We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Service”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #99 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Most of all, you have staff that are willing to help and answer questions and point you in the right direction.

Other reviews will tell you about the surrounding area which is very true, there are a lot of homeless people (more so in this area that most other parts of town - it is called the 'tenderloin') so be ready to see some walking up and down the street. During the day we had no issues with safety, but at night, I would definitely be careful where you went right in the area.

The rooms themselves were very clean, beds were comfy, pillows were soft and the bathrooms were good size. Overall for the price we paid, we felt we got a good value for our money.

The staff is amazing. They were able to arrange trips, offer food suggestions and overall just provided a nice atmosphere to the hotel.

We used the shuttle (which was free) to get to other parts of town (both there and back) and then also used 'Uber' to get back to the hotel (usually at night). There are two Bart stations that are within a couple of blocks of the hotel, probably about a 10 minute walk to either, but you will have to traverse the homeless population to get to either of them.

The hotel was able to arrange a shuttle back to the airport on our departure for $15 per person and that is very reasonable for the distance (a taxi would probably run about $60 for 2 for comparisons sake).

Please note that there are no air conditioners in the rooms. We left our sliding door open and also used the provided fan and had no problem keeping the room cool.

We also got breakfast with the room each morning which was served buffet style in the adjacent restaurant. Food there consisted of eggs, toast, fruit, potatoes, meat (sausage/bacon), juice and coffee. The food tasted good and fresh and the service was good there as well.

We felt our room provided a good value in a good location that was close to a lot of the attractions.

So, would we stay here again? Probably. If I had younger children, I might think twice, but for just the two of us, we had no issues with the area.

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the street and then rooms that face another building (which is a brick wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dadofgage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Greetings dadofgage,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for giving us an in depth overview of your entire experience and also by providing tips and suggestions on this review. Other travelers reading this review would most certainly appreciate this. I'm proud to hear that my staff did an amazing job in providing excellent service and that you were also able to take advantage of the complimentary services and amenities we offered.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

San Francisco has a very large homeless population and unfortunately this hotel is located very near a homeless shelter which means the streets in the immediate vicinity are filled with them. This discount hotel does a very good job of providing the basics...reasonably comfortable beds, decent water pressure for showering, and a complimentary breakfast to boot. And all personnel are very courteous and friendly. It is NOT, however, safe to walk the streets of this neighborhood which is in the tenderloin district. The hotel does provide a shuttle to four popular areas which is helpful. If that schedule doesn't fit your needs, you should plan on using cabs. All in all a decent enough place to crash for the night. Just beware of your surroundings when you venture outdoors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Suzieq0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Greetings Suzieq0520,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

As to any major city in the united states, homelessness is always one of the issues that is being encountered at all times. Though this maybe the norm, the city of San Francisco has truly improved to address this issue over the years and still continues to get better every year. Based on your review, i'm glad that this didn't completely diminished your stay at the hotel. We strive to provide excellent service and cater to all guest needs as much as possible. From our complimentary amenities and services, i'm happy that it suited your needs.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed our 3-nights-stay at the Cova very much! The tidy, amply and calm room provides all you need. The best were the staff: very friendly and helpful. When entering we felt like home. Many thanks and compliments to them!
As other tripadvisor users mention in their reviews, there are a lot of homeless people in the vicinity, but not only there: you see them in the whole city. So, no difference if you would stay at another hotel. Location perfect, 10 minutes walking distance to Union Square, free Shuttle bus to several sights. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lumedaa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Greetings Lumedaa87,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. It's rewarding for me as a manger to hear that my employees made a significant impact during your stay and they made you feel home away from home. I will make sure to share your review to all of them. We pride ourselves in provide excellent service and we always try our best to go above and beyond to make sure that all guests are taken cared of as much as possible. I'm glad to hear that the location didn't bother you at all and that it was a good fit for your needs as well.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The rooms are kept very clean, breakfast is good, staff is very helpful and the price is very reasonable. Even the parking with in and out was reasonably priced for a city like Downtown San Francisco. I am only concerned about the neighbourhood at night as there were drunken people screaming in the middle of the night and garbage truck dumping at 4am which woke me up several times.

Room Tip: try to get higher floors not facing ellis street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank occasionshucchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greetings aweiys,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Our parking is indeed very reasonably priced. In fact, we offer one of the cheapest rates available in the city. Thank you for bringing your concerns in regards to the neighborhood but i hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. Also, we do apologize for the noise sounds that the garbage truck from the city created. Unfortunately, we have no control on their pick up times and schedule since it comes from the city of San Francisco. On the other hand, i would certainly try to bring this concern to the city office for future consideration.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this great hotel. The rooms were very clean and modern, staff were extremely helpful and kind and they went out of their way to help us wherever possible. The neighbourhood is fine to walk around in during the day, although the hotel offers free shuttles should you wish to avoid doing so. As in many areas of a big city, and as 2 girls, taxis are probably preferable at night - the hotel staff were happy to book us taxis so this is not a major problem. Overall a great hotel, I would definitely return and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Agnewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greetings Agnewg,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and experience with us. From the extremely helpful staff and room cleanliness, these are a few things that we provide and offer that certainly makes our hotel a top hotel to stay in San Francisco.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I was totally misguided by the reviews here. It is quite scary at night because of all the people in the surrounding area. I arrived late and the only lady that was "in charge" of the front desk doesn't even speak good English and was rude. I reserved a 2 bedroom and was totally not what I got. There was no manager in premises and she refused to give me a refund. I was not a happy camper at all.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Adriana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Greetings Adriana O,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

First off, i would like to again apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us but i'm glad that we were able to speak with you while you were still staying at the hotel. We were able to rectify the issues and based from the feedback you shared with us, you were satisfied with the resolution that we did for you.

In hope that you can stay at the Cova Hotel and give us another chance. Please contact me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com and i will make sure to take good care of you. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

While the hotel is not in exactly the best location they more than make up for it. The staff was excellent. The free breakfast was a great bonus as well as free shuttle to various locations throughout San Fran. Rooms were clean and I felt safe once inside. If I were to redo the trip I would book here again.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank AliciaLLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo_Reyes, Manager at Cova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Greetings AliciaLLynch,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for allowing us to accommodate you during your San Francisco trip. We appreciate your recent review and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and experience with us. From the excellent staff service, complimentary breakfast and shuttle service to various locations in the city, these are a few things that we provide and offer that certainly makes our hotel a top hotel to stay in San Francisco.

I hope that you will be able to visit San Francisco again soon and when you do, please contact me directly and i will ensure that you get the best possible rate. If there's anything we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to call us at 415 77-13000 or email me directly at angelo.reyes@covahotel.com at anytime. Thank you again once again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hotel Vertigo
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,432 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Htl 587
#160 of 230 in San Francisco
31 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#112 of 230 in San Francisco
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £87 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing