We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Option Near All the Activity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Ranked #22 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice Option Near All the Activity”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Zetta. It is a quiet and comfortable small hotel directly adjacent to the Westfield San Francisco Centre. It’s a nice 7 minute walk (0.3 miles) from Union Square and all the downtown activity. The street the hotel is on, 5th Street, is not a particularly fancy street so there isn’t much of a view to be had other than a building and liquor store across the street. There are 116 rooms and the property is still very new and clean since opening a little over a year ago (the result of the renovation of an older hotel). We had a room with two queen beds on the 5th floor, which was 415 square feet – a nice size compared to many other rooms in San Francisco (though the single bed rooms are smaller). The gym is located on the 4th floor and has pretty new, hi-tech equipment. You need your room key to access it. Free, new earbuds are provided to those who want to use them while working out. The valet service is convenient, though be aware that everything is taxed and what is advertised as a $50.00 a day parking fee is actually $57.00 per day due to a parking tax. The décor is modern-tech and quirky. This is definitely geared more toward a younger, hip crowd. The bathroom amenities are large bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel; nothing you can take home :( I have stayed at other 4-5 star hotels in the area that I liked better and were less expensive, but we had a good stay here and if the price were right, we would stay again. The Powell & Market Cable Car Turnaround is right around the corner, but be prepared for a long wait to get on here if you wish to ride. The line was very long every time we passed by. Also, the hotel does a pre-authorization to your credit card upon check-in, which I was not informed about so it caused some confusion once we got home and I saw a $200.00 charge pending from Hotel Zetta.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHunter26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear JHunter26,
Thank you so much or the detailed review, it will help other traveler when looking for hotel option in San Francisco. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities that we have to offer. Our bathroom amenity format is part of our 2nd nature initiative and we have been awarded in our first full year of operation 4 green key certification as well as the Greenleaders platinum level by Trip Advisor.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Zetta San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    239
    82
    20
    14
See reviews for
150
254
21
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Zetta aims to be a cool tech hotel in San Francisco, it's 5 minutes walk from the heart of the City so you could not get a better location if you are making a city visit.

The reception has a quirky wow factor with everything from a huge sweeping leather sofa running the entire width of the lobby, as well as some huge games to play, pool table and bar.

The room was OK, but felt dark, our view, although a premier room on the 7th floor, was of a wall. It felt more like an office with a bed in it than a bedroom with a desk in it. The Zetta makes the claim of being a tech savvy hotel... it has wifi, so nothing amazing there. It also claims that the TV is easily connected to all your other devices... it isn't. We were using the latest iOS phone and tablet, neither of which wanted to play ball with the TV.

The bathroom had a smell of bad water too.

The Zetta is not bad, but perhaps they should pay more attention to the basics before they start trying to be a tech hub.

Room Tip: Get one that does not face a wall.
See more room tips
Green Features: No different from the rest, first we realised they were trying to be different on this score was this review question.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear russhughes,
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Zetta San Francisco and for sharing your experience on this forum. I was disappointed not making a better impression as our goal is to provide a unique and fun hotel experience in San Francisco. Regarding the connectivity of the TV in the room, we do have adapters at the front desk so that we can cover the variety of devices that are in use today. Thank you again for staying with us, the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are in our beautiful city.
Sincerely,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel Zetta was a very comfortable hotel in a great location. It had an eclectic vibe with modern decor. The rooms were clean and large. There is a restaurant on site, and because of it's prime location, there are several restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apt456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Apt456,
Indeed we are very unique! With our recycle, re-purpose art throughout the hotel, our Playroom on the second floor and one of the best new restaurant next door - the Cavalier just made the the SF Chronicle top 100 restaurant in the Bay area list - and one of the friendliest and caring team in place, we are the perfect base to discover San Francisco. I also forgot to mention that world class shopping, sightseeing, dining and entertainment options are at our footstep.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. It's just away from the hustle and bustle but only a very short walk away from everything. It has a nice vibe but not much in the way of amenities. The room was a good size and kept well maintained by housekeeping particularly as we were there for a week

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear SophieT,
Thank you for the review, I am glad that you enjoyed our location and the quality, size and cleanliness of our rooms. As far of amenities, i hope that you had a chance to experience our Playroom on the second floor, it is outfitted with a pool table, a giant Plinko wall, shuffle boards and a multitude of board games.We also have a fitness center, available 24/7 and our restaurant "The Cavalier" is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, it has just made the list as one of the top 100 bay area restaurant.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Zetta San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Zetta for the first time during our last brief vacation trip in San Francisco with our family. Hotel staff were amazing and high level of intuitive personalize services. My wife absolutely love the modern concept of the hotel décor. Definitely we highly recommend this hotel to travelers visiting San Francisco!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khanh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Khanh T,
Thank you for the great recommendation on Trip Advisor, I know other travelers will appreciate reading your comments. I hope you had a chance to enjoy our playroom during your brief weekend vacation, it is a hit with adults and kids alike. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived late on a weeknight and were immediately given a warm welcome at the front desk. Over the next five days, the team answered our questions, gave great dining suggestions, and helped us with driving directions, especially when we called nervously from the 101 ( thanks for getting us back to the hotel, Kate!). The valet always seemed to anticipate our every need, Tyler told us where to go for a most memorable breakfast (Dottie's), Benny was ever-patient explaining routes, and Caro's enthusiasm is contagious! The effortless style of Hotel Zetta is one thing, but it is the unpretentious friendliness of the staff that makes it a winner.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Romeo699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Romeo699,
It is always a pleasure to read reviews like yours. We may have one of the newest and coolest hotel in the city but what really make us stand apart is the passion and dedication of our colleagues, they will be honored to see their name mentioned in your review.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I found this hotel to be very cool and well suite to young folks and couples, but not so much for families with tiny tots; aged <3. The playroom is meant for bigger kids.
The hotel room was nice; excellent facilities and quirky design. I love the Neil George toiletries; and the bookcase wallpaper in the bathroom, very unique.
The second floor entertainment area is also nice especially when it's not crowded.
However, the service left a lot to be desired. I asked for my food to be re-heated and I was amazed to find out that I was told to come down to the restaurant myself to reheat the food.
In Westin hotel, we were told that a microwave was sent to the room when the same request was made.
I asked for extra coffee refills and creamers but only was provided with 2. Secondly; when I asked for a plastic bag to fill, I was given a very flimsy toilet binliner instead. Luckliy when I showed this downstairs, the front desk kindly gave me a very nice Hotel Zetta paper bag.
The concierge and porters were very very attentive and very very quick and efficient; booked our cab to SFO with no issues at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saiful K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Saiful K,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed our guestrooms, bathroom amenities as well as our playroom, I am however disappointed that we failed to respond adequately to one of your request. As you can see from previous reviews, we take great pride in providing excellent and personal service, we are reviewing your comments and will ensure to prevent them for future guests. Thank you for the nice comments regarding our Front desk and bellman, they indeed appreciate the recognition.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Zetta San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
2,825 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#26 of 227 in San Francisco
244 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,905 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 227 in San Francisco
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zetta San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Property: Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Address: 55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1801 (Formerly Hotel Milano)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zetta San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city of exquisitely edgy contrasts, Hotel Zetta offers a high level of sophistication and service without taking itself too seriously. The vibrant décor and sustainable architecture lend an innovative, creative vibe, while the high-tech conveniences, oversized guestrooms and plush pillow top beds keep things modernand always relaxed. Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously techy-savvy SoMa district and walking distance to Union Square, Hotel Zetta invites style-seeking travelers and local professionals to work, connect, play and get inspired.Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously hip SoMa Distict, Hotel Zetta offers 116 fashionable rooms and suites to style-seeking business travelers, culture-seeking out-of-towners and local professionals. Work-hard-play-hard business travelers can customize in-room work spaces with over-sized butcher block desks and a bevy of high-tech conveniences, from Internet-ready Samsung 46” smart TVs with access to apps like Facebook, Twitter and Netflix, to G-LINK™ docking stations that let you wirelessly stream videos from your mobile devices to your TV. Want to escape the bustle of the city without actually leaving the city? Our amenity-rich urban enclaves elevate downtime with down comforters and imported linens atop sumptuous pillow top beds, complimentary Neil George bath and body amenities, and Illy coffee espresso machines. Each room's unique quality is accented with a one-of-a-kind tapestry; a stunning collage of antique Oriental rugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zetta San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Milano San Francisco
Milano San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing