We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, area improving I think...but be aware!!”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #100 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Cova in April 2014, 3 nights with family of 5 including 7 yr old boy - hotel perfectly pleasant, staff very friendly on arrival (perhaps not so engaging after that), very good food at the little restuarant next door, rude staff in the car park (nothing to do with hotel, pay separately), but the Tenderloin area is a little dodgy - I am sure it is improving and we felt safe-ish walking around during the day - but at night I would not recommend turning left out of the hotel - stay towards downtown direction - we all walked to the Thai restuarant 1 block away on the first night, and on the way back a local said 'Stick together' as he walked past! So, we just got the (free) shuttle from the hotel out and back if dark, and once we had sorted that, we had a great stay - but were glad to get out of Tenderloin and on with our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chriswhatever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce P, Guest Satisfaction Ambassador at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Chriswhatever,

Hope you had a wonderful time here in our beautiful city. Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us.

We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service from the arrival to the departure of all our guests. I apologize if you feel that the quality of our service was not delivered throughout your entire stay. Thank you for acknowledging the pleasantness of our room condition. We make sure that we're providing COmfort and VAlue through our products and amenities. I am also glad that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle that took you to the major parts of the city.

Regarding the valet, in behalf of Express Parking, please accept our sincere apology. You may reach the Express Parking Manager through email at atasci@expressparking.us.

Though we do not have the control of our immediate neighborhood, we are working closely with local officials in improving and developing our area.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we can service you again in the future. Please let me know if there's anything that I can be of help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

The first and most important point is the location, which is the Tenderloin area of the city. We discovered (note we were not advised or warned) that this area is prevalent with homeless people, drug dealing, prostitution and goodness knows what else, and this was clearly visible and unsettling to say the least. I would advise anyone to Google 'Tenderloin San Fran' to verify this.

On arrival we were moved to another hotel due to a water leak. Unfortunately this other hotel (The Good Hotel) was way below the standard we would normally accept, and even though we were financially compensated by the Cova, and transported there and back, (plus a courtesy one off trip to the ferry building) I don't feel they should have put us into such an inferior (by comparison) hotel.

Apart from all the above, room was very good and a good size, though the shower was difficult to operate, water flow was weak, and the air conditioning only blasted hot air.

Service was very varied, from excellent to unacceptable, and this depended on front desk staff on duty. (if you get a guy called Michael, then you are in luck, he was outstanding, plus the driver on duty when we arrived on the 16th April, who also took us to the ferry building!)

Breakfast on the first morning was ruined by diabolical service. long queue to be seated, then more than 20 minutes wait to be served a pre-plated set breakfast. On the second and third day was better and we then found out we should also have been offered cereal, yogurts etc in addition to the set meal

We didn't eat there in the evening as it closed early, 9:30pm.

Shuttle bus is good, and strongly advise this is used in the evenings as you may not want to walk back to the hotel. (book early however as the time slots fill quickly)

Room Tip: Only stayed here once, so difficult to advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaymaker9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from visiting San Francisco and staying at the Cova Hotel. We were aware that the hotel was situated in the Tenderloin area which has a reputation for a seedy side of the city. What we were not ready for was the potential danger represented by the large number of homeless vagrants on an evening. The hotel were obviously aware of the potential danger as they were putting on a regular shuttle [to go only 1 mile to the the Union Square area].
It kind of put a damper on the visit as we were constantly having to plan our return through the area to the hotel.
The hotel itself was fine, staff were great but I am not sure I would be recommending the hotel for vulnerable guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 April 2014

Dear Graham B.,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Cova Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us.

We are saddened that our immediate location brought discomfort to you and your wife during your visit here in San Francisco. We are located in Tenderloin area, which is not the most attractive part in the city. As you have observed, our management are doing safety measures like operating a complimentary shuttle to and from Union Square, Moscone Center and Fisherman’s Wharf that runs from 8:00 am to 10:00 pm every day on a first come first served basis, as well as having great staffs that are very knowledgeable about our city. We usually advise our guests which are the best and most comfortable areas to walk upon their arrival.

On the other hand, thank you for acknowledging the services that we provide here at the Cova Hotel, as well as recognizing our excellent staffs.

If there’s anything that I can be of help in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at joyce@covahotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for just one night. The hotel is very modern and the staff is very friendly and competent. You've got clean rooms and also a gym inside. A complete breakfast is provided in the restaurant right next to the hotel and is included in the price.
The only minus point is, that there are quite a lot homeless guys in the street right in front, you might feel uncomfortable about that, but the hotel of course is locked and can only be opened by your guests card.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce P, Guest Satisfaction Ambassador at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hello Vincent H,

Thank you so much for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your short stay at the Cova Hotel. Our immediate location might not be the most desirable, but we are delighted that you have recognized the services that we are offering.

In behalf of the management and staffs, thank you for choosing Cova Hotel and we are looking forward to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel on April 12th with my two daughters, age 4 and 15. I travel to S.F. very often and always take BART into the city and rely on public transportation. I've stayed at many hotels in a variety of areas. Not sure I would stay at this hotel again. It was an okay hotel in a terrible area. I knew ahead of time that the location (Tenderloin) is not necessarily a safe one to wander around but the hotel boasts a shuttle to various locations. The shuttle was full when we called and the rides were not on demand but at scheduled times (which were not that frequent). When I asked the person at the front desk where the nearest bus stop was and which bus to take to get to Union Square she had no idea and didn't appear all that interested in finding the answer.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor. It was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michpadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce P, Guest Satisfaction Ambassador at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear michpadams,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us.

We feel sad that you were discontented with our immediate location and regrettably, the Cova Hotel management doesn't have the control of the surrounding area.

The shuttle that we provide runs from 8:00 am to 10:00 pm seven days of the week, to drop off and pick up our guests to and from Union Square, Moscone Center and Fisherman’s Wharf. On the other hand, our shuttle service can only take eleven passengers at a time, and we always remind our guests that it’s a “First come first served basis”. We apologize if you weren't able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle.

I sincerely apologize if you were not able to get a satisfactory recommendation from one of our associates regarding the nearest bus stop. Our manager on duty is always available to answer all guests concerns and complaints at the desk or either over the phone. With that in mind, I will be more than happy to investigate and provide necessary action to the party involved.

Again, thank you for choosing Cova Hotel and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The staff at the Cova was friendly and helpful and easy to work with.The hotel is somewhat dated and in need of some amenities i.e… microwave and mini fridge in room would be a good start. The King size bed was comfortable as well as the pillows, the shower was adequate and clean. The desk chair could be updated and was very uncomfortable. I would not recommend the area as there were a lot of homeless and beggars, even in a group setting there was an uneasy feeling. The area where the Cova is situated is known as Tenderloin and not a good are of the city. There was a shooting 2 blocks away on our last evening there. So for that reason alone which is more than enough I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible stay in higher level floor as the street noise can affect your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Rooms are comfortable and clean. Customer service is hit and miss. Latoya on front desk was amazing. Super friendly and efficient. The other front desk staff were kind of vague and not very switched on. The location is really a bit of a worry. We weren't worried about the homeless but the crime is a big concern. We did walk too and from the hotel but it was a worry. Otherwise location is walkable to restaurants shops and transport.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mack1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce P, Guest Satisfaction Ambassador at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear mack1975,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Cova Hotel and for sharing your wonderful experience.

Cova stands for Comfort and Value. I do hope that we have provided that to you during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service from our guest’s arrival to their departure. Thank you so much for acknowledging one of our staffs, nevertheless, we strive to provide consistent customer service across the board and offer exceptional amenities to make all our guests more comfortable to our neighborhood.

We hope to see you again in the future and if you need anything, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at joyce@covahotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
1,403 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#182 of 230 in San Francisco
3,098 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
1,155 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £98 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing