment occured when I walked into the lobby to check in - a porter spoke very loud and aminated; "Welcome Back !! - we are so glad to see you again!!!" Abit overzealous to be sure and we both knew I had never been there before. Obviously, this man took his customer service training very seriously.
Dinner in the restaurant and drinks in the bar were both great, atmosphere was nice and not rushed although the place was busy. The room had all the standards, was very spoacious, comfortable and clean. This is a great place for the business traveller, its not for vacation, there is nothing around to be sure, but I think you can be assured a very comfortable stay.

  • Disliked — Hard to find -- and the potholes !!!!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NashuaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    342
    116
    37
    32
See reviews for
216
166
49
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

Stayed here in December 2007. Hotel was lovely, rooms exceptionally large, good value for money. This hotel is situated on a very steep hill approx 1/2 mile from the train station but there was a complimentary bus, had to walk back though or get a taxi.

Too far out from the city if you are here to shop. We spent a fortune on taxis. Shoppers, stay in the city, might be dearer to book initially, but cheaper when you factor in taxi costs ($12 dollars plus tip from Quincy Central), Quincy Adams (nearest station)is in the middle of nowhere, so no taxis to be found. In fact this hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

In short if you are boked in here for a wedding or business trip its lovely but for sightseeing or shopping its not for you.

  • Liked — Fabulous Beds
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We were in town for a convention - we flew and didn't have a car. The hotel is great. The restaurant and bar are wonderful. The only thing that was inconvenient was the T station (for the red line). It was quite a walk. I know there's a complimentary shuttle, but if you stay in Boston too late, then you miss the shuttle and either have to hoof it back to the hotel (all uphill) or call a cab.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satacelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

This hotel was a great weekend retreat. We checked in early without a problem. The room was great with a squishy fluffy bed. The pool here is a lap pool and the exercise room is really fantastic and open 24 hours. The whirlpool next to the pool is relaxing, but is an odd design that is hard to get comfortable in. We went to a party in the ballroom that was very nice. All of the staff were great. We had breakfast served to the room and it arrived promptly. The front desk was accomodating with a late checkout. All in all, a problem free weekend retreat.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — The location is tough if you plan on visiting Boston.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynniemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

Hotel is almost new and it was packed. They were hosting some sort of Realtor event and the bar and lounge were full. I stayed for two nights and everything was very nice. New rooms were good size, bedding was real soft, probably too soft for me but that's a personal taste. Bathroom was clean and in good condition.

I had one meal in the restaurant and another in the bar area. Both meals were excellent. Some have complained of the restaurants being pricey, but I didn't notice anything too far out of the ordinary. The snacks, food, desserts available in the Concierge Lounge were not very impressive as compared to the Sheraton in Braintree that I've stayed at down the road, but it was ok.

I did not try the pool or workout facilities so cannot comment. I will try them next time. The shuttle worked fine for me getting to/from our office in the adjacent office park and the T station located nearby. Give yourself a little extra time waiting for the shuttle and you should be fine.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Quincy Marriott is a perfectly good hotel, a newer building with nice rooms and good service. However, the location is pretty odd on top of a hill in a business part. Not much to do around the hotel, you need to take a taxi everywhere. Shuttle to the T is not really user-friendly, I always just walked down the hill to the station. Coming back I walked or called the hotel to get me a cab.

Even though the rooms are nice, they are poorly insulated and you can hear everything from the neighbouring rooms. Beds are also very soft.

Gym is nice and the pool area looks great also. The restaurant is OK, but quite expensive, the pub side is a little more affordable.

I sent some clothing to the laundry and the list of garments is not up-to-date, e.g. jeans are not listed. I tried to write jeans and khakis in the bottom of the laundry section, but they had been dry-cleaned as pants. It might be a great idea to update the list a bit, it is 2007 after all.

  • Liked — Newer construction with spacious rooms and bathrooms
  • Disliked — Poor insulation between the rooms, soft beds, shuttle service to the T not sufficient
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelling_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver isl. canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

we stayed at the marriott quincy for one week.
UPSIDE
it is a newer hotel with exceptionally fast check in, about 1 minute.the lobbey is very nicely decorated and includes a free business center with email, printer, fax...
the pub had very good food at reasonable prices and the service was quick.
the pool and fitness center were clean and never overcrowded.
the room was clean and had all the expected ammenities.
the maid service was always very good and they had no problem accomodating the varying times we left the room in the mornings.the beds were VERY comfortable.
very good value for the money as it is way too expensive to stay anywhere downtown. (but they will get it back from you if you spend any time at their bar!)
DOWNSIDE
the drinks in the pub and lounge cost about two to three times as much as anywhere else in boston. a single highball with tip will cost you about $11
the hotel is located about 30 minutes train ride from the center of boston. i chose this hotel in spite of it's location as they advertised a free shuttle to the T station and i found out that you can buy a charly (T) pass for one week for $15 which is an amazing value.the first morning we asked about the shuttle and were told it had just left and opperates on the hour. so we walked the 10-15 minutes easy downhill to the station. the next morning, we showed up in the lobby at about 10:55 and waited.....
finally at about 11:20, the driver showed up and drove us to the T. not a big deal, but the trains are about every 20 minutes, so the delays can add up.the next morning, we showed up in the lobby at about 10:55 and waited....finally at about 11:25 i went inside to ask and was told there would be no 11 o'clock shuttle as the driver was taking a break. in a nutshell, the shuttle was extrememly unreliable, but a taxi to the T is only about $5 so it's not the end of the world. just a little frustrating that they will let you sit there and wait when there is no shuttle service.
BOTTOM LINE
marriott quincy is a very nice hotel, just don't expect a ride anywhere on their shuttle.

  • Liked — the rates and the room
  • Disliked — location and lack of advertised shuttle service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cjcuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
3.8 mi away
Best Western Adams Inn Quincy-Boston
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Quincy
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
1.1 mi away
Beantown Inn
Beantown Inn
#4 of 7 in Braintree
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Quincy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Quincy

Property: Boston Marriott Quincy
Address: 1000 Marriot Dr, Quincy, MA 02169-0940
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Quincy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Quincy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Quincy, MA, this hotel offers access to Boston, Plymouth and Cape Cod. Features 464 hotel rooms, a pool and health club, and on-site restaurants including Kilroy's Irish Pub and Hancock's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boston Marriott Quincy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Quincy Hotel Quincy
Marriott Quincy
Quincy Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing