We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful view of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wave Organ

The Wave Organ
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful view of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Only really accessible via bicycle. We went there as it's featured in tales of the city. Very calming place and lovely views. The waves weren't high enough to make the organ play but it's still worth having a look

Helpful?
1 Thank ollymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    13
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Keene, KY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Sounds like a bathtub drain”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We went an hour before high tide and all you could hear is gurgling if you held your ear to the pipe. We parked in the public lot by the Yacht Club and walked, but if you choose to go, you can drive almost all the way there and park close by. No need to walk half a mile.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ManofBrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
226 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“quirky fun, but not really worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I love me some quirky attractions, so we sought out the Wave Organ since we were going to be at the Exploratorium and parked at the marina anyway. I'm not going to say I'm disappointed, but I thought I would hear more tonal-ish notes from the different pipes than just water sloshing around. Maybe we visited at the wrong time for the tide, and maybe I was just tired--we had done quite a lot of walking already that day, and this was quite a hike out to the end of the jetty, but still it's kinda fun, and I'm glad stuff like this exists, even if I didn't quite get it. Great views from there too, of Alcatraz and the beginnings of a sunset over the Golden Gate bridge.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pantsonfire99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one of the best views of the bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

check out the wave organ on the bay...easily accessible by city bus with great views of GG Bridge, Alcatraz. Fort Mason and the bay see photos and go ...you wont regret it

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank TimJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - with a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We love taking out of town visitors to the Wave Organ, particularly if they have young children. Located on a jetty that forms the small Boat Harbor in the Marina district of San Francisco, it is within walking distance from the Exploratorium, another fabulous attraction for kids ages 6-100. The jetty itself was constructed with material taken from a demolished cemetery, providing a wonderful assortment of carved granite and marble, which was used in the construction of this piece. The installation includes 25 organ pipes made of PVC and concrete located at various elevations within the site, allowing for the rise and fall of the tides. Sound is created by the impact of waves against the pipe ends and the subsequent movement of the water in and out of the pipes. The sound heard at the site is subtle, requiring visitors to become sensitized to its music, and at the same time to the music of the environment. The Wave Organ sounds best at high tide.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wave Organ also viewed

 

Been to The Wave Organ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing