We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a convenient location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diva
Ranked #114 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a convenient location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a great stay in San Francisco. The staff at Hotel Diva went above and beyond to make our stay fun! There was no shortage of suggestions on where to eat, shop, and go out. Our room was clean, spacious and modern. The location was great. We were less than two blocks from union square, within walking distance of cable cars, trains and trolleys. The attached Starbucks was a great amenity as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmarshall03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Greetings Hmarshall03,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Diva and for sharing your experience with us, as well as with other travelers. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and that our staff could be so helpful in making your time with us so much fun . We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco.

Warm Regards
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    663
    299
    131
    108
See reviews for
224
659
136
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Bathrooms are small, but the staff was excellent, location convenient, plus free chocolate and sake in the lobby. Clean, simple, everything was as expected. We stayed in a suite with a pull down bed, so we could comfortably sleep four people on real mattresses, & there was still room to lounge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy2498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Roxy2498,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review and share it with other travelers. It is very important for us to know what made your experience so special. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning for your next trip to San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was in San Francisco for business while a conference was going on. Naturally hotel prices spiked and Hotel Diva was a reasonable option at this time. It is a block or so from Union Square so the location is pretty good. I asked for a quiet room and got one. The gym is small but good enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentWeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Diva to my surprise was a good hotel to stay during my time here in San Fran and very convenient. The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. Staff is friendly and welcoming. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who vacation in the Downtown section of San Francisco.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chevron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This adorable hotel is right in the middle of downtown San Francisco. Nearby to so many attractions and restaurants, the location is great. The hotel itself is awesome, too! The facilities are clean, comfy, and attractive. The fitness center is great, there's a Starbucks "attached" to the hotel, and the staff is very friendly and helpful! GREAT place for bachelorette parties.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALubov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi ALubov,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Diva. We love hosting Bachelorette groups so thanks for recommending that. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

After much research (TripAdvisor, in particular), I'm really glad I chose the Hotel Diva for a week-long solo stay in early May, as part of a flight/hotel package. This hip, downtown hotel is a mere block and a half from Union Square, and only a few blocks from the main transit hub (cable cars, MUNI, etc., as well as the main tourist office downtown) and great shopping and restaurants. It's safe for women, though I don't recommend venturing a few blocks east or south of the hotel into the Tender Loin (skid row) district. Best to head west, where there are plenty of people all the time and a great deal of action (towards Union Square, in other words). The rooms are a bit small, though they are clean, and for the first time in a long time I didn't have to call the front desk or housekeeping (during any hotel stay) to complain about too few towels or cleanliness. Extra points for that! The front-desk staff are young, enthusiastic and helpful. The only things that were a bit of a problem were the noisy air conditioning and the street noise throughout the night; one night I heard a homeless man screaming his lungs out at around 3:00 in the morning. Not cool That said, I decided to use both apparent 'drawbacks' to my advantage (they cancelled each other out!): I did find that the lower I set the room temperature, the louder the A/C was. It drowned out about 80% of the street noise using 'white noise', which worked to my advantage. Would I stay there again? ABSOLUTELY. Loved the location and the proximity to the places I wanted to go, & the things I wanted to see. There are various art galleries on that stretch of the street, as well as two live theatre venues directly across from the hotel. Plus, there was a well-stocked Walgreens drug store on the next block (open til midnight), so I was THRILLED.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on a lower floor facing Geary Street, the main drag. Buses & traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetkeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Sweetkeet,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Diva during your recent trip to San Francisco. We are happy to hear it was a pleasant experience and that the location was ideal and the staff was helpful. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The decor is nice. But the room is a tad small, the lifts seems old and needs maintenance and the walls are thin. Valet parking is expensive but worth it as they have efficient staff driving the car to us when we needed it at 4am in the morning.
Location is about 15mins walkable to the shopping malls eg. Macy. And there is a delish ramen shop downstairs.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GlamSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezv, Manager at Hotel Diva, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear GlamSpring,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Diva. I hope you enjoyd your stay with us. Hotel Diva offers various types of accommodations ranging in size. May I suggest an Executive King or studio Suite on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Virgil Lopez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diva

Property: Hotel Diva
Address: 440 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The avant-garde Hotel Diva with its ultra-modern rooms is in the center of all that San Francisco has to offer. Surrounded by theaters, shopping, nightlife, casual and fine dining, and steps away from Cable Car line, Hotel Diva is an excellent choice for couples, families, and business travelers. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 24 hour business center, fitness room, and complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diva Hotel San Francisco
Diva San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing