We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for money”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #99 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel isn't exactly located in the safest part of San Francisco and is recommended not to walk the streets at all. But i only stayed in San Fran for 3 nights and had no problem (we didn't walk the streets we caught cabs or the shuttle) but for a cheap hotel the service is great, the rooms are clean and nice. You get free wifi, free shuttle bus to the main parts of town (time schedules apply) and you got free breakfast every morning. It's not exactly centrally located but it's not far from everything either about a $5 cab ride to Union square and $10 to Fisherman's wharf.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Greetings fionaaaa,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle we offer and that it as able to make you feel more comfortable in the area, the service we provided, complimentary amenities and continental breakfast. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and offer value amenities and i'm glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location of this hotel is on Ellis Street, please bare in mind there is a homeless shelter on this street which gives out food etc 3 times a day. With that in mind, there are several homeless druggies, alcoholics, street walkers etc within very close proximity of the hotel. However, in order to compensate for this the hotel does provide a free shuttle bus to take you to union square and fishermans wharf, which are main tourist attractions and therefore a lot safe for you to catch on going transport to your required destination. We did walk to union square a few times, you just have to go up a block and then walk parallel to Ellis Street so you miss the shelter, this walk is only 10 minutes so not too far from the centre which is great.

Despite the location though, this hotel provides great service and the staff are very friendly with lots of information should you require it. The rooms and bathroom are very well sized with fresh clean bed linen. There are lots of complimentary things also including iron, ironing board, towels, shampoo, shower gel etc etc. There is also an information book that the hotel has put together, this is particularly useless for good places to eat etc. The hotel also has very good security, you need a room key in order to enter the lift to get up to the residents floors so no unauthorised persons can enter your landing.

Breakfast came with the hotel and it is located in a bistro coming off the hotel in a separate building. I personally didn't find the service here brilliant but it was ok. The breakfast consisted of toast, 4 different cereals to chose from, 4 pieces of cheese on your given plate, a slice of rolled ham, a boiled egg with a slice of tomato and lettuce leaf. It was ok as a start to the day, I found the toast cold though and the cereal often ran out.

San Francisco is a beautiful city though and it has so much to offer, this hotel is a great base for all your tourist needs as long as you don't have children and you are not easily put off by the sight of many homeless people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Greetings Dean1974,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm very proud that my staff was able to accommodate you with great service and that you found the rooms, amenities and cleanliness to be sufficient to your needs. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and offer value amenities and i'm glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to our location. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle we offer and that it as able to make you feel more comfortable in the area. The walk from the hotel going to union square is indeed about 10 minutes and all you have to do is avoid one street to have a more pleasant view of the streets. Also as you mentioned, the hotel is very secure. Only registered guest can enter the hotel lobby and elevators at all times so i'm glad that you felt secure while staying with us.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Best service I have received at a hotel in San Francisco. Michael at the front desk greeted me upon arrival and assured me of a great stay. The rooms were big and clean, with all the amenities one would expect from a top of the line hotel. Highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Talk to Michael Ednilao at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Greetings mayans82,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. It's rewarding for me as a manger to hear that Michael made a significant impact during your stay. I will make sure to share your review to him. Michael has been with the company for 3 1/2 years and has truly grown as an individual. We pride ourselves in provide excellent service and we always try our best to go above and beyond to make sure that all guests are taken cared of as much as possible.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Rooms are good for the price, comfy bed, clean and bathroom is nice and clean.
Staff are helpful and provide great service.
Free breakfast next door is good.
It is on quite a dodgy street, a lot of drug dealers in the area and homeless shelters are all around these street so lots of homeless people. Felt quite unsafe at night but hotel offers free shuttles around so that was helpful.
Would not stay here again as the location was not for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anzydrkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Greetings anzydrkn,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to experience COmfort and VAlue. From our service, amenities, hotel room, cleanliness and food service was all satisfactory during your stay with us. On the other hand, i do apologize that the location of the hotel was not for you but i'm glad to hear that the complimentary shuttle service was helpful

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We purchases groupons for 2 rooms for one night stay at this hotel June 2014. One room was ready for us when we checked in around 2:45pm but the other wasn't ready. So we told the rep to hold a double bed room for us and we'll check in after we come back from exploring. But when we came back at at 11pm,they told us the only room availble was a queen bed room. Why did they have give away all the double bed rooms when we already told them to earlier. Very upset.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zumishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Greetings zumishi,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We do sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced in regards to your room request with a double bed. Our management team would like to impress upon you that the problem you experienced will indeed be attended. I would like to hear more of your recent experience so i could address them and make sure that we are on the right track in making sure that we continue to improve our service. I would like to also apologize that we did not have an air conditioning in our guestrooms. Unfortunately, we are one of the many hotels in San Francisco that does not have it.

At your convenience, please kindly contact me below. I will also send you a personal message to make sure that i'm able to contact you as early as possible.

Once again, thank you so much for being patient and for staying with us. We hope that you will be able to visit the beautiful city of San Francisco in the near future. If there's anything we can assist you, please feel free to contact us at anytime at 415 771-3000 or by emailing me at directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Cova Hotel was a great stay. The staff was very friendly and gave us tips about where to visit and how to get around the city. The shuttle service was also awesome. It runs every hour to and from the Union Square or Fisherman's Wharf. The shuttle service was very convenient and not very crowded but be sure to reserve your seat with the front desk staff. The complimentary breakfast at the cafe next to the hotel was also great. Overall, if your looking for a great hotel with value, the Cova Hotel is it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Greetings kunp17,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm glad to hear that you found our front office team to be very friendly and they were able to give suggestions or tips on places to visit and how to get around the city. It's also great that you took advantage of the our complimentary shuttle service from 8am - 10pm to select locations in the city. In regards to our restaurant "Mr. Crave", I will make sure to pass on your comments directly to the management team.

Overall, i'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to experience COmfort and VAlue. I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Made to feel welcomed from the moment we walked in front door. The staff was very helpful, they gave us helpful tips. They answered all our questions we smiling faces. The hotel has a relaxing, calm , and refreshing vibe. I would stay they again.

Room Tip: There was a fan in the closet and that was nice and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela_bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Greetings Angela_bedford,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Being a senior contributor such as yourself, i'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I'm very proud that my staff was able to accommodate and made you feel welcomed from the moment you stepped in on our property. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and i'm glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to the shower water pressure. I will make sure to pass these comments to my management team for consideration and future action. I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hotel Vertigo
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,428 reviews
Htl 587
#160 of 230 in San Francisco
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
818 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £88 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing