We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in downtown SF”
Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #108 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great find in downtown SF”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Booked this last minute after we decided to stay the night in SF following a birthday dinner. Pleasantly surprised by this little-known hotel tucked away at the corner of Geary and Taylor. The room was very nice, with lots of character and trendy furnishings, and a very nice view of the street and surrounding area. Front desk staff were helpful in all aspects.

It is right opposite the Clift, and in our opinion a much better option (and cheaper to boot!).

Definitely a big thumbs up and ideal for a stay in downtown SF.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yatri1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    722
    339
    141
    117
See reviews for
243
724
152
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

it is a very cool place with a lot of funky little touches like the elevator. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating and able to give great directions. The room was actual a decent size considering this is in the heart of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Room that we had was super noisy from all the garbage being thown out from the restaurant next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We just got back, after spending 4 days at Hotel Diva. We absolutely loved it! From the minute you open the doors, you are greeted by friendly staff, and there is a bowl full of purple jelly bellies we could not get enough of! We were upgraded to the Salon floor, and enjoyed a clean, tastefully decorated room. Beds are like sleeping on clouds. Plenty of storage space (closet and drawers). The bathroom was spotless! There was a little noise off Geary St in the early am, but they were doing construction while we were there. This hotel is a lot for your money. And, only 2 blocks from Union Square, and right behind the Westin St Francis. Why pay a ton of money for the Westin? We will return again1

Room Tip: Salon Level is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeners143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I'm originally from the Bay Area. I booked Hotel Diva for a visit home from Alabama. The hotel was very nice and in a good, convenient location to my plans. Customer service was top of the line from the morning staff to the late evening staff. Front desk, concierge, and the valet parking staff were the best. I booked the prepay package and got a very good rate. The room was clean and attractive. I will stay here again when visiting the Bay Area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XXiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great place to stay after ACT and close to shopping and restaurants. Collibri Mexican Restaurant is accessible from the lobby. Love the sake tasting in the lobby. The room was perfect, quiet, clean, spacious. The parking package completed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I think that, this used to be a cheap motel before it was refurbished (correct me if I am wrong)

The Gym is really non-functional...the treadmills do not work (they have been that way for weeks, I was told by another guest), the rest of the equipment in the gym require immediate replacement.

My room had a weird layout...the shower/toilet has no sink, I had to come out of the toilet (located next to the closet by the entrance), then walk through the bed-room to the far corner to get to the sink !!

As other guests have pointed out: customer service is top-notch, location is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank assamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Assamese,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I'm so sorry to hear there were some issues during your stay with us. Please accept my apology. Our gym equipment have been recently serviced and should be in good condition at this time.

Hotel Diva offers various types of accommodations with different layouts and one that would meet your needs.

I hope you will give Hotel Diva another chance and that you will give us the opportunity to change your impression on us.

Best,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed for a week for a business conference in February and enjoyed the experience. The location to Union Square can't be beat. My room felt smallish, but the bathroom was quite spacious. The staff were very courteous and felt the room had pretty good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proncis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 229 in San Francisco
1,727 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#88 of 229 in San Francisco
1,656 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#55 of 229 in San Francisco
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Property: Hotel Diva
Address: 440 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing