We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as I expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Painted Ladies

Painted Ladies
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
San Francisco Experience - City Tour
Ranked #70 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A famous stretch of colorful Victorian-style house.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Not a must see, its definitely not like what you see in pictures. Went out of our way to see them, we were a bit disappointed. They need a facelift, they are looking a bit rundown. Not worth the trek if you're not nearby

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynseyb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    414
    294
    53
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The houses need a facelift, as they are looking rather rundown. Two of the houses are wrapped in scaffolding, so it kind of ruins the view. I was expecting them to look like the pictures, but they really did not. It was worth a drive-by, but nothing worth stopping for.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rcr2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abita Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Part of television trivia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you know the Painted Ladies, then you grew up watching the television series, "Full House". as this was the backdrop for program. This was a must see for my wife and we had to drive around the park several times before we could find a place to park. It was a little disappointing as the houses were undergoing some renovations. My wife still got great photos and another attraction added to our bucket list. If you are into nostalgia, this is a place to see. Stroll through the small park and take in the view of all the beautiful houses.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a must”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

middle of nowhere, not much around in terms of options to refill drink/snack. nothing else around to visit.

if you are limited on time skip altogehter. Bored and passing thru, stop by.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chschiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice park as well as the houses to look at”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We didn't find these very easily, but when we did it was what was expected.
The park is nice to walk through and the neighbourhood is typical of this style.
One of the houses was undergoing renovations whilst we were there.
It's a popular spot, with a lot of people taking pictures, sitting eating or reading in the park and generally relaxing!
A nice spot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Painted Ladies also viewed

 

Been to Painted Ladies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing