We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great neighborhood, worth a walkabout” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Beach

North Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
North Beach Culinary Experience with Alcohol Pairing
Ranked #90 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Most of this neighborhood's former beatnik charm is retained while adding fine cuisine to its claim to fame.
NE USA
Level Contributor
324 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood, worth a walkabout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Fisherman's Wharf area so, we walked through the North Breach area several times. Take the Powell-Mason cable car through; walk Columbus Ave, sit in Washington Square park and people watch, take advantage of the Italian cafes and bakeries. We also took the bus when we went to Haight Ashbury area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    107
    15
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our city bus tour and had a late lunch. There are Italian cafés up and down the streets so look at menus and prices before you decide. We had lunch, walked it off, and then had coffee and desserts. Delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbuff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Best of San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

If possible, find a B&B in North Beach, put on your walking shoes and have the time of your life!!!!
A little known gem is the F trolley line. The cars are antiques from across the country and around the world. The line runs from Fisherman's Wharf, along the Embarcadero, past the Ferry Building and on to Market Street. Fare is $2.00, $.75 for seniors.
Washington Square is a good place to take a break. Watch the locals practice tai chi, take a stroll through Sts. Peter and Paul Church, Original Joe's is nice for a quiet dinner. Coit Tower is a short hike UP the hill.
A day long wine tour is most enjoyable. The return trip was from Sausalito by ferry.
We stopped at the Ferry Building Marketplace for cheese, fruit and a loaf of bread to go with our wine purchase. A nice way to end 4 days in San Francisco.
North Beach is approximately 30 Minutes from the airport by cab and the fare is in the $50 dollar range.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank Marytravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
925 reviews
508 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Lots of Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Take a nice walk and partake of the varieties of Italian food and deserts available. One option is to dine in Chinatown and have dessert in North Beach. This is a trendy neighborhood and a great place to visit. Put on your walking shoes, but know that there are city buses readily available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiketoeatCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenner, Louisiana
Level Contributor
416 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great area to visit as a part of your SF tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Take your time to stroll this area with it's unique residential area and shopping. Get on your walking shoes, as SF is a walking, not riding place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBernard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Beach also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing