We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THE DIVA!”
Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #107 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I love this little hotel. I love the ambiance and the feel of it from the moment I walk in the door. It is SEXY. It is (easy) walking distance to Union Square and right next to Ruby Skye (for those club goers out there). The bed is gloriously comfortable. The bathtub is great (and I'm a stickler for a tub). Ask for a room on the top floor right in front. The ceilings are very high and the windows are huge and arched. Amazing.

PS... fun things are found in the safe :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whisk-Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Hello Whisk-Chef,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Diva with Trip Advisor, Hotel Diva is conveniently located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, a block away from Union Square where you will find all the great shops, restaurants, galleries and bars.

I hope you will think of us again on your next trip to San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

Just two blocks from Union Square, this is a great location if you are looking for easy access to shopping and tours. This is a cute, boutique hotel. Room decor is stylish and clean, bathroom is small.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel is tastefully done up, I like that they made an effort to make it fun, sleek and modern. The staff are also welcoming. I love that the room, bed and bathroom are spotless and functional. Everything works. Beds, pillows and covers are very comfortable. Hotel is in a great location, many attractions, shops, restaurants, and cafes are within walking distance. There are no street parking near by, so you'll have to park in a garage which can cost you ~$30-$40 per night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livrpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Dear Livrpool,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I'm glad you liked the recent remodel we did to the property. I hope you had the chance to enjoy the many complimentary amenities we offer: WiFi, fitness center, business center, Ghirardelli hot chocolate service through out the day, and our Sake hour from 5 to 7pm.

Hurry and come back soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I've stayed here on several occasions, and always have a great experience. Not too long ago there was a renovation done and the rooms are better than ever. You have to love the patterned window shades! Also check out the different small lounges, especially the Perrier Lounge--groovy! Excellent location in the heart of everything--you can walk to Macy's in two minutes. Very nice staff and the rooms have high quality amenities as well. Totally worth your time and money, and many restaurants are nearby no matter what your budget may be.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7th floor and one of the larger King rooms--very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Nanci B,

Thank you for returning to the Hotel Diva. We very much appreciate your loyalty. Have you signed up for our PERKS Loyalty Program?. If you haven't, I would like to encourage you to do so. To mention a few of our loyalty program benefits: complimentary upgrade (subject to availability), complimentary gifts and snacks and discounted valet parking. In addition, you get exclusive offers as well as a complimentary stay after you have accumulated fifteen room nights with us! Come back and see us soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Good location, rooms on the large side (considered that this is a boutique hotel). Staff was very nice and friendly. Although the rooms were large and had a modern feel, I still did not like them. Find them to be somehow dark and depressing. I think there are much better options for that price range in the city.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Three_Swords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Hello Spalatin_01,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Diva with Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feed back. One of the improvements we're looking to accomplish this year is to enhance the lighting in the rooms. I hope you will give Hotel Diva another chance.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Cute, comfy, "divalicious" hotel! Great customer service and its in a perfect location! Right by Ruby Skye nightclub!!! Can't best it for the priced we paid $125 on New Year's Day! Complimentary Ghirardelli hot chocolate in the front lobby. And Free sweet sake wine at the lobby...all you can drink...not bad all!!! Plus the free Wi-Fi!!! Parking was a little steep...but just drive around the corner, there is a $18 parking garage all day. Self parking....over all. It's a inexpensive, nice looking hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacramentogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I have to start by saying that the staff at the Hotel Diva was great. Incredibly friendly and warm. The hotel lobby is tiny, quirky and cute overall.

Now, the rooms. That is another story. I was a bit disappointed. The half inch crack/space between the door and the door jam made it not only possible for a person walking by to be seen, heard and if desired able to look in, but when my friend I was staying with sneezed a person walking by actually could hear well enough to say "God bless you!" Odd, but true. If you are looking for safe and quite, not the place.

The room had a view of the alley, and the noise from the garbage trucks picking up the bottles and restaurant flotsom late at night made it difficult to sleep. The air conditioning unit however was so loud and ancient that it did offer a slight buffer to the street sounds.

The sink area in the bathroom was barely big enough to turn around in and there were few hooks to be found to hang your things on, this would have been nice since the closet was too small for two people to hang their clothes in. The room was DARK. Two of the lamps did not work and if they did the light that eeked out from them was not equal to a spark.

The final problem. We tried to watch a movie and the remote didn't work. We called the front desk to receive another and it took 45 mintues and another phone call to get a response.

We were told that they are going to being doing some renovations soon. I would definitely wait to stay until then. In concept and decor it is unique and sleek, but really this is just another old hotel with a some paint and polish slapped on it.

On the up shot, the beds were comfy. The room's floor slanted downward toward the door noticeably, which is kinda scary and dangerous after a cocktail or two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the alley and not on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luluguiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domitille M, Guest Services Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Luluguiness,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Diva and letting us know about the positive and negative points regarding your stay with us.

We are glad that you liked our staff and felt welcome at the Diva.

We also want you to know that your opinion is very important to us and that we are going to look into the issues you had during your stay. If we had been offered a chance we would have loved to try to find another room for you, as the one you had did not meet your expectations.
The Hotel Diva has a variety of room types that would accommodate any traveler's needs.
If you need a room with two beds we also have studios king and queen which are comparatively much larger than a two double or a regular king or queen. We do also have a lot of quiet rooms facing towards the back of the building.

I hope you will think of us again on your next trip to San Francisco.

Best regards,
Domitille Montoro
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
1,815 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#55 of 230 in San Francisco
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
518 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
603 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Address: 440 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £114 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing