We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic "must do"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cable Cars

Cable Cars
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour on a Classic Cable Car
Ranked #11 of 527 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1873, cable cars have run up and down the hilly city, though after the 1950s, these cars have been kept in operation more out of historic nostalgia. Seventeen miles of track remain and have been deemed a historical landmark.
Olstykke, Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Classic "must do"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is one of the things you have to do in SF - ride the cable car. Even though the price of 6 USD per person for a single fare is quite expensive, it is a "must do". Try to stand at the rear platform for a better experience and aviod to stay inside the car, as the view is not as good from their.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,883
    4,265
    1,618
    410
    301
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
245 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I suppose you have to ride a cable car on your first visit to San Francisco. It was quite an experience. We rode the Powell St. line from the Wharf area to Market Street and back ($6.00 per person each way). We waited to get on for about 20 minutes on the uphill ride and the car was incredibly packed with other tourists when it started - standing room only. I was, therefore, amazed when they began to make stops to allow other passengers onto the car. Tourists were jumping on and off and hanging off the sides. I couldn't see anything with all of the people in the aisles. The return trip was much more sedate. We didn't have to wait and got seats in the very front of the car so we were able to see more. We almost lost one passenger when he stepped off into oncoming traffic though. I enjoyed the experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyo62003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“When in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

If you are on your first visit to San Francisco then this has to be done. It is part of the history of the city and a good experience. All credit to the city for keeping them running

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun ride!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I took the cable car to the top of Lombard street. Most of the cars were pretty full. I rode inside, but there were some spots holding onto the side. At times it was a tight squeeze-I wouldn't do it! You have to do it once.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Piece of History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We enjoyed riding along the steep and narrow streets of San Francisco via "Cable Cars". It was a really neat experience for our family to enjoy. A couple of our boys were able to ride on the edge while standing and holding onto the side bar, which they loved. We purchased the day pass for all forms of transportation which was costly for a family of six. However, with the passes we were able to navigate through San Francisco to many different attractions without the headache of driving. We did wait in a long line to ride the cars and at one point it was very crowded inside the car. Also, cars would pull up and everyone would be excited thinking we were ready to board, only to be disappointed because the car was being parked so the driver could get out and take a break. I understand that they need breaks too, I just think the set up for that should be different. Was a little irritated when I noticed a large number of people who boarded and never had their passes checked, considering how much we paid for ours. All this aside the cable cars are a piece of San Francisco history and it was very cool to ride them. Another good point - the driver did allow us to stand on the empty car to take pictures which was awesome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HavinLotsOfFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cable Cars also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cable Cars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing