We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for WWDC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Ranked #31 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here during Apple's WWDC which is held in Moscone West a couple of blocks from the hotel. Convenience clearly a factor in my choice, but the staff were great, the rooms large and the shower ... well, let's just say that you would be hard pressed to find a more powerful shower fitted to a water cannon ;-)

Oddly, the in-house restaurant doesn't serve a full english breakfast at, er, breakfast time - only at lunch time, which is simply daft. Partly as a result, we ended up spending most of our breakfast times in Cafe Venue next door which does the most amazing breakfast burritos, but I digress ...

Hotel Zetta is well situated for the conference centre, and we also found it a convenient location for sight seeing - by bus (the 71 goes to the botanic gardens for example), cable car (lombard street and then on foot to fisherman's wharf) or indeed by Taxi. It's situated in a FLAT area of San Francisco and once you've been up and down a few hills, you'll appreciate the reason for my capitals.

There's a great Italian restaurant across the road in Mint 54 and the food options at the top of the Westfield next door are surprisingly good for lunch too.

The hotel melted quietly into the background during our stay, no dramas, no problems, just a well run friendly upscale boutique that would definitely be on my shortlist the next time we return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank archipenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear archipenko,
I am delighted that you stayed with us during Apple's WWDC, this is indeed an exciting time in the city. Hotel Zetta is the perfect location, just a block away from the conference center and next door to the cable car turn around on Powell - hub for shopping and sightseeing in San Francisco. In addition to our acclaimed Cavalier restaurant situated in the hotel, there is a multitude of dining and entertainment venues within walking distance, I see that you were able to discover a few of them. The entire team at Hotel Zetta is looking forward to welcoming you back!
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Zetta San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We just returned from an excellent long weekend in San Francisco, staying at Hotel Zetta. Because this was a special weekend, and an expensive city, we splurged a little. Hotel Zetta is not particularly cheap, but at least you got what you paid for -- friendly and accommodating staff, an excellent bed, great central location (we walked or took public transit everywhere), and a top-notch restaurant. We felt exceedingly well cared-for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigPnk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Bigpnk01,
Thank you for the great review, caring and pampering our guests is what we strive for and I am thrilled that you enjoyed our location, caring team and vibrant restaurant. San Francisco is a great city with a lot to offer and Hotel Zetta is the prefect base for exploring our beautiful and dynamic city.
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Full disclosure, a friend of a friend who works for this hotel's management company gave me a great deal for a night's stay. However, despite the good deal, the hotel is fresh, hip, and cool and I would definitely try and stay here again while visiting the Bay Area. The location is great and you're within walking distance to some great hotels and coffee (Blue Bottle!). Also, the details in each hotel room are pretty awesome. Cool customizable shower, check. Jawbone for your iPod/iPhone, check. Sweet TV, check. Uber cool and modern simplistic furniture, check. Fun games area, check. Plus, the front desk was manned by extremely polite people who efficiently answered my friend and my gazillion questions. Plus, it's connected to The Cavalier (yum!). How could you go wrong by staying here?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amritaaanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Amritaaanna,
I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate you during your stay in SF and I am even more pleased that you truly enjoyed it and that you fell compelled to share it with the Trip Advisor community. We appreciate the feedback and will celebrate it with the team. Please come back soon as we are constantly adding some features to our guestrooms and Playroom.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Zetta over Memorial Day weekend. It was such a great hotel with fantastic staff, amenities and rooms. Our room had an Illy coffee machine for espresso and great tech for the savvy traveler. Bathrooms were very large and everything was clean and comfortable. The staff at the front desk was fun and very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balletrfs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Balletrfs 17,
Memorial day weekend is a great time to spend in San Francisco and we are the ideal spot to discover our wonderful city. I hope you had a chance to try our restaurant, The Cavalier as well as our Playroom on the second floor, they are both a lot of fun.
Hopefully we will have a chance to see see soon at Hotel Zetta.
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Trendy bar, quiet ,clean good -size room as well. Convenient to cable car and union square. Stayed two nights.friendly professional staff! Walk one block from Bart station.city bus stop also nearby. Can see san francisco chronicle building from room.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcouple97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear travelcouple97,
It is always good to read that our guests enjoy our hotel and the team. We are very proud of our hotel and I am thrilled that it showed during your stay. San Francisco is a fun city and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 1 night with some friends vacationing in SFO. It is conveniently located adjacent to the shopping district and walking distance to the financial district and Chinatown. It is also stumbling distance to the Tenderloin, so watch out.

We enjoyed the unique, modern, quirky design of this hotel. The rooms were clean and the contemporary décor was refreshing compared to the Hilton we just escaped. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, even for a side sleeper, I was out like a light.

The front desk, valet, bell desk were all friendly and helpful. When we needed some shipping tape to pack a box, they rounded it up quickly. The bar staff was slow but eventually delivered our drinks as ordered.

MISC: Watch out, the in-room coffee is not included in the price of the room. Got a good deal here through HOTWIRE. As a perk, bumped into a Winklevoss twin in the lobby...

Yes, I would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are clustered into pods. Half the rooms face out and get a view, the other half face the adja...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnhandledException
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear UnhandledException,
Thank you for your recommendation, we are definitively unique in our design but what truly make us stand apart is the friendliness of our colleagues. Oh, and also the quality of our beds is getting raving comments, I am glad that you noticed.
We are providing 2 Illy pods per day complimentary so that you can use the espresso machine in the room, I will review with my team so that we communicate it clearly to our guests.
Thank you again and safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Zetta is a cool hip hotel, centrally located in SF. We stayed in town for 4 days and really enjoyed our time at Zetta. They have a young and attentive staff who knew our name after the 2nd day. The hotel has some of the most interesting art and decorations you will find in any contemporary venue. Check out the lamp fixture over the elevators on the 1rst floor as well as all the lobby art. The rooms are industrial chic, good sized and have great bedding. Excellent internet. The lobby bar was fantastic, great service and an excellent selection of bourbons and tequilas. The Cavalier restaurant is connected to the hotel and serves an awesome BACON sandwich for breakfast. The Westfield mall is next store with fantastic shopping. We found the location a great place to get to where we were going . . . which was in all directions. The room rates were reasonable by SF standards. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bpibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,965 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
341 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 229 in San Francisco
3,680 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zetta San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Address: 55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1801 (Formerly Hotel Milano)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £178 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zetta San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city of exquisitely edgy contrasts, Hotel Zetta offers a high level of sophistication and service without taking itself too seriously. The vibrant décor and sustainable architecture lend an innovative, creative vibe, while the high-tech conveniences, oversized guestrooms and plush pillow top beds keep things modernand always relaxed. Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously techy-savvy SoMa district and walking distance to Union Square, Hotel Zetta invites style-seeking travelers and local professionals to work, connect, play and get inspired.Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously hip SoMa Distict, Hotel Zetta offers 116 fashionable rooms and suites to style-seeking business travelers, culture-seeking out-of-towners and local professionals. Work-hard-play-hard business travelers can customize in-room work spaces with over-sized butcher block desks and a bevy of high-tech conveniences, from Internet-ready Samsung 46” smart TVs with access to apps like Facebook, Twitter and Netflix, to G-LINK™ docking stations that let you wirelessly stream videos from your mobile devices to your TV. Want to escape the bustle of the city without actually leaving the city? Our amenity-rich urban enclaves elevate downtime with down comforters and imported linens atop sumptuous pillow top beds, complimentary Neil George bath and body amenities, and Illy coffee espresso machines. Each room's unique quality is accented with a one-of-a-kind tapestry; a stunning collage of antique Oriental rugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Zetta San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Milano San Francisco
Milano San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing