We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for Golden Gate Bridge pictures”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of China Beach

China Beach
Ranked #133 of 527 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Sea Cliff neighborhood of San Francisco outside the Golden Gate, this cove is tucked between Baker Beach & Land's End. Offering spectacular views of Marin Headlands and The Golden Gate this cove of sand is good place for sunbathing, play spot for children and a picnic. Observe the monument to the Chinese fishermen and early residents who camped and anchored in the cove.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
246 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great place for Golden Gate Bridge pictures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a great place to go for a nice view of the Golden Gate Bridge and for some great photos. This beach is located in a residential area. The water is definitely cool. I found that the beach was not crowded when I visited.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCaliKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and awe-inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We found ourselves at China Beach by accident. What a happy accident! It is a secluded beach with few visitors (possibly mostly native San Franciscans & local surfers) that is raw nature at its best. The view of the Marin County mountains (hey, I'm from New York..those are mountains!) will take your breath away. It made me proud to be from this great and beautiful nation! (See how awe inspired I am?) My son went into the cold water and the photos made his effort so worth it. Don't miss it! Also, you better be in shape to climb those stairs up from the beach--I sure wasn't!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

It's San Francisco and there's no way to a beach there don't be beautiful even the weather doesn't help sometimes. The views of the bay are amazing and I was able to see some dolphins and sea lions. It was very cool!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pricyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Secluded and quiet retreat with views of Golden Gate Bridge.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

It's less known and uncrowded beach west of the GGB. There's even a facilities building though I didn't go in.

Good picnic spot. Waves are strong and beach is not long... a tiny respite along rocky coast. We saw 2 men swimming but there was no lifeguard... so its not recommended.

It's not wheelchair accessible, there's several steep steps to the beach

Helpful?
1 Thank lv_roadtrip_4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Very small rocky beach with a great view of golden gate bridge. We had fun finding it in a neighborhood. Enjoyed the view for 30-45 mins just relaxing and talking. Not much to it and not impressive if you want a grand gesture, completely different from ocean beach.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kngChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Beach also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to China Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing