We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, despite the bad neighborhood”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #101 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My partner and I came to SF for a first time visit. We stayed at the Cova Hotel, which is located pretty much in the heart of the city. We have friends who are avid travelers and when we told them about the location they warned us to be careful, as apparently, the Tenderloin District (where the hotel is located) is one of the worst in the city. Fortunately for us their fears were unfounded, as we had an amazing time and will definitely be back! The Hotel experience was wonderful, our rooms were clean, free breakfast and warm, and friendly staff. A particular fellow named Jason really stood out. Jason gave us tips on the city's hot spots (non-touristy hotspots as well as must see tourists spots off the beaten path), he also gave us a ride to Fisherman's Wharf and advised us on the best and most economical places to eat. We ended up saving money by staying at Cova in lieu of the pricier hotels and yet we still received five star service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheMITgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed at the Cova for a long weekend. Lovely hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Large room, well equipped and excellent standard of daily housekeeping. Good breakfast for free especially fruit and other fresh items. But only go if you can cope with the rough neighbourhood and don't complain when you get there.

Small things would make it even better. Mirror in the main room. Mugs not cups. Larger glasses. Fridge. Change the motion sensitive bathroom light switch to stop being plunged into darkness when taking a shower!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Father Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

First off... Don't stress. We hit the panic button as soon as we arrived realising the area we were in..
We chose to walk to the hotel from the train station all the way up Ellis st.. Wouldn't recommend doing that, as the area is unfortunately fairly sketchy.
But we thought the hotel itself was great and majority of staff were awesome, and always helpful especially at recommending places. Also they helped us a lot with booking hop on hop off tours airport shuttles etc..
Rooms were nice, and also clean.
We used the complimentary shuttle a lot, but cab rides from union square to the hotel were roughly $8 depending on traffic.
Complimentary continental breakfast was also good, quite a few options.
Overall I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Cova has a lot of strong positives, but its location is a big negative.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was great and the free breakfast was above average in a city where most hotels charge for breakfast. There is even an hourly shuttle service, although service to Fisherman's Warf is not frequent enough, making it difficult get a seat. The staff is trying very hard to offer a superior level of service, catering mostly to foreign tourists.
While the hotel is a short walk to Union Square or City Hall, you must walk past homeless people, massage parlors and an x-rated theater. One cab driver showed us the spot, just a block away, where he was mugged. The next night, there was a fatal shooting just one block in the other direction. After that incident, my daughter was afraid to leave the hotel on foot.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay except for the neighborhood. We booked the Cova with our eyes open, having seen warnings on Trip Advisor, but in fact the neighborhood was even more seedy than we expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor in the back of the hotel. It can get very noisy in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrotter186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cova for four nights and we really liked the Hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room spacious and the clean and breakfast had all you'd want (the self-made waffles are veeeeery popular ;-).
Nevertheless, the location of the hotel isn't the best: it's on the edge of a quarter where many homeless people live - the hotel staff even told us to bypass certain streets/blocks. If you travel with little children they'd might be affraid of the drunk beggars screaming around - and as women you don't want to go there by night. Nevertheless - if you bypass this quarter, you'll be at Union Square in 15minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra15983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Cova Hotel, a true diamond in the rough. Hotel is located within the tenderloin area, which is a little rough. Thankfully the Cova shuttle bus collects your through out the day and night, No need to walk the streets. Great spacious rooms which are nice and clean. Enjoyable breakfast on the top floor overlooking city. Staff members are great and friendly, A few bright stars to mention. To Cindy, Andrew and Jawad for a friendly smile and chats at breakfast. To Lotoya and Jason for great customer service and information at the front desk.
Mr Crave has great food and great prices, staff always super friendly and helpful. Big Thankyou Nolan who was alway great and alway was above and beyond.

From the Aussie downunder

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our five night stay at the Cova was great, the staff made it a very enjoyable stay as they were only to happy to talk to you and help with any questions you have about the area. The breakfast was great and the Mr Crave restraint was also great, we ate most of our meals there and the food was fresh and tasty. I would like to mention a few people that made our stay exceptional and fun comments to Mr Crave staff Jose H (Server), Mariza G.M, Ray ( Server), Luke
( Bartender ), Nolen ( Server ). Now to mention Latoya Bennett ( Guest Service Lead ) from the hotel she was exceptional and Alexander and Dawar were also very friendly and always willing to help as were all the staff in the breakfast area. I hope this review gets to the right people as I would like the boss to know the staff that are doing an exceptional job.
Thanks Everyone
Michelle Cornelius
Australia

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
1,403 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#182 of 230 in San Francisco
3,098 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
1,155 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £74 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing