We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, modern hotel w/ top-notch service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My friends and I stayed at Hotel Zetta during a long weekend getaway to SF and were beyond impressed with the hotel, its staff, amenities and service! The rooms are spacious and modern and restaurants d the location is central and perfect walking distance to shopping and ...The Cavalier restaurant was delish and the little speakeasy bar, Marianne's was a cool space to lounge with friends and have a few cocktails. I would definitely recommend Zetta to anyone visiting SF!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

I really liked the design of the room, especially the work desk and chair, which made it an easy place to work if you need to. The rooms and bathrooms are a comfortable size and well designed. The location is about as good as one could want: near all the things one would want to do in SOMA but also near Union Square and a BART Station.
Everyone comments on how helpful the staff is and it's true. They are warm, friendly, and knowledgeable. There was a little bit of a noise problem but it seemed to be more from others talking in the hall rather than anything that the hotel could do anything about.

Room Tip: My sense was that rooms with a view have street noise, so I opted for an interior one with no view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Got to stay there twice. The first experience was excellent, so we went back for more. Each time the service was superb. Very friendly staff, super helpful every stop of the way. The room each time was spacious, modern, stylish and in impeccable condition. Absolutely love clean, modern design and attention to detail all across the hotel. The design of the hotel is a piece of art on its own. Also it is very conveniently located close to shopping places, convention Center, Embarcadero. If you up for walking a bit longer than few minutes, you can easily walk to China town, North Beach.
Loved the restaurant connected to the hotel "the Cavalier". I think one of the best meals we had in the city and do not say that lightly since we love good food and tried many places.
One of my favorite things in the hotel is this large game room. It is so much fun - very social lounge atmosphere where you can engage in a round of one game or another. No need to wonder around at night to look for a new place to hang out - you have it all at your temporary home. It is truly awesome.
To summarize it all, it is a hotel absolutely worth experiencing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pantomima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This well located new (1 year old) hotel was a great find. Very comfortable and quiet rooms that are perfectly appointed - with little things like bathroom cabinet space and plenty of drawers and closet space and an oversized work space/desk - and a very comfortable bed. The room and bath were ample in size, especially by some San Francisco standards. I was extremely impressed with the staff from the bell captain/greeter to the front desk staff and beyond. Extremely personable and efficient. The lounge/bar area was a great place to gather with friends. It will definitely be the first place I check for availability when I return to San Francisco. The trip was a combination business/personal one and the hotel was a perfect meeting place for all. A great find! Erica M.

Room Tip: I did not have time to check out any amenities except the lounge. My room was at the far end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear EricaM,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, the rooms and our great team. Whether you are coming for business or pleasure, we have you covered at Hotel Zetta San Francisco. We definitively hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very much ENJOYED the Zetta. It's a got an upscale modern / hipster vibe, but it's not over the top. From the bell hops, to the staff at the front desk, everyone we met was very genuine and friendly.

We went here for my wife's birthday. The hotel was super nice and the person who helped us check in made sure we had everything we needed for the evening. The room was up on the 8th floor, room was set up nicely, very quiet (didn't hear any street noise or neighbors).

Some of the coolest parts of the hotel are the lounge areas down on the lobby and next level up. We hung out on the mezzanine level that has a few different lounge areas and a shuffle board table. You can look down on the bar area from here and check out the modern art work strewn throughout the lobby.

We only had one night at the Zetta, so we will return soon to enjoy the AWESOME fitness center and the other amenities that looked great, but we just didn't have time to enjoy this go round.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Marc D,
I hope your wife had a great birthday weekend, from the sound of your review you must have had a lot of fun. One night is definitively not enough to fully enjoy all that we have to offer and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon so that you can fully enjoy The Cavalier restaurant and a little more of the Playroom.
Thank you,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have watched the Hotel Zetta transform from the Hotel Milano and can't say enough about the hotel. The detail from the lobby to the remodeled guest rooms is just fantastic. It was super easy to use the high tech connection systems in my room, which completely enhanced our stay. The staff was super attentive, followed up by phone to us after we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed, and more. Our friends had a room as well and stated the same thing about their experience. The location is perfect with access to all kinds of great south of market locations. Well done Zetta! Chris Rossi

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisDiscoveryBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear ChrisDiscoveryBay,
Thank you for the great review, it is always good to hear that the team really made a difference. As you mentioned, our rooms and lobby are full of details that support and showcase our "re-use, recycle and re-purpose" mantra but what truly makes us unique is the commitment of our team.
Come back soon, we have more fun initiatives coming up.
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Zetta for the recent GDC conference and held several events at Hotel Zetta along with all of our meetings and it was a great experience and went very smoothly. Thank you to the great staff that made our team's experience awesome, esp. Caroline, Kate, Benny, Odiel (sp.), Patrick, and everyone else that made our stay great. I know I am missing some names, but the entire staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Best lobby water. The only aspect that could have been improved was the internet access. It kept logging users off and could have been much faster. Thanks again everybody!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty-IceHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Matty-IceHZ,
Thank you so much for the shout out to our very friendly and wonderful colleagues. I know that they will be thrilled to read their names in your great review.
We are working on the Wifi connectivity and have changed the settings so that users are not logged off so often. I appreciate the feedback and hopefully we will not have to wait until GDC next year to welcome you back at Hotel Zetta San Francisco.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
2,189 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
3,019 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
536 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#60 of 230 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zetta San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Address: 55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1801 (Formerly Hotel Milano)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £154 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zetta San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city of exquisitely edgy contrasts, Hotel Zetta offers a high level of sophistication and service without taking itself too seriously. The vibrant décor and sustainable architecture lend an innovative, creative vibe, while the high-tech conveniences, oversized guestrooms and plush pillow top beds keep things modernand always relaxed. Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously techy-savvy SoMa district and walking distance to Union Square, Hotel Zetta invites style-seeking travelers and local professionals to work, connect, play and get inspired.Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously hip SoMa Distict, Hotel Zetta offers 116 fashionable rooms and suites to style-seeking business travelers, culture-seeking out-of-towners and local professionals. Work-hard-play-hard business travelers can customize in-room work spaces with over-sized butcher block desks and a bevy of high-tech conveniences, from Internet-ready Samsung 46” smart TVs with access to apps like Facebook, Twitter and Netflix, to G-LINK™ docking stations that let you wirelessly stream videos from your mobile devices to your TV. Want to escape the bustle of the city without actually leaving the city? Our amenity-rich urban enclaves elevate downtime with down comforters and imported linens atop sumptuous pillow top beds, complimentary Neil George bath and body amenities, and Illy coffee espresso machines. Each room's unique quality is accented with a one-of-a-kind tapestry; a stunning collage of antique Oriental rugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zetta San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Milano San Francisco
Milano San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing