We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Ranked #36 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I loved this place. The price was great, the location perfect! I can't wait to go back and stay here our net trip to CA. I was there during the government shutdown, a few places were closed but we still had a blast. We have to go back so i can visit the closed sites, but this place will for sure be one of our places that we stay at again. Staff was very friendly, very helpful. It was our 1 yr anniversary and it was a great spot for the money. Clean, Older looking, but we wasn't staying there for the hotel. We came to site see.... I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    490
    99
    20
    18
See reviews for
296
429
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

What I liked about this place was that the front desk was super helpful! They provided us with breakfast options, suggested some great places. Everything was very clean and way better than the other place we stayed at. It was a little pricey, but we were ready for a nice and clean place after a very bad experience at Knight/Aloha Inn. We paid about $90-$120 per night in the first weekend of February.

Cons: Not really any Amenties, smaller rooms

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannamartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have stayed here many times thanks to my sister-in-law's recommendation. A real bargain for SF with the free parking and very convenient if you are driving into the city. Rooms are well maintained and the staff is cordial. Lots of great restaurants nearby and near to buses. Only a few blocks to Union Street with wonderful shopping and restaurants. Walkable to the Marina area and just a little farther to the cable car. On my way back soon for spring in SF.

Room Tip: Ask for the back rooms when possible, since Lombard Street is a bit busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexhike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in this property years ago and we jumped at it again when we had the opportunity to come to san fran again. The staff werenice and proffesional and easy to talk to.The rooms were clean, beds were nice and the security is good. It is situated right on Lombard street so you can get in and out easily. It is within walking distance to fishernans warf, but if you want to walk over the crookedest street it is a bit of a hike. The area is covered with place to eat. I would stay here again .

Room Tip: Please ask for a room away from the street as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldestpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Found this Hotel thru the AAA. It worked out fine. Free Parking and the room was very comfortable. Best of all is the area. A block off the main shopping ave. Full of restaurants , stores, (An apple store as well) , movie theater, fast food, and so on. The Golden Gate Bridge is near by and we left the car and took the bus down the block to Fisherman's wharf. The self parking permitted us to come and go at any time. My son and I had a great stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank almond20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

When our kids were young and we traveled as a family, we often stayed at the Cow Hollow Suites, and that situation just could not be beat--as a family of 5, we loved the 2 bedroom suite: 2 full bedrooms (one with a queen bed and one with two queens), a full living room, and a full kitchen. On our recent trip, it was just my husband and me, and we decided we were put off by the SF hotel prices (like the mediocre Hotel Triton at nearly $300 per night plus parking), so I thought "Let's try Cow Hollow." We got a king-bedded room for $155 (and that includes free parking).

We loved our room--great mattress, nice decor, comfortable bathroom and lighting. The neighborhood was still wonderful and "upscale," and we loved all the restaurants and bars just around the corner.

We couldn't have been happier. (I would add that our room was facing the street--Lombard--just across the street from Mel's Diner. There was a lot of traffic noise, although not loud party noise or sirens. For this reason, if you are a light sleeper, I would suggest asking for a room that doesn't overlook Lombard.)

I also saw a notice in the lobby that the hotel is getting ready to renovate--this can only mean that things will get even better.

If you are a family, this is THE place; if you are a couple on a budget, I highly recommend both the hotel and the area.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you probably want to get a room that doesn't face Lombard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcal3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and I will agree that the location is pretty good because you can walk to almost anything and everything. However, their Division of Occupational Safety & Health permit expired (Photograph below). Also, our room got robbed!! We talked to the manager of the hotel and he apologized about the situation but he told us that he checked the lock on the window that the robbers broke into and said that it locked just fine. However, when the cops got there, in order to lock that window, he beat on it with his flashlight. Even with the window locked, the window is still extremely easy to open (I also have video footage of this window). After the break in, we asked to be moved to a different hotel room. The hotel room they gave us was literally above the first and that window didn't even have a lock (Pictures below)... DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CAA31410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cow Hollow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Hollow Inn and Suites

Property: Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Address: 2190 Lombard St, Between Steiner and Fillmore Streets, San Francisco, CA 94123-2713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cow Hollow Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cow Hollow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Hollow Motor Hotel San Francisco
Cow Hollow Motor Inn
Cow Hollow San Francisco
Cow Hollow Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing