We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, not perfect”
Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #112 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
milan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good stay, not perfect”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The front desk staff was very welcoming and sometimes even too much overwhelming. They ask you personal questions to make you feel welcome but they don't need to cross the line. Room was nice, well appointed, not the biggest I have ever been but good for San Francisco standards. Bathroom amenities were ok, I would have expect a bit more being the hotel called "Diva". Location is great, walk 10 minutes to Powell St Bart station, 3 minutes to Union Square. I would go back only if rates would stay the same, if I have to spend more than I would go in a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    711
    335
    139
    116
See reviews for
239
713
150
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Two great things about this hotel: its location and its staff. For your quick needs, a Starbucks is right beside the hotel and a Walgreens is about a 1/4 block. It's surrounded by a number of restaurants within reasonable walking distance as well.
I can't say enough about how well this staff was ready to serve or help us out. Anytime we needed transportation, they were right there to flag down a cab. Anytime we needed city information, they were more than happy to help.

The decorations and architecture both were a breath of fresh air from normal hotels. Our room had a lot of personality. This is a boutique hotel in a large metropolitan area so don't expect a large room. San Francisco streets can be loud so the healthy whir of the air conditioner drowned out a lot of the noise.

Room Tip: Our room was faced away from street traffic. Not a great view (go outside if you want a view!) but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel's location is PHENOMINAL. You're less than a 10 minute walk from just about everything in Union Square, cable car stops, and a 30 minute hike to the pier. The staff was very, very friendly and the fact that there's a Starbucks to the left of the hotel, a diner, further beyond that, and a bar to the right of the hotel make it a good spot. But that's where the good ends.

The rooms left so much to be desired. I'm 6'1" and average build - I felt like an ant within the room, it was absolutely tiny, despite it being a Deluxe Queen. I literally had maybe 30 cubic feet to work with in the bathroom, and the room couldn't have been larger than your average studio apartment.

The bed was comfy at least, but that quickly went out the window with the constant party noise and garbage trucks, police sirens, street sweepers, UFOs and whatever else seemed to be going on between the hours of 11PM and 5AM. If I had to do it over, I'd stay somewhere else more modernized and with better soundproofing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi Adrian,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. Hotel Diva offers various types of accommodations from deluxe rooms to executive king suites and studios which are comparatively bigger in size. We also have deluxe kings available at the property. Please let us know the next time you're in town so we can guarantee a king for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Diva.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Diva for two nights in February. I was traveling on business, and this was one of the few hotels in the Union Square area that was within federal per diem. This was a funky, boutique hotel - very clean and modern with very simple and tasteful black and white interiors. (Some designs are risque and amusing, like the room shades, designed with women's bodices...) I found the room very comfortable - including the bed, nice, flatscreen wall mounted TV, in-room coffee, nice desk and chair, ample closet space for hanging clothes, and fairly spacious bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great - right in the middle of Union Square and walking distance to Chinatown, Market Street, etc. It was also helpful to have a Starbucks in the lobby and a Rite Aid on the next corner.

The very few downsides were: 1) not much natural light - I was traveling with a colleague, and both of our rooms faced alleys/the fire escape of the building next door and 2) rooms kind of small - my room was bigger than my colleague's but hers felt pretty cramped. Overall, though, I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to be in Union Square and are traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manderific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Spent a night at the hotel Diva last week. It was very clean, the bed comfortable, and it was quiet. My room faced the interior light well, but the room was so nice it didn't bother me. The decor is all black and white, with metal accessories. The location is excellent, the front desk and valets went above and beyond, and I will definitely stay there again. If you prefer boutique hotels, you have to try this one!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGatthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I travel to San Francisco often being that I live in Los Angeles and my sister lives up there, It is less than a days worth of driving or an hour flight; so the city is not difficult for me to get to. I travel up there about once a month and almost every time if I am not staying at my sister's, I will stay at Hotel Diva. Truly for the money you pay at this hotel and the location it is in, considering all the other mega hotels around it, it is totally worth it! I give this hotel 4 stars because truly it is not a 5 star hotel. It is very small but very modern and updated. It is in the middle of union square just walking distance to bars, restaurants, all the shopping you could want and of course Ruby Skye and the Starlight room if you're into those popular attractions.
The decor is very modern and hip with lots of black and white everywhere, which I love. Beds are comfortable, space is small but it is more of a boutique style hotel. The people at the front desk are always willing to go above and beyond for their guests and always want to make sure everyone is satisfied. I also love the way the windows actually open in this hotel, so many hotels in the city don't allow you to fully open windows or to open them at all, some are sliding doors with a screen or a small knob that you can crank to crack it open, but I love the single pane that slides up to open and let you get the fresh air! have now stayed there multiple times and I still plan to go back again :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window facing the street so at least you get a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi Suzi F,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Hotel Diva was the perfect place for my friends and I! It's super close to all the restaurants and night life! Walking distance to basically everything and anything! The hotel is very "chic" and trendy and the staff is just wonderful! It definitely is a FIVE STAR stay! The beds are super comfortable that you don't want to wake up the next morning. I loved that we could keep our luggage in the storage area after we checked out! I would definitely recommend DIVA for couples and/or girls who are looking for a girls night out hotel! Thanks team DIVA!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hb8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi hb8787

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review and share it with other travelers. It is very important for us to know what made your experience so special and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning for your next trip to San Francisco.
We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best Regards
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#103 of 228 in San Francisco
1,684 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#82 of 228 in San Francisco
1,147 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,310 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,534 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Property: Hotel Diva
Address: 440 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing