We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in a pretty bad location”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #105 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Cova has a lot of strong positives, but its location is a big negative.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was great and the free breakfast was above average in a city where most hotels charge for breakfast. There is even an hourly shuttle service, although service to Fisherman's Warf is not frequent enough, making it difficult get a seat. The staff is trying very hard to offer a superior level of service, catering mostly to foreign tourists.
While the hotel is a short walk to Union Square or City Hall, you must walk past homeless people, massage parlors and an x-rated theater. One cab driver showed us the spot, just a block away, where he was mugged. The next night, there was a fatal shooting just one block in the other direction. After that incident, my daughter was afraid to leave the hotel on foot.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay except for the neighborhood. We booked the Cova with our eyes open, having seen warnings on Trip Advisor, but in fact the neighborhood was even more seedy than we expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor in the back of the hotel. It can get very noisy in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrotter186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cova for four nights and we really liked the Hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room spacious and the clean and breakfast had all you'd want (the self-made waffles are veeeeery popular ;-).
Nevertheless, the location of the hotel isn't the best: it's on the edge of a quarter where many homeless people live - the hotel staff even told us to bypass certain streets/blocks. If you travel with little children they'd might be affraid of the drunk beggars screaming around - and as women you don't want to go there by night. Nevertheless - if you bypass this quarter, you'll be at Union Square in 15minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra15983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Cova Hotel, a true diamond in the rough. Hotel is located within the tenderloin area, which is a little rough. Thankfully the Cova shuttle bus collects your through out the day and night, No need to walk the streets. Great spacious rooms which are nice and clean. Enjoyable breakfast on the top floor overlooking city. Staff members are great and friendly, A few bright stars to mention. To Cindy, Andrew and Jawad for a friendly smile and chats at breakfast. To Lotoya and Jason for great customer service and information at the front desk.
Mr Crave has great food and great prices, staff always super friendly and helpful. Big Thankyou Nolan who was alway great and alway was above and beyond.

From the Aussie downunder

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our five night stay at the Cova was great, the staff made it a very enjoyable stay as they were only to happy to talk to you and help with any questions you have about the area. The breakfast was great and the Mr Crave restraint was also great, we ate most of our meals there and the food was fresh and tasty. I would like to mention a few people that made our stay exceptional and fun comments to Mr Crave staff Jose H (Server), Mariza G.M, Ray ( Server), Luke
( Bartender ), Nolen ( Server ). Now to mention Latoya Bennett ( Guest Service Lead ) from the hotel she was exceptional and Alexander and Dawar were also very friendly and always willing to help as were all the staff in the breakfast area. I hope this review gets to the right people as I would like the boss to know the staff that are doing an exceptional job.
Thanks Everyone
Michelle Cornelius
Australia

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Plenty of reviewers have mentioned it, the location isn't the best. It's in the tenderloin area which is the area where the homeless hang out. But that is because there is a church there that feeds them three time a day. FYI the Hilton hotel backs onto the street. They are homeless and the three days we were here they didn't hassle us once and we walked to union square each day. If you are concerned the hotel has a shuttle to take u to union square or fisherman s wharf, problem solved. The hotel is modern, clean, secure and safe. Free breakfast, wifi and we even got two free harbour cruises thrown in with the online company we booked it with. The staff are friendly and helpful and gave us complimentary drink vouchers for eating at the adjoining restaurant. A great hotel within walking distance to union square, BART, F Line, restaurants etc.
There is even a laundry on the corner. Please don't be put off by bad reviews out the location.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We read the reviews on here about the hotel and the only bad points seemed to be the location. Although I was a bit apprehensive I booked it anyway. So glad we did. It was excellent. No complaints at all, big rooms, spacious bathrooms and a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Reception staff were all really helpful.

Security is tight, no one can get passed reception without a room key and after 10pm you need a room key to get in the main door. There is a few blocks that they advise you to avoid simply due to a couple of homeless shelters in that area. So we avoided that area! Problem solved.

The free shuttle bus is a great service, didn't use the car once, We used the shuttle a couple of times and walked everywhere, there are a fair few homeless in San Francisco, but no more around this hotel than anywhere else. Car parking is on site ($32 a day - June 2013) this is run a by a private company. Small convenience store is on one corner and a laundrette is on the other.

We stayed three nights. Great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiveMonkeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel has very spacious bathrooms! The room I stayed in was also good. The hotel is clean and well maintained. You know you're secured because you need to swipe your hotel card to get the elevator moving. They have complimentary breakfast which was nice. A small gym is also available for use by guests. Valet parking wasn't so bad - $27 for 1 day compared to the $40 I paid at the Executive Hotel Vintage Court in San Francisco. They have free shuttle service to Pier 39 and Union Square. My advise, take advantage of the shuttle service to Union Square. DO NOT WALK from Cova Hotel to Union Square. I walked instead of asking to be dropped off by the shuttle service thinking I would get a good glimpse of the city. This was such a big mistake! It was a scary walk from the hotel to Union Square - too many suspicious people looking at you. On top of that, the streets were just of foul smell! I may book this hotel again, but definitely not walk around this part of the city!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
1,418 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
809 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 230 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £83 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing