We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice ship”
Review of USS Pampanito

USS Pampanito
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
San Francisco Wharf and Waterfront Segway Tour
Ranked #48 of 542 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World War II submarine docked at Pier 45.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Level Contributor
176 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very nice ship”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very interesting tour of a WW2 sub. As an old Navy guy, I'm always interested in these ships from WW@. What these "greatest generation" sailors did was amazing. Although this sub only did one combat tour it is a great example of what these submariners did for us. Nice exhibit !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigjake392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    210
    58
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good way to spend an hour”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Nice Exhibit, Very Interesting. And I thought quite a resonable price. Seeing the living conditions that the sailors had to endure is quite eye opening. And I loved the torpedo loading rooms at the front and back. Overall very ineresting and good value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Under the Waves”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

I wondered how much I would get to see on this sub. I was pleasantly surprised that they had opened up most of the upper deck so you can move right from one end of the boat to the other. Carefully stepping through hatchways to get there. Seeing the minute conditions lived in and the tide rocking the vessel slightly as you move through, gives a real sense of how the sailors would've lived. The memorial outside is also worth noting to understand the risk and sacrifice of the crews of WW2 subs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeeWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

You step back in time as you take this self-guided tour aboard a WW-2 submarine that is docked alongside the wharf. You get to walk around the inside of the sub at your own leisure while exploring the various compartments. You also have a better appreciation for the men that served on this sub while touring the engine room, the torpedo area, bunk area and the kitchen. Ah yes, there is also the smell of oil that is forever embedded into the sub. Be sure to pay the $3.00 more for headphones, which gives you a personal tour as voiced by those men that served on the sub. Most importantly, the price of admission for this memorial helps to fund the up-keep in memory of those that served. This was my second time taking the tour and I'd take it again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana
Level Contributor
356 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

this is located at the Fishermans Wharf. Ticket price is 25$ which i think is expensive. nothing much inside but if you are a fan of World War II stuff, you will probably love this. Torpedoes, depth charges , Guns. if you have never seen a submarine, Do It.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharnjit_Sondh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to USS Pampanito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing