We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Chinatown
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$48.00
More Info
from US$79.00
More Info
from US$58.00
More Info
Reviews (6,376)
Filter reviews
4,050 results
Traveller rating
1,404
1,475
821
239
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
1,475
821
239
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dim sum chinese food grant street the fortune cookie factory the dragon china towns chinese community cheap souvenirs ross alley shops selling t shirts for sale few blocks walk around walking tour cable car fisherman's wharf
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,050 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Nestled along Stockton & Grant, Chinatown is a must see if you are in the Bay Area. Expect to see multitudes of trinket shops, vegetable markets, butchers, fish mongers, and authentic chinese food. Spend at least a couple hours walking down the streets and visiting the shops along the way. It would be very easy to lose track of time and spend the entire day in Chinatown. Enjoy the adventure!

Thank ImportR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

Sprawling market, you will find a lot of Chinese folks around especially if you go during the weekend. Sells a lot of artistic stuff and serves a lot of food, though since I was a vegetarian, not much to choose from. Walked here from downtown. The Dragon gate is overrated though.

1  Thank DreamerDisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We walked around and looked in some of the stereotypic souvenir shops. We did not stop and eat. I'm still not sure what the draw is beyond it being the largest and oldest Chinatown in the country.

Thank ferriswheel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

There are so many restaurants and to pick 1 is hard, of course there are lots of hills so be warned, we spent 4 nights and 4 different restaurants and all were good value for money. Be warned they like to get you in and fed and out as quickly as they can, we only ordered one selection at a time that way we determined the time we wanted. The staff were all very polite and prompt.

1  Thank 236ras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

Walk from Union Square all the way to Grant Avenue--a great experience! The sights, the smells--peeking into the little markets. Do NOT attempt to drive on Grant Avenue as it is always congested--and you will not get the cultural flavor that you experience when you are walking. A truly unique journey to a different land--I've probably done this walk 200 times! Never gets old!

Thank corteanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

loads of restaurants from cafe style to very expensive and chic. the street are really fun with lanterns hanging everywhere. Worth a walk around if you can cope with the steep San Fran streets

Thank pdchamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My daughters and I enjoyed the bakery we stopped at, enjoyed the shops we visited, and LOVED getting off the beaten path. It was very enjoyable, almost like being in a foreign country. Almost, but not quite.

1  Thank 463leahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A quite average tour.
You won't miss a lot if you do not visit it..
You can find cheap gifts and souvenirs..

Thank Salma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

Chinatown was what I expected it to be and how it's been shown in movies. It was interesting to see how low tech the Golden Gate Fortune cookie Factory is, as well as checking out the stores, restaurants, and produce markets. I also had a personal interest in comparing it to what I saw when I visited China a year ago.

Thank planterjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The 70 Chinese community life style can be experience here. The old restaurant setting and traditional overseas Chinese business can be found here.

1  Thank Resort170882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews