We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zetta: Connect-Unplug-Powerdown (in Bohemian Hippie Style)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Ranked #23 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Zetta: Connect-Unplug-Powerdown (in Bohemian Hippie Style)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed in Hotel Zetta for two nights on a recent business trip to San Francisco.

With me a group of senior "Madmen" - top level advertising professionals from leading Creative Agencies. All loved the relaxed, yet stylish decor and atmosphere in this boutique hotel.

Friendly staff, an always polite assistant who parked our car and was very helpful throughout our stay.

First night, we had dinner at "The Cavalier, Zetta's hotel restaurant - looking a bit like a grand, old fashioned British countryside pub. Service was okay, but not at their best in terms of being attentive and the food was good.

So, all in all an excellent experience, flawed only for a few members of our group who got rooms with no view, so to speak.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sabine G,
I am glad to hear that you and your team of "senior Madmen" had an exciting time at Hotel Zetta San Francisco. Hopefully you had time to unplug and power down in our Playroom, it is the ideal setting to relax in a group setting.
The entire team cannot wait to welcome you and your "Madmen" back at Hotel Zetta San Francisco!
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    239
    82
    20
    14
See reviews for
151
255
21
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Loved it! Ideal location, excellent service, playful art and design throughout, stylish and spacious rooms. I highly recommend Hotel Zetta for business and pleasure, and plan to stay there the next time I'm in San Francisco.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Laura S,
Thank you for the great review!
We highly recommend you to come back and stay at Hotel Zetta San Francisco next time you are in the city. The entire team is ready to continually exceed your expectations,
Safe travels and see you soon.
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our daughter for 4 nights and it was a lovely hotel with great decor. We loved the games room/ lounge and the bar area - so fun and lots of cosy holes for people to find privacy in. The fitness room was small but great. Staff we're very friendly too, would stay again. It's very central - great for shoppers!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Laura L,
I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the Playroom. The playroom was originally designed as an adult playground but we have now realized that it is suited for all members of the family. Kids especially love the giant "Plinko" wall.
Thank you for staying with us - we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Perfect location - right next to Westfield Shopping Centre, short walk to the main tram stop and Union Square. Very young, trendy, vibrant and fun feel everywhere with a great ambience with various art and games to play with throughout the hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly - a boutique style hotel but one which is definitely not "up itself"! Cavalier restaurant for breakfast and dinner fantastic but make sure you pre-book for dinner especially on Saturday night. Couldn't find Al Capone on the feature wall of all the Alcatraz residents! Little bit noisy - but that's San Francisco on a Saturday night and with the wooden floors in the rooms it sometimes feels like there's someone else in your room! Minor irritation that did not spoil our stay in anyway as the very comfortable beds helped us get over the jet lag - we would highly recommend and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iannorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear iannorman,

On your next visit, please make sure to ask one of our colleague to show you Al Capone on our convict wall (hint: it is # 85). We have a lot of great additions to our guestrooms and our Playroom and I am confident that you will love them.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The bed and pillows - five stars! Great for sleeping and sitting up reading. My "studio" room also had a corner sofa that was very comfortable.

The building is solid, and shaped like a letter E with maybe four prongs - lots of surface area although not much street exposure. My windows looked onto the next wing several feet away. It was quiet.

The housekeeping was very good. The housekeepers were often in evidence on my floor, and happily accommodated my comings and goings. Mostly the room was of easy-to-clean surfaces. The bathroom was well lit and the handheld shower nozzle was top-notch and had several settings.

The windows did not open, but the mechanical ventilation worked well and the thermostat was easy to use. The machinery was noisy but not annoying.

Three problems:

The desk ("can be used while seated or standing") was too low for standing, but too high for sitting because my feet could not reach the floor. The chair had a foot ring, but my shins were the wrong length. This was the most uncomfortable hotel-room desk I had ever run into.

Quite unlike the room's reassuringly cleanable surfaces, a fake-folksy fibrous rug circumscribed the bed. I found it worrisome. I leaped over it or put down a newspaper when stepping to the bed.

I got lost trying to exit via the stairs. The stairs were easy to get into, but even in good light and calm circumstances I missed the street exit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amturnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My friends and I stayed at Hotel Zetta during a long weekend getaway to SF and were beyond impressed with the hotel, its staff, amenities and service! The rooms are spacious and modern and restaurants d the location is central and perfect walking distance to shopping and ...The Cavalier restaurant was delish and the little speakeasy bar, Marianne's was a cool space to lounge with friends and have a few cocktails. I would definitely recommend Zetta to anyone visiting SF!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I really liked the design of the room, especially the work desk and chair, which made it an easy place to work if you need to. The rooms and bathrooms are a comfortable size and well designed. The location is about as good as one could want: near all the things one would want to do in SOMA but also near Union Square and a BART Station.
Everyone comments on how helpful the staff is and it's true. They are warm, friendly, and knowledgeable. There was a little bit of a noise problem but it seemed to be more from others talking in the hall rather than anything that the hotel could do anything about.

Room Tip: My sense was that rooms with a view have street noise, so I opted for an interior one with no view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,910 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zetta San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Property: Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Address: 55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1801 (Formerly Hotel Milano)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zetta San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city of exquisitely edgy contrasts, Hotel Zetta offers a high level of sophistication and service without taking itself too seriously. The vibrant décor and sustainable architecture lend an innovative, creative vibe, while the high-tech conveniences, oversized guestrooms and plush pillow top beds keep things modernand always relaxed. Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously techy-savvy SoMa district and walking distance to Union Square, Hotel Zetta invites style-seeking travelers and local professionals to work, connect, play and get inspired.Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously hip SoMa Distict, Hotel Zetta offers 116 fashionable rooms and suites to style-seeking business travelers, culture-seeking out-of-towners and local professionals. Work-hard-play-hard business travelers can customize in-room work spaces with over-sized butcher block desks and a bevy of high-tech conveniences, from Internet-ready Samsung 46” smart TVs with access to apps like Facebook, Twitter and Netflix, to G-LINK™ docking stations that let you wirelessly stream videos from your mobile devices to your TV. Want to escape the bustle of the city without actually leaving the city? Our amenity-rich urban enclaves elevate downtime with down comforters and imported linens atop sumptuous pillow top beds, complimentary Neil George bath and body amenities, and Illy coffee espresso machines. Each room's unique quality is accented with a one-of-a-kind tapestry; a stunning collage of antique Oriental rugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zetta San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Milano San Francisco
Milano San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing