We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco Theater Night”
Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #107 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great place to stay after ACT and close to shopping and restaurants. Collibri Mexican Restaurant is accessible from the lobby. Love the sake tasting in the lobby. The room was perfect, quiet, clean, spacious. The parking package completed the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 2,003 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

I think that, this used to be a cheap motel before it was refurbished (correct me if I am wrong)

The Gym is really non-functional...the treadmills do not work (they have been that way for weeks, I was told by another guest), the rest of the equipment in the gym require immediate replacement.

My room had a weird layout...the shower/toilet has no sink, I had to come out of the toilet (located next to the closet by the entrance), then walk through the bed-room to the far corner to get to the sink !!

As other guests have pointed out: customer service is top-notch, location is great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank assamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Assamese,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I'm so sorry to hear there were some issues during your stay with us. Please accept my apology. Our gym equipment have been recently serviced and should be in good condition at this time.

Hotel Diva offers various types of accommodations with different layouts and one that would meet your needs.

I hope you will give Hotel Diva another chance and that you will give us the opportunity to change your impression on us.

Best,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed for a week for a business conference in February and enjoyed the experience. The location to Union Square can't be beat. My room felt smallish, but the bathroom was quite spacious. The staff were very courteous and felt the room had pretty good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank proncis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Staff here is outstanding - friendly and accomodating. Location is great, especially if you like to shop. Lots of good restaurants nearby. The adjacent Starbucks is a blessing in the morning.

The hotel is not luxury by any means, and doesn't portray itself as such. Its a fun, funky boutique hotel. We stayed in a Queen Junior Suite with Queen Murphy bed - it was nice having 2 separate sleeping areas. Our Room was good sized and it was nice to have the sink separated form the shower/toilet. A bit of street noise as we were only on the 3 floor.

I would pick the hotel again, but not sure if I'd stay in the Union Square area again (too many other neat neighbor hoods to explore).

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper - don't get a room facing Geary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A great location & excellent staff made our long weekend very relaxing. Decent size rooms & comfy beds. Excellent access to streetcars, BART & decent dining in the neighborhood. Clean, quiet & comfortable. We would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank shawnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, General Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear shawnathan,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Diva, and that our staff was very helpful.

We hope to see you soon,

Best Regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Hello so we went to Diva hotel for the bday of my boyfriend I take this hotel because its really central just 2 blocks walking from union square and in the website looks so new and ' good price' well.. when we arrived here the staff its great with you but the room didn't look like in the photos.. literally the hotel is so old but they make small reformation to the hotel with new beds ( the bed is super comfortable ) and new furniture but the room its super small and the bathroom too i mean the price that you pay for this hotel its only for the location because the other things don't have the quality of a hotel this looks more like apartment , also the cleaning girl was in my room for almost 2 hours.. ans she didn't clean anything she only make the bed and nothing more.. 2 HOURS for make my bed and also cleaning the carped ? ' CLEANING' because she didn't clean anything also she tell me you if i can wait for 10 minutes more.. for go inside my room.. i can believe my room its more big than this one and i cleaned the room in less than 20 minutes.. !

just so expensive this hotel ... you are paying only the location !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreatoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The front desk staff was very welcoming and sometimes even too much overwhelming. They ask you personal questions to make you feel welcome but they don't need to cross the line. Room was nice, well appointed, not the biggest I have ever been but good for San Francisco standards. Bathroom amenities were ok, I would have expect a bit more being the hotel called "Diva". Location is great, walk 10 minutes to Powell St Bart station, 3 minutes to Union Square. I would go back only if rates would stay the same, if I have to spend more than I would go in a different hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
1,868 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
1,204 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#51 of 230 in San Francisco
1,858 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
746 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Address: 440 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £86 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing