We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don`t Stay”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 August 2008

This hotel has been nicely refurbished inside,rooms are excellent,big modern and clean.Cleaning staff very friendly and give great service.Breakfast is good with good choice and nice roof top room though a bit crowded at times.Location is worst in san fran with drugs prostitution and homeless hanging around.Reception staff are unhelpful while management were downright rude and offensive. Do not trust with credit card imprint ! Restaurant was closed perhaps for renovation could be a great hotel but for unhelpful staff and unfortunate location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ciaranamhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovaHotel, Public Relations Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2008

Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing us on Trip Advisor even when they are not so positive.

I would appreciate if you could provide us more information about the room you have stayed or more detail of the incident so that we can have further investigation.

You are welcome to email me directly at ida@covahotel.com as well.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
There are newer reviews for Cova Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2008

I just want other travellers to know that this could happen. I had made reservation via Otels.com. On the day I was to stay there I called the hotel both at their 800 number and at their local number. Each time I got a message saying to leave my number and that I would be called back within an hour. I left 4 messages and was never called back. I finally took a cab to the hotel to check in and was told 'nobody listens to the messages on weekends'. !!! The clerk couldn't find me on the list of expected guests. She went into the back room and returned saying that because my reservation (which had been made 2 weeks earlier) was made very late they would have to send me to another hotel purportedly because of a plumbing problem. I dont really believe there was a plumbing problem but if there was I think it was handled poorly and no matter what they need to answer their telephone and check their messages. They drove me to another hotel (the Sam Wong in chinatown) and thus I did have accomodation for the night, but as you all know all hotels are not the same and we do research to make sure we will have the best possible hotel experience, When these efforts go awry it is frustrating. So to all who decide to try the Cova, beware and good luck . From the lobby it looked like a decent place but the staff have alot to learn about how to run a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Thank juthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovaHotel, Public Relations Manager, Ida Wong at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2008

Dear Guest,

I am writing to follow up your stay at Cova Hotel to apologize for the frustrations that you experienced during your stay with us.

I can fully appreciate your dismay at the treatment you experienced and such a situation should not have arisen in a hotel of our standing. Please accept our sincere apologies

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.

In the meantime, as a result of your feedback, which I have taken very seriously, re-training within this area has been highlighted as a priority to avoid a re-occurrences of this nature in the future.

I remain concerned that you are dissatisfied with the level of service we’ve provided and I wish to make amends. I would like to discuss this over the phone so please feel free to contact me when it is convenient for you or send me an email at tripadvisor with the time and date you wish to be contacted.


Best regards,
Public Relations Manager,
Ida Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We booked this hotel because we were traveling on a budget. We actually booked the room for $125 a night. We were really nervous when we were pulling up, the area seemed a little shady. However, to our surprise we were staying in the most beautiful hotel. Everything on the interior has been remodeled. Its a very very modern hotel. We had flat screen tvs and the most comfortable bed. we had a delicious breakfast on the roof in the morning. We were about a mile from all the major shops and then we took the bus to fisherman's wharf. I think it was like $4 bucks round trip and it took about 15 minutes. We walked at night time from the mall and it was a okay but if I did not have my husband I would have felt unsafe. But you cannot beat this hotel. Its spectacular. I was shocked. We only booked one night because we were unsure and we ended up staying g 3 nights. It was well worth it. I would recommend this for hotel for anyone. Its clean, beautiful and the staff was outstanding. They helped us to get reservations and gave us directions anywhere we needed to go.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CaligurlSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovaHotel, Public Relations Manager, Ida Wong at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2008

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us on Trip-Advisor and sharing your pleasant experience at the Cova hotel. For all your kind remarks regarding our hotel service, I have passed to the relevant departments as I know they will be encouraged by your compliments. We’re glad that you had an overall positive experience with the Cova hotels on this stay. We hope you continue to have such great stays at the Cova Hotel during your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

This is a really great hotel. From the outside you first would not expect it as the building is not new, however once you get to the room, it's really luxury. I stayed there shortly before the 4th of July. The staff also let's the guests know that the rooms are completely newly rennovated. One employee of the evening shift asked all the guest who came back in from the city how they liked their room. He was obviously proud of it and he can be. The breakfast is included, the breakfast room (I believe on the 8th floor - not completely sure) is also new and offers a view over S.F. A roof top is in front of the breakfast room. You can easily walk to Union Square, Market Street, etc. and the staff always tell you which way to go (when coming out of the hotel to the left and then right) to avoid the not so nice areas. The breakfast ladies were extremely nice and so were the Front Office employees. When my wireless didn't work in one room, the male employee in the evening immediately gave me a different room. I would definitely go back there, because it's a very personalized atmosphere and a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank conkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovaHotel, Public Relations Manager, Ida Wong at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2008

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Cova Hotel. We are pleased to know you had a great stay at our hotel. Glad to know you were able to experience what Cova Hotel and staff have to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cova Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Public Relations Manager,
Ida Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

I was here for my convention along with my colleague.

The Rooms and shower were pretty good. The staff at the hotel, Mohi especially was very helpful. The breakfast was very nice, with a lot of choice, so you can go out in the morning with a full belly. For eating, Subway and TacoBell KFC , were just around the corner.

The only problem was that the TV and internet services they offered were not so good, they were just about OK.

Overall enjoyed the stay, got my job done, what i was there for.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aditya_Varma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvargass1529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jonathan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hotel Vertigo
#71 of 229 in San Francisco
1,382 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#132 of 229 in San Francisco
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#182 of 229 in San Francisco
3,065 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
1,147 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#29 of 229 in San Francisco
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £97 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing